We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Knot

The Knot
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shocking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family and I went for a birthday meal this lunchtime. My brother ordered a bacon cheeseburger, Mum order ham and eggs and I ordered salmon with wild rice, green beans and hollandaise sauce, plus some starters which were ok. The burger came out as a chicken burger with bacon and an extremely burnt bun, which the waitress changed for a cheeseburger but no bacon. Mum's ham and eggs, the eggs had been cooked in dirty oil and the ham was rancid and smelt dreadful! Food was sent back and not replaced as she was completely put off. My salmon was ok but the rice had been obviously reheated which is so dangerous, the sauce congealed and the bean were shrivelled. The excuse we were given was it was the chef's second day. We were given a discount on the burger and not charged for the ham and eggs. There was no pride in the food that was sent out from the kitchen and the management did not even come to the table to apologise. The only saving grace was a frazzled waitress who was so apologetic and helpful! Save your money and go eat elsewhere! Ruined my birthday lunch.

Helpful?
2 Thank Allyjack_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    9
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, excellent value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Visited with friends a few times and have throughly enjoyed every visit! Decor could possibly do with being a little more warm and welcoming but the food more than made up for this. Friendly staff and good value for money food!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sls_broadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Greek food good - service not so.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Three of us in last night. Had to go get menus ourselves from the bar. Then had to call waiter over to order 3 greek starters (taramousalata had run out) vine leaves, gigantes beans, haloumi cheese. We shared them and we all agreed very good.
Next course mousaka - just like a greek one (!) so exactly as expected. Greek salad was excellent (perhaps too many olives) and steak fine. Wine was very reasonably priced red.
Yes, we'll go again, but just wish they would sort out the service. It was a little slow but nothing seems to move quickly in Westgate!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KWeb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Front of House.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Well we didn't eat here... why? well it was a Wednesday evening about 7:30 when we arrived, I asked if they had a table for 3, me the missus and our 7 year old, the answer was yes and we were sat down quickly. The restaurant was pretty full and from the looks of the diners only a couple in the corner were eating. After about 5 minutes the waitress asked if we wanted a menu (DOH!) and she brought them over, no info about the specials (although written on a door), no "would you like me to get you some drinks?", nothing to say that they were busy, had limited staff on or that we may have a wait... More people came in, tables moved to get them seated, a guy on a family table got up and went to get drinks from the bar, a table started to get their food (with an apology that the food was coming out slow, two people eating while another two waited for their main), the waitress took their order for drinks but still nobody had come passed our table. We sat there for about 15/20 minutes and we were both getting a bit upset, the art of good customer service is simply communication, if you let people know what is going on their are more likely to suffer, if you don't talk to them at all they just feel like you don't care about them... we watched the food come out for a table and it looked great and really would have liked to stay and eat but after almost 30 minutes of waiting a man finally arrived and spoke to us but by then I had already made up my mind and we got up and left. I hope this was a bad day for them, that they were not prepared for the amount of people eating, that they had staff shortages, whatever... all they had to do was say, to actually tell the customer, to at least let them feel that their presence was known about and not to leave them languishing in a corner somewhere. Maybe we will try it again, I don't know.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grubastuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“most yummy food , good value for money , child freindly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

the staff were very welcome and warm, the food was really nice , the garden was perfect to seat and enjoy of food and drink and your children play in the bouncy , and the toys that were availbale in the garden,
the toilet was very clean and easy acses for nappy changin,
easy access to the beach

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Knot also viewed

Westgate-on-Sea, Isle of Thanet
Westgate-on-Sea, Isle of Thanet
 
Westgate-on-Sea, Isle of Thanet
 
Westgate-on-Sea, Isle of Thanet
Westgate-on-Sea, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Knot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing