We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad”
Review of The Knot

The Knot
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very bad”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Completely ruined my Friends wedding reception. myself and the wedding guests were made to feel unwelcome nothing was done that we had agreed on when i went to complain i was laughed at! we had no bar staff, we had a private function hall which the public were just walking through the staff were rude the manager was even worse!! We paid good money to have my wedding there and it was disgusting. i could go on a lot more but i dont have enough room to write down how badly myself and guests were treated. i know he has lost a lot of customers now because his attidude was very bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    9
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great portions and lovely staff”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I visited the knot with my daughter and my grandparents for lunch on a Thursday day. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and a bouncy castle was up in the garden much to my daughters delight!
We decided to go for three courses, I had smoked salmon starter followed by cod chips and mushy peas then rounded off with a maple syrup crépe. The food was presented beautifully.
The waitress recommended the moussaka which my nan had and she was also very pleased. My grandad decided on the battered mushrooms (beautiful) and cod and chips. He followed that with bread and butter pudding which he found delicious. My nan asked for the strawberry pastry with no whipped cream. The chef actually came out and explained to my nan that the dessert was made with whipped cream inside and showed my nan to see if she still wanted it (she did and thoroughly enjoyed it!)
My daughter had garlic bread followed by burger and chips then vanilla ice cream. She ate every bit of it. We also had 2 fruit shoots, 1 pint of John smiths and a bottle of wine, the total bill was around £80 which I think is good value for 4 people having 3 courses with drinks. Would definitely recommend and will be going back again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked for sunday lunch <4 adults,5 kids,aged 5to11 > mainly because 1 child <under12> eats free per paying adult,then i read the reviews and almost cancelled.3 roast dinners,1 ribeye,5 burgers'n'chips,kids?5pints,1bottle house red 1vodka tonic, 5 j2o's £78,kids scoffed their burgers,ribeye done just right,the beef roasts lovely,a palace its knot,the service a little hit and miss,but we would go back,regards comments about graffitti in the bogs there was none,looked like fresh paint>

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maxieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We bought a flat nearby just over a year ago and were delighted to find the Nottingham Castle re-opening as The Knot just as we completed. The food was excellent with a varied menu. We were recommending the place to everyone! Now, sadly, it has changed hands and the food is, at best variable. The extensive English menu has been shrunk and a Greek menu introduced. The food is very much pot luck. I agree with the comment that the battered mushrooms are very good but the pasta my wife had was overcooked and the chips with my scampi were horrible. When we complained we were told that chef said that it would be better next time. A few weeks ago my wife took her mother there and had ribs that should fall off the bone but needed to be hacked away from the bone. When they complained the chef said that it would be better next time. Friends of ours stayed at our flat an had excellent muscles but poor steaks. All in all, this is a massive disappointment. Oh, and by the way, the prices have gone up significantly also. We cannot recommend the place now, I am afraid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rawlplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first visit to the Knot and was greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. The food was all freshly cooked and homemade. I had the battered mushrooms to start and the batter was very light, my main course was the belly of pork which was amazing. My husband had the goats cheese filo tart followed by a homemade burger with wedges. I could not fault the staff or food but the only let down was the people smoking out the front that had obviously not read the signs that said no smoking

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shirleyw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Knot also viewed

Westgate-on-Sea, Isle of Thanet
Westgate-on-Sea, Isle of Thanet
 
Westgate-on-Sea, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Knot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing