We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise on earth”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Samadara Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Pool
Front View
Pool  & the garden
Pool and the garden
Bedroom
Twin Room
Drawing Room
Veranda
Dining area
Indoor Courtyard
View from the Yoga Room over the Paddy Fields
Bathroom
Master Bathroom
Master Bathroom
Master Bedroom
Indoor Courtyard
Master bathroom
Master Bathroom
Outdoor Relaxation Area
Master Bedroom
Indoor Courtyard
Yoga Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Midigama, Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
harragin4...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the most magical place we have ever visited. If you are after a private and peaceful retreat in the middle of the most beautiful and abundant nature then this is the place. Whilst away from the hustle and bustle it is still within easy reach of everything (beaches/restaurants/ Galle/ Marissa) and massages/ yoga/ cooking classes can easily be arranged on site via the attentive staff. One you are sipping a sun-downer looking at a magical sunset over the unspoilt paddy fields below with the monks chanting in the distance you will thank your lucky stars that you booked Samadara.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Refined luxury”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had 9 days at Samadara with a group of friends that will stay in the memory for a long time, and for all the right reasons. The estate is as beautiful as it is elegant, located perfectly a short tuk tuk drive from the beach into the countryside. The villa and pool overlook palmtrees and a green valley. In the morning buddhist chants drift on the breeze from a local temple and peahens shuffle across the garden. In the evening, fruits bats fly over your head at dusk as you float in the pool sipping from a king coconut harvested by the staff in the grounds that day. The place is pure bliss.

And the icing on the cake is Madura who manages the villa. I have never met a more friendly, relaxed, and can-do person. He and his family provided the breakfasts and evening meals which were excellent, and he can arrange anything from a driver with an air-conditioned car for longer days out, to visiting masseurs or chefs for a special banquet Sri Lankan style.

Sri Lanka has so many sights and sounds to experience and Samadara Estate was the perfect home from home to base ourselves.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The standard of the accommodation is 5*
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Thank you for all your comments on Samadara Estates and the staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaPCG
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Hidden gem ”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is what you need to know.

Samadara is a beautiful property very well kept and I expect it to become a very sought after place. It is still new as a rental property and I think there are small improvements still to be made, but we had absolutely no complaints.

We stayed here for a week, three adults and two young children, age 2.5 and 1. The property has many little steps and split levels as well as living space that opens beautifully to the outside, so if travelling with small kids you do need to be alert at all times.

There is a gorgeous 25 metre pool with a shallow ledge on one side which my toddler enjoyed playing on. There is no fence around the pool though, so again. If travelling with kids you need to be vigilant.
There is a wonderful water feature outside the tv room (which has cable) with little fish, which turned out to be a great attraction for the kids.

Three bedrooms (all ensuite) are clustered together, opening directly on to a small 10 metre path leading to the main house. The other bedroom is on the opposite side of the main house above the tv room.

The house manager, Madura, is very helpful and there is an amazing chef in the kitchen ready to prepare any meals for you. We feasted on Sri Lankan curry and rice which was to die for, and he also prepared less exotic food for the kids. You can go to the shop and get the groceries and he will cook, or just give them money to shop for you.

Madura was able to arrange a local babysitter for us, and the management company arranged for a yoga instructor to come to the villa. The villa has yoga mats to borrow.

Midigama beach - only for advanced surfers - is 10 minutes tuktuk away, Weligama is maybe 20 minutes, and Galle was around an hour.

The villa is inland, in the middle of the jungle really, so you might see plenty of wildlife. We saw squirrels, birds, lizards, including a giant monitor lizard, a snake and frogs. They also have a few cows wandering around and two guard dogs.

Things that could improve: pre travel information could be better. A standard information pack with details of distances to beaches, shops, trains etc would be great. The house had no back up generator when we were there and there was a power cut the day we left. Hopefully this will be changed before long.

Overall an amazing place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduardhem...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent and Enjoyable Stay at Samadara”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Samadara. Its a new villa so it hasn't really been discovered yet but you wont be disappointed if you try it out. The design and setting of the house, set on gentle hill top overlooking acres of paddy land. Its just fifteen minutes fro the best surf at Midigamma and 25 minutes at most to best beginners surf at Welligama. Its really cool. Lovely big rooms, very tastefully decorated. Madura and his wife are complete stars. Thanks you.….I will come again. Definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenic beauty around.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annechr20...
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sometimes dreams come true”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Samadara – the name of the house took me straight back to childhood afternoons, reading a book and lost in glorious, far-away places. No way was I going to forgo the lush jungles, wild animals and tea plantations, where the children had exotic adventures and drank lemonade made with freshly picked lemons, for an ordinary game of hopscotch outside.
And, miraculously, I was not disappointed. When the car came up the driveway twisting and turning between cinnamon fields and coconut palms, I knew that Samadara had it all, the beauty and thrill of extravagant nature with its huge jackfruit trees and sweet-smelling frangipanis, flowering climbers and flamboyant birds.
The house itself is spacious, elegant and cool and reveals the cleverness of the two women who created it, the famous architect and the mistress of the house.
There are spring hoppers in the mornings, lazy minty drinks by the huge pool before supper, cool rooms and beds equipped with mattresses that you would never willingly get out of – only the mornings are too beautiful to miss! Also, how could you not venture outside the grounds to explore the villages, the ancient sculptures carved in the rocks, the Buddhist temples and the nearby beaches, try the prewar train that takes you all along the coast to end in Galle Fort, and where you invariably strike up conversations with the other passengers, for the Sri Lankans are open and kind.
I shall be back, hopefully!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina...
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2016
Dear Carolina,
Thank you for your comments on Samadara Estate.
We would like to welcome you again in our villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing