We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alot expected not worth it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Alot expected not worth it!!!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We came to stay on the obvious recomendations, but felt very let down!!!...not as nice as it makes out and very cold water no hot!!!!....middle of nowhere and wasn't were we thought troutbeck was.....decieving as its near penrith not windermere.....nice staff,owners a bit offish...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank nigel c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
149
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Risca Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

once you've met Dean and Steph you'll never forfet them, helpful, freindly, makes you feel at home with comfort and a clean room. etc. they'll go out of their way to help, find and give information about the local area. check this out, Dean travelled 8 miles at midnight to pick us up from our wedding function...hard to believe! but true, these hosts go well beyond the expections of any service. you wouldn't get that anywhere in the country, certainly no place we've ever stayed. Myself and wife has already discussed future breaks to include a round trip to stay there again.

Room Tip: Easy to find, off the a66 and 1min on the right, easy access the A roads and motorways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Steph and Dean - what great hosts, the most helpful guest house owners I have come across. No request was too much for them and they would happily do anything to help your stay be perfect. The property is very nice, very clean, and has been tastefully prepared with lots of light in the breakfast conservatory, nice soft furnishings and a good breakfast. Stayed in the downstairs twin room, small bathroom helping my son and I become good contortionists but not a problem and led to some fun memories; shower very nice. I thought it would be noisy next to the A66, but traffic noise was surprisingly low. The area is great and much quieter than more busy parts of the Lake District. Not many footpaths from the property but a walk down a quiet road can lead to fells in all directions. Nice golf course nearby (Keswick GC) - enjoyed an evening round under Blencathra after climbing Belncathra via Sharp Edge and descending via Halls Fell Ridge (recommended circular) earlier in the day. Pub across the road (Troutbeck Inn) nice but not a "real pub" in many respects. 2 beers (Jennings Cumberland and Cocker Hoop and well kept, also excellently served by the very friendly and helpful barman. Food was excellent, service great, but no bar-food so expect to pay a little more than expected for a pub. To give a balanced review there are always the negatives but these were very small - 1) nice thing is that you do normally share with the owners in a B&B, they have 3 lovely children but children do make noise, no problem for me but some people may not like this: 2) Downstairs room usually has guests above - again, not a problem normally but one night was kept awake when the upstairs occupants decided to make certain noises until 3am (just tired myself out more on the fells and drunk a little more the next evening as a solution), just a warning that upstairs can often be the better choice: 3) Not everybody likes pop music especially when eating, radio station/music at breakfast could be more neutral but at least the volume was low. Overall, a great stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Downstairs room had a small bathroom and noise can be expected from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinGorio8767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at Netherdene for 4 nights last week.
Dean and Steph the perfect hosts, helpful and friendly without being obtrusive.
breakfast room a delight and Cumbrian breakfast sets you up for the day!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Netherdene and wish it could have been longer. On arrival we were made so welcome with tea in the lounge and Dean and Steph were so helpful with ideas and recommendations. The Troutbeck Inn is directly opposite and serves wonderful food,no need to travel for dinner. Couldn't fault the breakfast in the morning and is in the sun room at the back so great for chicken watching! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Weather could have been better (!) and certainly no match from the warm reception we got from our hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and always a cuppa on offer when arriving or returning from a long day out. Very knowledgeable with great suggestions on where to go (...and where to park free in Keswick).

Location - note this is about 9 miles from Prestwick. There is another Troutbeck nearer Lake Windemere. Also note that parking in the villages around is likely to cost you ( like just about anywhere scenenic in the lake District)

Our room was very comfortable, huge bed but en suite shower room a bit small, as often happens with conversions in older buildings.

Lovely new extension for breakfast room giving magnificent view onto the gardens and hills beyond. See Photo. Great breakfast, though didn't try the black pudding! Lovely sitting in there working out which direction was best to avoid the clouds! (In fact one day we headed towards the sun of the Northern Penines taking the road from Penrith to Alston. Magnificent countryside and views.)

The pub across road (Troutbeck Inn) does really nice food but at restaurant prices - our meal for 2 with a few drinks cost £45. Other nights we ate at our last ports of call before driving back to the Netherdene.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a short break here in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Dean and Steph were most welcoming and helpful, and made us feel very much at home. Our bedroom was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the nice bright sun room, which has a pleasant outlook over to the fells. We could also relax there or in the residents' lounge on our return to the house in the afternoons. A real "home from home".

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rhona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.5 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
350 reviews
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
17.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Troutbeck Inn
Troutbeck Inn
#23 of 66 in Penrith
312 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Mortal Man
The Mortal Man
#3 of 4 in Troutbeck
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Netherdene, Troutbeck CA11 0SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedroom Bed & Breakfast situated in its own extensive garden in the North Lakes. 4 miles north of Ullswater, between Keswick and Penrith situated just off the A66. Ideally located for walks up and around Blencathra and Helvellyn areas in a semi rural location with the benefit of the local inn opposite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Netherdene Country House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing