We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying too hard”
Review of Whytes

Whytes
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Stamullen
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
galway ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Trying too hard”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The dilemma is I am reluctant to knock this place. They have made a significant investment in a rural area, and right now everyone who is prepared to spend deserves to be supported. The decor and furnishings are top class, befitting a centre city pub in Dublin. Clearly from the notice board in the entrance lobby, the pub is a focal point and a hub in this community.
But why the extensive and too ambitious menu. To provide the choice on offer, fresh food cannot back up this menu. And so our meal disappointed on that level only.
Cooked from frozen tempura prawns, wings for starters, and roast sirloin of beef for mains. The beef was cold cut reheated and immersed in red wine gravy. I saw the steaks going out and could only look on with envy.
Choose wisely, go for fresh cooked dishes ie steak, cutlets(if on menu) and its fine.
My advice to Whytes would be to have a full review of whats on offer, less in more, and cook all menu from fresh. The surroundings, decor etc deserves better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patrick043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Irish hospitality at its best”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A group of 9 family members booked in for late Sunday lunch. Instead of the last remnants of a dried up roast lunch we had a choice of the full menu. Everyone was delighted with their choices - all were beautifully cooked and presented and the service was typical of most Irish establishments. - very friendly yet professional.
On our frequent visits to Ireland this is the one restaurant we make a habit of returning to..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roytomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic - a hidden gem”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had Sunday lunch here yesterday for the second time yesterday and I have to say it is FANTASTIC. The menu is great, something for everyone and the staff are absolutely super. They are so polite and genuinely friendly without being OTT – it is a pleasure to eat there. The prices are very good too. 2 of us had lasagne, bit its not like regular lasagne, it was a large portion and very very light. The salad that comes with it is super too (it’s the detail that counts) The children’s portions of the roast meals are very big, more like teenager portions. My son who is 5 got 3 slices of roast beef – he could only manage one and we took the 2 others home (it was top quality beef and it would have been sinful to bin it)
Although I am not usually a desert person they are to die for here. They have a wide range and have some on display to show you just to make the decision even harder!
We rolled out of there after 3 adult main course, 1childs portion, 4 deserts, drinks and tea & coffee for €80. Super top class quality. It’s a hidden gem ! Well done Whytes

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tilly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food was grand, nothing to write home about, there service was good.
The place itself could do with some sprucing up, it wouldn't be the nicest place I've been to.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JonBStout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Meh.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice enough place, but more Americanized than I'd wish for. Alongside the Guiness and Smithwicks were the taps for Coors light and Bud Lite. Seventies/eighties American music overhead. Food was good- not spectacular. Had skate wing there for the first (and probably last) time.

More for young Irish wanting a bit of America than Americans wanting a but of Ireland.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whytes also viewed

Julianstown, County Meath
Stamullen, County Meath
 
Gormanston, County Meath
Balbriggan, County Dublin
 

Been to Whytes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing