We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked for us as part if a tour package with ferry operator Smyrill Line which we used to bring our Land Rover over from mainlan”
Review of Hotel Laugar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Laugar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laugar
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Booked for us as part if a tour package with ferry operator Smyrill Line which we used to bring our Land Rover over from mainlan”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We learnt that this summer hotel operates during the rest of the year as accommodation for students at a private school in Laugar. It served it's purpose adequately, just about. Breakfast was OK, but evening meals in the 'summer' restaurant were expensive and of average quality. Wifi service was poor and only available in the restaurant area away from the rather functional rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    20
    16
    18
See reviews for
16
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
721 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the only hotel in town. I chose it as the Fosshotel in Skafatel had been brilliant. This is not the case here. Staying in the middle of summer I really missed some shutters for the windows. Breakfast was less than I expected for the price, but his is a remote location and i guess that explains it.

Room Tip: bring some eye shades
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laugar hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Not value for money. This hotel is not that if the cost was 60€/night, but for 150€ it should be much better. At least reaching 3 stars european standards. This is not the case. Fosshotel laugar is one of the worst I stayed in Iceland. We just slept one night. Ok just for one night is you have to stop over in that area, although I'd better take a guesthouse. Breakfast was correct. No wifi in the rooms althought it was said in the reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This "summer hotel" is a boarding school the rest of the year. We had a basic dormitory room. In order to use the wifi we had to go to the main building. The restaurant and "bar" (I think the "bar" is a classroom the rest of the year) are in the main building, too.

The room was clean, but the beds were too soft for our taste. The blackout curtains did a fairly good job of darkening the room.

Breakfast was in the school cafeteria. It was so-so. In addition to the usual cold items, they provided eggs and sausage, which was nice. They also had bacon--but it was RAW. Not undercooked, RAW. I love good crispy bacon, and seeing this was torture! I hadn't seen bacon in over a week, and here was bacon--but it was inedible.

We didn't eat dinner here, as we'd eaten elsewhere on our route to the hotel. We did have a beer in the "bar." If you stay here, you don't have any other local choice for dinner.

It was in a convenient location for where we were going, but if we were in this part of Iceland again, I'd probably look for somewhere else to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kallo, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

How about starting your day by cleaning up other people's dirty dishes at the breakfast tables, as there is no other place to sit in the mess (I cannot call the place a restaurant, it clearly is the mess of a boarding school), and the staff takes no action. They had run out of fruit, juices and milk - with just a handwritten piece of paper "out of milk, sorry". As this happened two days in a row, it cannot be a coincidence.
The swimming pool is a public pool, which closes at 6 pm, so not very useful if you go on a day trip

Room Tip: Look somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannali, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in August as I has a long 12 hour excursion the day between.After one very poor night's sleep due to a substandard mattress, I had the bedding changed the following day and was given a complimentary dinner by the management. There was also a few holes in the walls as it operates as a school when not used as a hotel.Breakfast was good, the people nice, but it is the worst place I have stayed on my 3 month trip, and I had to pay upfront for the 2 nights.There is a good swimming pool in easy walking distance and lots of scenic places to visit within 30 minute drive.

Room Tip: I would check my room before I paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, north carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

which you can walk too across the Highway. Rooms were large for Icleand, because as the other reviewers had noted it becomes a school in the fall. Breakfast buffet was standard. Dinner was, thankfully, not a buffet, and fairly decent. Close to the community gym and pool, but, you need to bring your own towel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irulan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugar
12.8 mi away
Hotel Laxa
Hotel Laxa
#1 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotel Reynihlid
Hotel Reynihlid
#2 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
14.2 mi away
Sel Hotel Myvatn
Sel Hotel Myvatn
#3 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Fosshotel Husavik
Fosshotel Husavik
#2 of 2 in Husavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondolfsstadir Farm Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Laugar Guesthouse
Laugar Guesthouse
#4 of 9 in Laugar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laugar

Property: Hotel Laugar
Address: Austurhildarvegur | Austurhlidarvegur, Laugar 650, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Laugar)
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Laugar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laugar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laugar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laugar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing