We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't use the word Paradise often, but...”
Review of Kusuma's Lazy Left

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midigama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kusuma's Lazy Left
Reviewed November 2, 2013

...this place could be considered a paradise. One of the few places in the region I have seen with a property actually on the sand, right in front of the crystal blue sea. You don't need to surf to enjoy this place, just watching the water, every now and then a sea turtle pops their head up, and there is lots of other marine life near the small reef out the front. The beach and water are clean here, as are the rooms, and the food is fantastic. Apparently they used to run a restaurant before they built the guest houses and every meal (even the western stuff - great hamburger) has been delicious. We share the fruit salad it's so big. My wife is volunteering at the Animal SOS here which gives me the day to read, write, swim, run, snorkel and eat. I am loving life right now.

Room Tip: They are all beach facing and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holc-amania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

In a year long sabbatical to climb and surf around Asia, Sugi's guesthouse may have been my favorite accomodation yet. A spacious, clean room, RIGHT in front of the water, attended by the friendliest family ever, what is not to love?! I'll gladly go back to Sugi's any day, in fact can't wait.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach. Cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tantrikclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Thank You for Your hospitality and Your friendly and super good service!

I spend two weeks in Sugi's Lazy Left Surfer Accommodation.

I higly recommed Sugi's place to everybody who appreciate safe, quiet place near by excellent surf spots. In 15 minutes walking, you can find 4 different kind of surf spots, and by tuk tuk 5min to Weligama and 5 min to Ahangama (Kaballana Rock).

Rooms are simple rooms with fan, they're clean and with own toilet and shower.

Sugi and he's wife are allso really good chef's. Local Sri Lankan food is amazing, and if You're keen to have some western style food, Pasta's and Burgers work's allso well.

If any questions, send Sugi email and he usually answer in few hours.

Thank You Sugi and you're family for taking good care of me!

All the best for Babu the surfing dog too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santtu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A friend gave me the email of Sugi (sugi.rest@yahoo.com) saying nothing else than go there. He was there 1.5 years ago and we all know how all can change in a so long time in places like Sri Lanka. We planned to stay here 2 days but at the end we stayed 12 and used Midigama as base point to visit the south from Galle to Matara (there is a bus station at 150 meters, Sugi can also arrange a tuc tuc or a car but the distances are really short Weligama 5min – Galle 20min – Unavatuna 15min – Mirissa 25min – Matara 40min). Sugi runs his B&B with his wife and father, and in one day you fill part of the family. It was really nice to stay with them and their friends speaking or playing cricket. The food is also amazing. They go everyday to the market and the menu depends on what they find fresh (western and local). If you want something particular just ask. Since now they have 5 simple rooms only, with bathroom, ceiling fan and mosquito net. From each one you can see the sea from the window or the door lying in bed! Outside you have a private balcony, basically on the beach, great to hang out. There is a natural swimmingpool in just in front that grants a safe bath even for children (The sea on the south coast can be quite rough during offseason).

The weather was really good even offseason.

We hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Kusuma's Lazy Left is situated right on the beach smack bang in the middle of three of Sri Lanka's best surf breaks. The accommodation is basic however comfortable and everything you need if you're travelling on a budget. Sugi and his family are very friendly and welcoming, not to mention the amazing home cooked food they provide. I had an absolutely fantastic stay here and I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bensrr07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

sugi and his family are amazing people
from day one they cared about me and made my vacation time perfect
the food is very good
great location by the beach
i will come back for sure!
many surfing points around the place
wish them all the best,thay deserve it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sugi and his family were amazing hosts and we felt it was home from home for the six weeks we stayed there. The location just on the beach was amazing and it felt like our own private hideaway. I would definitely go back and therefore recommend Lazy Left to any travellers. You won't regret it

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sweetiebeats01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midigama hotels
0.3 mi away
Cheeky Monkey Guesthouse / Surf Camp / Surf Shop / Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Midigama Holiday Inn
Midigama Holiday Inn
#5 of 34 in Midigama
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocoplant Surf Inn & Surf School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Surf Lanka Resort
The Surf Lanka Resort
#9 of 34 in Midigama
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Paradise
Surf Paradise
#11 of 30 in Midigama
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midigama Villa Resort
Midigama Villa Resort
#4 of 30 in Midigama
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kusuma's Lazy Left? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kusuma's Lazy Left

Address: Matara Rd | On beach between Ram's Right & Lazy Left Surf Breaks, Midigama, Matara 80650, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Midigama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Midigama
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
my place is situated right on the beach and in front of ram's and lazy left surf points. i have 5 bedrooms with attached bathrooms.you can get a wonderful view of ram's right and lazy left surf points and each and every room is facing to the beach.we can provide you delicious western and sri lankan as you like. i can promise you i will give you best hamburger in the island.if you want to trave ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing