We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveler rating
371
77
26
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
371
77
26
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool golf course south downs the cottages first class sauna and steam rooms the main house small hotel sussex countryside lovely setting attention to detail perfect country this lovely hotel large bedroom afternoon tea a real treat treatment rooms
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 488 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed one night on a short break to explore West Sussex part of the new South Downs National Park. Family owned with very friendly service handling my original telephone enquiry and throughout a very nice evening meal.
We chose a standard double room to be in main building, some rooms are in a separate building next to the superb new spa, a short distance from main hotel. This was very well furnished and of an adequate size, albeit without the best views from the window - but why stay in a room to see the views, the surrounding countryside has narrow lanes with very little traffic and the autumn colours were superb - the area has an excellent mix of deciduous trees in small and large woods, many of which you drive through as well as view from a distance.
The recently opened spa has a very smart pool (15 metres) plus separate saunas and steam rooms. Think you need to book well ahead when events on at Goodwood and Cowdray Park etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DStravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review,we are pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the idilic surrounding countryside of the South Downs national park.
Perhaps you could find an excuse to visit us again in the warmer months of the year, in order to enjoy West Sussex at its very best!

Warm wishes

Rebecca Coonan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What an amazing hidden gem. You feel like you are staying at a friends house. Attention to detail is amazing. The pool and spa was brilliant and not what you would expect for a small country house hotel. Perfect for romatic getaways. Don't tell too many people!!
Food was great as well, would love to see this place in the summer as it has an outdoor pool and lovely grounds.

Room Tip: Room No 11 was massive
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the Summer.

Warm wishes

Rebecca Coonan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

(When I work out how to post photo I'll post the photos I took at this hotel of the room)

Plus points: Pleasant small hotel with lovely grounds and good leisure facilties, outdoor pool, good-sized indoor pool, Spa (friendly staff) and (single sex) steam/saunas in changing rooms. Lovely main sitting room in hotel with open fire. Good standard of food at Dinner.

Minus points: odd honesty bar area with no really comfortable place to sit and chat as there was lots of window seating and a large 'banquette' in centre but with no backs to the seating, it was hardly a place you could kick your heels back & relax. Best to grab a drink & enjoy in the very comfortable sitting room. Very expensive bar prices.

Dining area a bit confused with a narrow formal dining room opening onto a more modern, chintzy conservatory. Breakfast not so good - sausages very 'bready' and bacon salty. But good size portions and reasonable choice.

Waiting staff - not only did one particular member of staff hover too much but he draped his arms over our chairs while lingering to chat (not required) & was over familiar and bordering on offensive when he brought our puddings and stated 'You're a tart' & ' You're a mess' referring to our pudding choices. Perhaps he thought he was being funny...it's always difficult to challenge behaviour like this as others might not take offence but we certainly did. The other waiting staff were professional yet friendly without being over familiar so this was an obvious training issue with this particular member of staff.

Room cleanliness: when first shown to our room (Polo Cottage) there was a collection of empty glasses outaide the door and several cigarette butts. The sitting room in the cottage was showing signs of wear and tear and felt shabby it was very gloomy. There was a service area outside the back door with lots of coming & going of staff which was disturbing. The bathrooms needed some TLC and mouldy grout renewing. The scales didn't work in one bathroom. The curtains in one bedroom had come unattached from the curtain rings (easily fixed but attention to detail lacking) and the carpets were frayed in one and in the other the bed needed a serious deep clean (see photos)

Reception telephoned our room on our day of departure very shortly after 11am (check out time) to hurry us along to check out! We were on our way, just packing the car.

No-one asked us on checking out if we had enjoyed our stay, frostily professional and poite but no real warmth or friendliness. Awkward checking out as no desk area to check bill and sign, you just hover awkwardly in their office space. i brought up the mould, broken scales etc and was just told their maintenance would look at it - no apology offered.

Would we stay again? In the balance and in one word:No. Too many minus points for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
Yes your quite right, a picture does speak a thousand words.
We are terribly sorry that your experience was a negative one. We certainly let ourselves down here and we will be addressing all the points you have raised with our housekeeping and dining staff.
We would very much like the opportunity to start over, its a very big blow to all of us to know that your stay was less than perfect. Please do contact us directly we would very much like to arrange a complimentary stay for you.

Once again our sincere apologies.

Very best wishes
Rebecca Coonan and all the team at Park House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for one night and how I wished we had booked for more. From the moment we walked in I knew that this was one of those special small luxury hotels that you feel like "home" - if only I had a home like that! The spa was really relaxing, very modern, clean, great lighting and very luxurious.

Our room was very spacious, lovely bathroom, but a little too hot.

Great idea to have an Honesty Bar.

We didn't have dinner there but the breakfast was delicious - great choices and really well cooked.

Can't wait to return

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legallynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We strive to give all our guests a home away from home experience, so its always encouraging to receive feedback that reflects this.
We look forward to seeing you back very soon.

Kind regards

Rebecca Coonan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

this is my 3rd stay at Park House..1st time was January 2010 for a friends wedding, we loved it so much, my husband & I went back for 1 night January 2011 for my birthday..Then the friend who got married, arranged 7 of us girls to go for 1 night stay...I love it there..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polldance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phhmanager, General Manager at Park House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
Another visit, thats great news, we are looking at a new loyalty scheme in the New Year, keep an eye on our website for details.
Thank you for your continued custom and support.

Rebecca Coonan and all the team at Park House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews