We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great vibes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midigama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfing Life Guest House
Ranked #6 of 32 Midigama B&B and Inns
Laos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great vibes”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed down the road from Surfing Life and after meeting some awesome people staying there I pretty much spent all day (aside from when surfing) at Eric's. There's a great vibe, super chilled and Eric's food and service is top notch. I miss that place!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnRogerLaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I m just back from Sri lanka. My best place to stay was Eric's surfing life place. Some friends recommanded me before my trip to come in midigama to Eric! It was amazing. The rooms are lovely and clean.The ambiance was quiet with good vibes, all the people were nice and helpfull, and the food!!! Rice and curry incredible! The bolognese pastas were the best that i tried in SL. Eric is a very good cooker! And it s very nice to speek about everything with him after a super dinner. So! Go to "surfing life" and u will be happy!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boubouparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

What a little gem!

Great host, unbelievably helpful and easy going topped by amazing cooking talent! Perfect location, clean comfortable rooms, cute little garden that lighten up with colorful lights when the night comes with chilled tuned in the back ground.

This place was well and truly beyond our expectations!

A big THANK YOU to all the Surfing Life Guesthouse staff for having made our stay a very memorable experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyFontannaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great people , best food in the village , good Italian coffee , and a fun wave just down the street . All and all - it's the place to be. I booked it for two nights and stayed 7 weeks but hey that's just me you might hate it ..

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blahhhhhhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have nothing but perfect memories of Surfing life guesthouse. Great location in a friendly small village. Eric is a great guy who is a wonderful host and chef. The water is a 2 minute walk where you can get great waves, wildlife and every night beautiful sunsets. It's a tranquil place and I've kept in touch with all the other guests who I enjoyed having dinner and drinks with in the evenings. I fully relaxed here and it was very reasonably priced. Great place and I'll definitely go back :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed at Eric's twice on my trip to Sri Lanka, stayed before Xmas 2013, went looking else where in Sri Lanka then came back to Eric's (Surfing Life). It can't be beaten for comfort, suroundings, food, price and waves. Eric put on a BBQ on Xmas eve with amazing food and music and fireworks on the beach, he then topped that, on New Years eve with more food, traditional Sri Lankan dancers and more fireworks. Service is amazing, it feels like you have a 24hr waiter for your whole stay!. Rooms are big and comfortable with their own modern bathrooms, the grounds are well kept, with a grassy chill-out area which is completely fenced in, so you could let your kids loose in this area as if it was your own garden. So ye...good food, good service, good price, good waves less than 100m away and Eric and his team are the best! It's as if you were just staying at a friends place!
Don't look anywhere else in this area, everyone wants to stay here, so if there's a room free when you arrive book it up!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hey

I visited Sri Lanka namely to surf in December 2013 - January 2014. On landing I only knew that I wanted to be around the Unawatuna area because I heard this is where the surf was .... The surf was actually further south than Unawatuna .... so I headed for Ram's Guesthouse in Midigama (which was advised by many in Galle and Unawatuna.) Whilst here we met some Aussies and Eric the owner whilst out surfing in Plantations .... and we were invited to 'Eric's Surfing Life Guest House' for their Christmas celebrations. On seeing Eric's guesthouse (having stayed in 5 others before this) I immediately requested his first available room - and booked it for my remaining stay in Sri Lanka !

Location - 10 minute tuktuk to Welligama. 30 minutes to Galle. 20 minutes to Mirissa. It is in Gurubebila which is a quiet area just after Midigama.

Amenities - The guesthouse itself has all the drink and food you could ask for. However, there are small stores and Rotti shops very near and within 5 minutes walk.

Beach and Surf - 100 yds at the end of the dirt road you have an incredible beach. The surf is always breaking and you have a selection of point breaks to choose from. No aggression from the locals. The beach itself is not ideal for swimming as there is a patchy reef starting very shallow. However, there is a natural lagoon which is frequented by the locals and the quality of the sand is amazing.

Rooms - the 3 big rooms (2 doubles / 1 twin) have there own private porches and 'easy' chairs. The rooms are not Air Conditioned but the high quality fans are more than you will need. The en suites are basic but clean. There is no hot water (sometimes in the evening there is warm water due to the water tank being heated all day on the roof) but you certainly don't miss the hot water ! The rooms are secure and lockable - however, on saying that - I didn't lock my door for the entire time I was there. The 2 smaller back rooms are slightly older and hence feel a bit more rustic but they both still come with an en suite, an australian bogan and are very clean.

Kitchen / Restaurant - The menu is incredible and consistently good (you can pay slightly more per night and get a breakfast included - I would recommend this) travellers from all the neighbouring towns travel to Eric's to eat both in the day and in the evening as it is known as the best place to eat and to socialise.

Other facilities - there are surfboards there to hire, a TV area, the restaurant area doubles as a hangout place, there is an incredibly cool little outdoor shower which utilises the natural hedge as the shower curtain. Eric also has scooters to rent for a couple of bucks a day. There is also fast and reliable Wifi which covers all the rooms.

The Staff - it is hard for me now to perceive Eric as this guesthouse owner and businessman - to me he will always be a friend. Even when we were not staying there .... he opened his arms to us on Christmas eve - offered us free food and drink and treated us as paying guests. Eric and Prasanka's English is of a very high standard, they can answer any questions or queries you may have and can sort out any travel plans or trips you may wish to make. From calling you a tuktuk to the next town to arranging a guide + car to see the entire island.

Final Word - Eric's place really is a micro-community and at its very centre is Eric ! The entire time I was there - there was not one single night that Eric wasn't fully booked .... I think this speaks volumes about the business that Eric, Prasanka and Marcie (the dog) are running out there in the paradisiacal island of Sri Lanka !

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms - 3 double rooms separate from the main building and 2 smaller rooms within t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Efjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midigama
0.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 6 in Ahangama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cheeky Monkey Guesthouse / Surf Camp / Surf Shop / Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Cocoplant Surf Inn & Surf School
0.0 mi away
Midigama Holiday Inn
Midigama Holiday Inn
#5 of 32 in Midigama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfing Life Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfing Life Guest House

Property: Surfing Life Guest House
Address: 32 Kadabaddagama | Gurubabila, Midigama, Matara 11200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Midigama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Midigama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfing Life Guest House in Midigama evolved into a favored surfer's destination. The amiable owner Eric refurbished his home into a lovely Guest House with an enchanting garden surrounded by 3 double rooms and 2 budget double rooms. The accommodation is close to several famous and secret surfing points. The closest known points are at the "Coconut" (A-frame) and the nearby "Plantation". As seen in the Guardian newspaper article "Top 10 budget beach hotels and guest houses in Sri Lanka". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing