We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stag day ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rookin House Activity Centre

Rookin House Activity Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Troutbeck
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established for over 20 years Rookin House has an amazing range of activities at competitive prices.We can offer activities for individuals, families and large groups including stag& hen and corporate.We are situated half way between Keswick and Penrith (9miles from each) and 4 miles from Ullswater.The mountain range of Blencathra provides a stunning back drop for the centre.Activities include Horse Riding, Pony Trekking, Clay Pigeon Shooting, Air Rifles, Archery, Indoor Karting, Human Bowling, Zip Wire, Assault Course, Argo Cat Off Road Experience, Dakar 4 X 4 and a Stalwart Army Truck.Pre-booking advisable.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent stag day ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We did 4 activities for my brother in laws stag do. Clay pigeon shooting, quad biking, leap of faith, and archery. Each event was well organised and great fun the staff were also a great laugh and really made the day. I must mention Roy the dog who kept us entertained while we are our lunch too. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nico100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    44
    4
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stag Weekend!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great stag weekend!! We stayed for 3 nights in Blencathra View, it could not of been better. We also did the go karting & clay pigeon shooting which was fantastic, plus the team were fantastic! A special mention must go to Alan who took us through the clay pigeon shooting, he was amazing. There was 14 guys in the stag of all ages and everyone loved the experience, no negative comments whatsoever. It was also great value. Thank you all at Rookin House for a great weekend I will remember for the rest of my life!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“fantastic fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

My son and husband came last year on a "lads and Dads" weekend from school and had a great time. We decide to tag a morning on here to our weekend away so the boys could go shooting again which they throughly enjoyed. The instructor and two other participants ( four in total) had a very enjoyable 45 mins with lots of advice, instruction and tips. I had intended on going riding with my 7 year old daughter while the boys were busy, but although she is a novice rider they said because she was under 8 it would have to be a private lesson which was even more costly than the basic 1 hour which at almost £28 each was already rather expensive so we just said hello to the ponies instead and went for a walk! The staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank familyD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I booked my husband one of the couples packages for a surprise on one of the days of our trip to the lakes in November 2013. We had a fantastic day doing 5 different activities. The staff were excellent, very friendly and experienced. Especially Al who made the day so much fun. We would recommend Rookin House to anyone who wants a great day out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayle444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place, very well organised and felt very safe and supported. Loved the quad biking! Kids went horse riding and on the Argo cat (kids quad bikes off due to too much mud!). Already planning our next trip!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rookin House Activity Centre also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Rookin House Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing