We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great surfing vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ebb & Flow Jungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midigama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ebb & Flow Jungalows
Ranked #3 of 30 Midigama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Great surfing vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very nice villa, we enjoyed from a great and warm service.
the stuff took care of everything we needed. perfect location- situated on the best surfing spot.
balcony with great breeze ,beautiful view and equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChriquiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verity M, Owner at Ebb & Flow Jungalows, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share some great photos. Was great to see the Jungalows being enjoyed to the full by your family. We have since made some small improvements - especially for surfers, a surf rack and stepping stones for a quick and comfy access from the water. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards,
Verity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

A contemporary and very consciously designed eco friendly resort that ticks all the boxes for the traveling surfer. The owners have paid attention to details which is a very nice surprise when travelling in Sri Lanka. From a solid wifi connection, Iphone 5 chargers, a microwave, and coffee machine, this is the most comfortable i have ever been in any accommodation on the island.

I also found it to be the best (most practical) location from a surfing perspective. It sits directly in front of 'Rams' - the islands best wave, with an unreal view of the line up. Rams is also roughly the half-way point between most of the other good spots. So reaching all other spots is quick and easy.

Each jungalow is built as its own standalone accommodation with private pool, maid and chef. There at two bedrooms in each jungalow and the bedrooms comes with the option of a king size or two single beds. I Strongly recommend Ebb and Flow for anyone wanting to do a lot of surfing and then come back to total comfort and luxury with style.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verity M, Owner at Ebb & Flow Jungalows, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi Scott,
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review and letting people know what we are about.

Great that all of our special touches have been appreciated, we are always scratching our head to see how we can make things better, especially for surfers :-) We now have a surf rack, stepping stones (for quick, comfy-on-the-feet access to the Jungalows) and also looking at adding a shower on the entrance for a quick board clean!

Looking forward to having you stay with us again. Remember it is just a quick jump on the plane from Dubai!

Warm regards,
Verity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great place to stay, loved the view, pool, rooms, outdoor shower and lazy kitchen/lounge room. Looks great out the front for good surfers and for those that are learning the near by beach was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verity M, Owner at Ebb & Flow Jungalows, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi Andy,

Thanks for taking the time to write the review :-) We have made some additional improvements since you stayed too! More Plants in the garden, some stepping stones to the Jungalow (in the parking area) and also a swing door for more privacy in your Jungalow. Do let us know if you want to come back and stay with us, we would love to welcome you back - great conditions for beginner surfers over the next few months (May - August)
Warm regards,
Verity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Ebb & Flow jungalows are beautiful!
All amenities (rooms, bathrooms, pool, kitchen) are designed beautifully and really did make it feel like a sanctuary.
The outdoor bathroom is picturesque and the view from the upstairs kitchen looks like a scene from the "The Endless Summer".
The only thing to mention is, it is on a main road & next to a train line, which makes it super convenient, however it can be a little noisy. BUT you don't notice this at night one bit and you will be on the beach during the day anyway.
I highly recommend surfers to give this one a go.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verity M, Owner at Ebb & Flow Jungalows, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for complimenting us on the design! We put a lot of thought into how best to us the space, is great to know that it is appreciated.
Since you staying we have also done a bit of a trim and made a bit of a window through the umbrella tree so you can see even more of the surf break from "Flow" and her terrace. Also happy that you liked the outdoor bathroom, it has grown so much already since you were in Sri Lanka! Hope to see you back here in the near future, remember "off season" is a great time to come and learn to surf ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great place at a great spot. Love the open air style of the villa. Love that's it's not a hotel but instead a private space with even more lucury than a hotel gives you. The staff was really nice and good chefs. All the details on the villas are well designed. Garrath is a great surfer and surfing with him at Ram's right in front of hotel was great. Both Garrath and Verity are awesome hosts and always help out with that little extra that makes for a good stay. The only draw is that the road out front is busy and that there's not direct beach access. But the private garden and villa is a great space to hang out! Ecpecially with some friends at the evening. Probably the only upscale place in Midigama right now, so book early if you want a spot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verity M, Owner at Ebb & Flow Jungalows, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks Petter for your review! Was great to have you and Linn come to stay and also to hear that all our little details were noticed and appreciated! Although Rams surf break directly out front makes it all very easy when it comes to making sure surfers have a good stay with us ;-)
And yes one of the best decisions we made in the design was to add an extra foot on the boundary wall (a big thank you to our landscape designer there!) as it really does protect Ebb & Flow from a lot of the outside noise! Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sri Lanka soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We've just spent 5 glorious nights in Ebb on our way down touring the south coast of Sri Lanka - and what a highlight!! Thank you :-) Although newly built you can see that real thought and care has been taken - really is a labour of love. Bright airy rooms with en suite, comfortable beds and doors that open right onto your own plunge pool. Garden is beautifully planted - but could do with a little more growth! Feel safe and secure, good for kids to run around. Fully equipped kitchen with a mesmerising wide screen of surf TV. Many an hour spent trying to spot my husband or watching others from the dining table and lounge bed and stunning sunsets too. Just across the road from Ram's surf point ... hours of fun. Good breakfasts and really well looked after by the staff and owners who live close by. MIdigama is along the coast from galle and unawatuna ... it is not as hectic or crowded but with stunning coastline. Weligama good for kids to learn surfing. Would recommend ... plan to come again with friends too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstandSurname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VertsDubai, Owner at Ebb & Flow Jungalows, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hi Sarah,

Thank you for noticing how much love has gone into Ebb & Flow. Garrath and I were very hands on and put A LOT of thought and hard work on creating something we would really like ourselves. You are right about the garden - it does need a little bit more time, however even in the last week we have seen a burst of growth with many of the plants re-establishing themselves! We have some amazing purple passionfruit flowers now growing on the trellis gate in the welcome area. Looking forward to having you back to stay soon

Warm regards,
Verity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torekov, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Oh how I have been waiting for a place like this in Midigama. In love with the waves around here and so happy that Ebb & Flow opened it's doors. Stayed three nights at the end of our holiday and loved every second about it. A bit over our budget, but you get what you pay for and in this case even more. Turned out to not be so pricy since the lovely staff go an grocery shop for you and then cook anything you want. Way cheaper and tastier than eating at a restaurant. We're surfers and my boyfriend surfed Ram's and me and my sis Lazy Left. My boyfriend really enjoyed having every meal and watching the surf at the same time. Every time someone got a tube he was cheering loud!

Been staying at many different places around the world and can say that Ebb & Flow really got that extra you're always looking for. A place to pack up your stuff, reading lamps, a mixer so you can make delicious smoothies, your own pool etc ;)

Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Stayed in Ebb and the two rooms seemed very equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinnLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VertsDubai, Owner at Ebb & Flow Jungalows, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hi Linn!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us :-)
Was always our idea to offer something different, not to compete with what is already available - and do think we succeeded in that too! We (Garrath and I) LOVE exploring and adventuring when we go on holiday but when we come back from the day we also wanted a nice hot shower, and yummy sheets and place to chill in relative luxury... we had that in mind when we created Ebb & Flow! (what we would like to come "home" to). Good to know that the way we are structuring the meals/food works - we had at first thought a menu but much better to have the flexibility.

Looking forward to having you back!

Warm regards,
Verity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midigama
1.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 5 in Ahangama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#2 of 5 in Ahangama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheeky Monkey Guesthouse / Surf Camp / Surf Shop / Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Cocoplant Surf Inn & Surf School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebb & Flow Jungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebb & Flow Jungalows

Property: Ebb & Flow Jungalows
Address: on the main Galle / Matara highway after Midigama village on the left | Matara Road (Between the 139 and 140km Markers), Midigama, Matara 80562, Sri Lanka (Formerly The Green Tuk Tuk)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Midigama
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Midigama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each "Jungalow" (of which there are 2, Ebb & Flow) has 2 bedrooms with either a king size bed or 2 twin beds - the rooms are downstairs, air conditioned and open up to a 8 x 20 foot swimming pool. You also have your own large open upstairs terrace and kitchen that looks directly over a beautiful sea and barreling wave. Surrounded by lush tropical planting and plenty of areas to relax and play! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing