We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lodge - very remote” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent lodge - very remote”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very friendly hosts were most welcoming at this quiet lodge, in this stunning location. Rooms are very clean and beds comfortable. Meals are excellent and local produce used such as fruit and fish from the river. Enjoy walks along the river or venture further with their knowledgeable guide into Sinharaja. A positive experience I would recommend - Thank You!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Outdoor_Studio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    27
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I went here with my wife and good friend Ranjan,(his review is below), and we had a lovely time for a day or two here. We were treated very well by the family and enjoyed the hospitality and the food,wow the food,it really was amazing. A little hot for me, but thats the way they like it in Sri Lanka! It wasnt too bad for my Mexican wife and Sri Lankan friend,and one suggestion would be to make less. I felt enormous after each meal. The rooms are basic but comfortable, and they arranged a walking tour with a guide and we were taken to a waterfall where the guide married us again, in the most lovely way. Go there, disconnect,and enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ian20092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and on sudden impulse decided to visit Sinharaja. With short notice Anil and team enthusiastically agreed to accommodate us.
The 8km off-road journey from Neluwa to Seyana was scary but adventurous because of the road conditions. On return, Anil kindly assisted our vehicle. We advise new visitors, if you feel uncertain ofmthe off-road journey, ask Anil to assist you or to arrange transport.
The best thing we did when we arrived was to leave luggage at Seyana and rush to the nearest waterfall with 'Kalu Mama', their wise local guide. The natural water and air are magical.
Ira's hospitality and food array was very welcoming. We enjoyed the meals and atmosphere of their common dining hall.
The room was clean and sufficiently comfortable. Bathroom too was basic and clean. Since solar electricity is used from 10pm till morning, a torch is handy. There are no mosquitoes a leech repellent will be very useful. Please do not bring plastic and polythene to this natural rain-forest vicinity.
Thank you, Ira and Anil for your friendly nature, gift of Sinharaja tea and bottles of magical Sinharaja water you kindly packed for us. We love to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EPabalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were a family of 9 adults and two kids. We wanted a holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the Colombo city life. We planned for a two night stay. We had prior warning that the roads could be bad and there were a few dubious stretches between Neluwa and Lankagama where we even considered turning back. But Anil the proprietor gave us due reassurance and finally reached this haven within about 4 hours from Colombo.
We were greeted with an amazing cup of plain tea with jaggery and from then on everything we dreamed of having in the holiday just unfolded before us. Anil and his family were excellent hosts and most importantly were attentive to our needs. For anyone who has a taste for authentic Sri Lankan "game kema" (village food) and a hearty meal this place is highly recommended.
The location of the place is unbelievable. It borders the Gin Ganga and virtually sits in the junction of a large tributary flowing into the river giving an unbeatable river bathing experience. We even had a moonlight dip in the river thanks to Kalu Mama (the tracker) who made us some flame torches. The river is one of the cleanest I have seen. Unfortunately none of us had the vigour to do a full trek into the rainforest but we did manage to see most of the lovely waterfalls that lay within not more than a two km radius from the lodge. The absence of TV, internet and mobile phones completed our getaway and we were thankful for the opportunity to catch up with some valuable family time.
Anil appears to be a man with a vision and told us his plans to develop the lodge. We wish him all the best in his endeavours. Our appreciation of the service was unanimous. Whether you would like to sit around a table with some idle chatter or sink yourself in cool natural waters or to engage in some high energy jungle trekking, this certainly is THE place!

Sameera and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ino4sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Firstly this is an excellent place to relax and enjoy the true nature. Just 5mts walking distance from Sinharaja rainforest. You’ll benefit by 5 endless waterfalls within 2-3km from the lodge. The uniqueness of the eco lodge is that there is a person called ‘Kalu Mama’, who lived his whole life with this flora and fauna,and is there to go with you through the forest and share the traditional knowledge.

Secondly, the service, hospitality and quality.... what else....

I live in UK and wanted to give surprise treat to my nephews and nieces who live in SL, all were teenagers and they really enjoyed the treat, specially the village food and some of very traditional Sri Lankan sweetmeats.

16km long Lankagama access road is very narrow and uneven. 4x4 is recommended but still small cars can drive with less weight. But this doesn’t give any disadvantage to the place hence you are going to a natural forest.

Could I beg you to not to bring plastics please...!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WLelwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nawala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fantastic place. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Kalu Mama's guidance is very much appreciated. (We were there to donate books to the schools nearby Sinharaja)

Breakfast was lovely and a good selection of local food and herbal congee is known as "Kenda" in Sinhalese. They served us the best tea with Hakuru and when I asked they served me more, I came home with the some packsof tea and hakuru they sold me for a very reasonable price.

Would recommend to others and return for a longer visit, Anil the owner is the best hotelier I ever came across.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Attalage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were a fairly large group with friends and family and booked all 6 rooms so that we had the place to ourselves. Coming from Colombo we took the Galle Highway and came through Neluwa. From there on the road was bad.That set the stage for our adventure. We had to get down a couple of times as our coach had difficulty with the bad road. At a point our driver was too scared to take it from there on so we set on foot to the location. We were not expecting highways to the forest, so that was a part of the adventure.

We came up to the beautiful "Bamunu Falls" and the lodge 30 meters away. The lodge was interesting to me as a person who loves architecture. We were greeted with Anil and his family. Anil being the architect, he explained how he had used and mixed different natural resources plus at times cement to weave his dream. The furniture is made out of chunks of wood and is almost unmovable. The ceiling of the restaurant is also very interesting.

The rooms and toilets are good. They were actually better than in the pictures we saw on the net. The rooms were made of clay (mixed with a little cement) and wood. The beds were quite unique as they were made of logs joined together. I was not expecting 5 star luxury so I was more than satisfied. I found that the rooms were a bit dark as there was no electricity during the day. The generator was put on after 6pm till morning I guess. But we were not in the rooms much anyways.

I am not a food person. But that being said I loved the rotties, the fish curries and stuff being cooked. The others enjoyed the food too.

Our tracker "Kalu Mama" was a 63 year old guy who was much fitter than us. He took us around all the waterfalls in a 5km radius. I was expecting a person who would give some live commentary on the plant life and insects, so that was a little disappointing. He knew his stuff but you need to ask him. But the 2 days we trekked in the forest was quite an experience.
We got wet in almost all streams and waterfalls. But the best was still the one just near the lodge. I loved the fource of the water plus it was relatively safe.

So finally my rating on the place is relative to what I was expecting. I highly recommend this place as it is ideally located, has good rooms and service and the best of local food. But if you are expecting AC rooms, paved roads and a 'leechless' environment, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neluwa
8.7 mi away
Boulder Garden Hotel
Boulder Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kalawana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Rainforest Ecolodge
The Rainforest Ecolodge
#1 of 10 in Deniyaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sinharaja Forest Edge
Sinharaja Forest Edge
#6 of 10 in Deniyaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sinharaja Adventure Resort
11.8 mi away
Sinharaja Rest
Sinharaja Rest
#3 of 10 in Deniyaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
12.4 mi away
Eco Villa - Sinharaja
Eco Villa - Sinharaja
#4 of 10 in Deniyaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge

Property: Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge
Address: Lankagama, Neluwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Neluwa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Neluwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge”, situated at Sinharaja (Sri Lanka) - the rainforest being a “World Heritage” site offers a variety of beautiful creations of mother nature within the well balanced and preserved “eco system” cool springs, winding rivers, cascading waterfalls, thick forest inherited by endemic fauna and flora adds beauty and tranquility to the visitor, no visitor will leave “Sinharaja” without falling in love with this nature wonder.We are offering comfortable accommodation in the outskirts of the Sri Lanka rainforest of Sinharaja. Chalets are constructed with specially selected clay / cement mixture and all furniture crafted locally for maintaining the natural environment and comforts.Here are the few other activities which you / your guests can enjoy with us:* More than 15 waterfalls surrounding the hotel – within 3km area* Other 17 waterfalls within 15km around the hotel* Dr. Fish – Fishing Therapy* Behaviors of White Monkeys* Bird Watching* Boart Trip through the jungle* And many many more…I would like to invite you to visit and enjoy our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing