We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bepton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked a quiet relaxing weekend at this hotel and got just that....up to Sunday morning that is. We had a lovely room which was very cosy and had good views from both windows..... Only one negative point the walls between bathroom seemed to be paper thin so you could hear the guest in the next room moving around in the bath!! Reception is a bit odd - you do need somewhere to sit and sign in rather than standing in the office and same applies to check-out which would be very akward in the height of the summer season with a lot of people falling over each other in the entrance hallway. Food was good - better cooked and presented on the Friday night than the Saturday - seemingly they had a function in the Barn which would explain that the restaurant probably didn't get the better of the chefs. Bar seating area is a bit strange as all window seating so no relaxing chairs but you can take your drink into the nice lounge. Liked the idea of the "honesty" bar as you can help yourself and your choice may well be different to that if you had a barman waiting for your response. However that said, the prices were high!! The peace and quiet came to a halt early on Sunday morning when some children were running up and down unsupervised in the corridor and rooms on the the second floor. Seemingly this was two grandparents, their sons and wives and 4 young grandchildren who go their on a regular basis at the same time of the year for some celebration or other - suggestion would be if you want a romantic weekend avoid the weekend around the 9th/10th December. Personally it is NOT a suitable hotel for children. Staff in the restaurant could not have been more pleasant and helpful and one of them, I think his name was Jula or Juna, gave us very helpful advise on places to visit on the coast....very helpful indeed. Breakfast was lovely - again very calming and relaxed until the noisy children appeared - this is too small a hotel to cope with young children as they disturb the other residents and the ambiance of the hotel. It was a lovely weekend though.

Room Tip: We had room 6 on the first floor which was a lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience, as always I am encouraged to read that you were well looked after by the team, and will make sure that your praise is passed on.

I am sorry to hear that you found your stay noisy at times, we are a family friendly hotel, and rely on guests staying with children to be mindful of their behavour.
We are looking in to ways of developing our layout on the ground floor, and appreciate your comments.

With best wishes

Rebecca Coonan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 424 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed one night on a short break to explore West Sussex part of the new South Downs National Park. Family owned with very friendly service handling my original telephone enquiry and throughout a very nice evening meal.
We chose a standard double room to be in main building, some rooms are in a separate building next to the superb new spa, a short distance from main hotel. This was very well furnished and of an adequate size, albeit without the best views from the window - but why stay in a room to see the views, the surrounding countryside has narrow lanes with very little traffic and the autumn colours were superb - the area has an excellent mix of deciduous trees in small and large woods, many of which you drive through as well as view from a distance.
The recently opened spa has a very smart pool (15 metres) plus separate saunas and steam rooms. Think you need to book well ahead when events on at Goodwood and Cowdray Park etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DStravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review,we are pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the idilic surrounding countryside of the South Downs national park.
Perhaps you could find an excuse to visit us again in the warmer months of the year, in order to enjoy West Sussex at its very best!

Warm wishes

Rebecca Coonan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What an amazing hidden gem. You feel like you are staying at a friends house. Attention to detail is amazing. The pool and spa was brilliant and not what you would expect for a small country house hotel. Perfect for romatic getaways. Don't tell too many people!!
Food was great as well, would love to see this place in the summer as it has an outdoor pool and lovely grounds.

Room Tip: Room No 11 was massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the Summer.

Warm wishes

Rebecca Coonan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

(When I work out how to post photo I'll post the photos I took at this hotel of the room)

Plus points: Pleasant small hotel with lovely grounds and good leisure facilties, outdoor pool, good-sized indoor pool, Spa (friendly staff) and (single sex) steam/saunas in changing rooms. Lovely main sitting room in hotel with open fire. Good standard of food at Dinner.

Minus points: odd honesty bar area with no really comfortable place to sit and chat as there was lots of window seating and a large 'banquette' in centre but with no backs to the seating, it was hardly a place you could kick your heels back & relax. Best to grab a drink & enjoy in the very comfortable sitting room. Very expensive bar prices.

Dining area a bit confused with a narrow formal dining room opening onto a more modern, chintzy conservatory. Breakfast not so good - sausages very 'bready' and bacon salty. But good size portions and reasonable choice.

Waiting staff - not only did one particular member of staff hover too much but he draped his arms over our chairs while lingering to chat (not required) & was over familiar and bordering on offensive when he brought our puddings and stated 'You're a tart' & ' You're a mess' referring to our pudding choices. Perhaps he thought he was being funny...it's always difficult to challenge behaviour like this as others might not take offence but we certainly did. The other waiting staff were professional yet friendly without being over familiar so this was an obvious training issue with this particular member of staff.

Room cleanliness: when first shown to our room (Polo Cottage) there was a collection of empty glasses outaide the door and several cigarette butts. The sitting room in the cottage was showing signs of wear and tear and felt shabby it was very gloomy. There was a service area outside the back door with lots of coming & going of staff which was disturbing. The bathrooms needed some TLC and mouldy grout renewing. The scales didn't work in one bathroom. The curtains in one bedroom had come unattached from the curtain rings (easily fixed but attention to detail lacking) and the carpets were frayed in one and in the other the bed needed a serious deep clean (see photos)

Reception telephoned our room on our day of departure very shortly after 11am (check out time) to hurry us along to check out! We were on our way, just packing the car.

No-one asked us on checking out if we had enjoyed our stay, frostily professional and poite but no real warmth or friendliness. Awkward checking out as no desk area to check bill and sign, you just hover awkwardly in their office space. i brought up the mould, broken scales etc and was just told their maintenance would look at it - no apology offered.

Would we stay again? In the balance and in one word:No. Too many minus points for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
Yes your quite right, a picture does speak a thousand words.
We are terribly sorry that your experience was a negative one. We certainly let ourselves down here and we will be addressing all the points you have raised with our housekeeping and dining staff.
We would very much like the opportunity to start over, its a very big blow to all of us to know that your stay was less than perfect. Please do contact us directly we would very much like to arrange a complimentary stay for you.

Once again our sincere apologies.

Very best wishes
Rebecca Coonan and all the team at Park House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for one night and how I wished we had booked for more. From the moment we walked in I knew that this was one of those special small luxury hotels that you feel like "home" - if only I had a home like that! The spa was really relaxing, very modern, clean, great lighting and very luxurious.

Our room was very spacious, lovely bathroom, but a little too hot.

Great idea to have an Honesty Bar.

We didn't have dinner there but the breakfast was delicious - great choices and really well cooked.

Can't wait to return

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legallynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We strive to give all our guests a home away from home experience, so its always encouraging to receive feedback that reflects this.
We look forward to seeing you back very soon.

Kind regards

Rebecca Coonan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

this is my 3rd stay at Park House..1st time was January 2010 for a friends wedding, we loved it so much, my husband & I went back for 1 night January 2011 for my birthday..Then the friend who got married, arranged 7 of us girls to go for 1 night stay...I love it there..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polldance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
Another visit, thats great news, we are looking at a new loyalty scheme in the New Year, keep an eye on our website for details.
Thank you for your continued custom and support.

Rebecca Coonan and all the team at Park House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for one night and were impressed by this hotel, the standards in all areas were good. The spa treatments were wonderful. Midhurst is a pleasant town with individual shops. The gardens are beautifully kept. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review about your stay. We are delighted you had a comfortable an pleasant break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Rebecca Coonan & all the team at Park House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bepton
2.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
22.5 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,655 reviews
9.7 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,039 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,542 reviews
10.4 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel & Spa

Address: Bepton Road, Bepton, Midhurst GU29 0JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst > Bepton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bepton
Price Range: $198 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park House Hotel Bepton
Park Hotel Midhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing