We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house. Beautiful setting. Perfect hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beacon Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Watersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Me, my uncle and my cousin travelled down south from near Manchester to ride "South Downs Epic" mountain bike event. We booked a night at Beacon Lodge which as it is conveniently located just a few miles form the course.

Arrived on a Saturday evening and were greeted by the owners Neil and Gloria, who immediately gave us a tour of our rooms. I was staying in a double room within the main house, which has it's own bathroom across the hall, and the others had use of the "family annex" which is an extension separate to the house with it's own en suite.

The house has a nice garden at the back with views out over the fields. As it was a warm evening we took the opportunity to sit out at the garden table with a drink and play with Neil and Glorias two friendly dogs. (Guests are allowed to bring dogs too if you like).

Both bedrooms were perfectly presented and clean and had facilities to make tea and coffee. The beds themselves were also comfortable so had a good nights sleep. We each had some bottled water and a KitKat in our rooms too which was a nice touch!

We were asked what time we would like breakfast the following morning and we requested half 7, as we had to be out on our bikes by half 8. I thought this may be a little early, but it they didn't seem to mind at all (sorry!).

Breakfast was very good. There was a selection of different cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt, cooked breakfast if you like, tea, fresh coffee and orange juice. We definitely didn't go hungry!

All in all it was an entirely pleasant stay and I definitely recommend this B&B to others. Neil and Gloria were the perfect hosts and are simply lovely people.

Laura, Nic and Sam
(the ones with all the bikes)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon_Lodge_BB, Owner at Beacon Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments. We enjoyed having you all to stay and are delighted you had a good time with us. We hope you will all come and visit us again. Best wishes, Neil and Gloria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in the annexe with lovely views out onto the garden and horse fields. Our hosts Neil and Gloria were welcoming of our family including Molly the dog. Nothing was too much trouble. They recommended some local walks including a walk from Sandy Lane which was perfect, local pubs including Labouring Man and the White Hart by the river, both did excellent food and dog friendly. The room was warm and comfortable. We ended up having full cooked breakfasts every morning as they were too good to resist-especially the sausages from the local farmshop. Its an ideal location for Arundel, the South Downs way is nearby and the coast is not far. Would not hesitate to come back here. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon_Lodge_BB, Owner at Beacon Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Beacon Lodge. Neil and I hope that we shall see you all again soon. Best wishes. Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

As we were travelling as a family (including the dog), places to stay which offer bed and breakfast but yet give you the freedom of being 'self contained' in your very own annexe are rather few and far between unless you go self catering in a cottage or caravan type holiday.
So after searching and finding Beacon Lodge offered exactly what we were looking for we promptly booked with them to stay three nights!
We loved the fact that we had privacy/space everything we could require for our stay.Even our dog had full use of the secure garden area which he loved and soon made friends with the owners two lovely dogs.
We ate breakfast in the dining room of the main house and have to say there was a good selection offering cereals/fruit juice/fresh fruit salad....BUT the cooked breakfast was in our opinion one of the best we have ever tasted!
This is no doubt down to the fact that local produce is used where possible (it shows) not forgetting the owners very own hens providing the fresh eggs.Excellent.
The only thing we may have found handy in the annexe would possibly be a small fridge, but this is the only thing really.
If we were visiting this area again we would certainly stay at Beacon Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at Beacon lodge after a local family wedding, and it was totally lovely, The double room in the annexe had lots of nice touches,.and we rather liked that it was seperate to the main house, giving privacy, our hosts were a charming couple, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was superb, a good selection...no Tescos value sausages here ! All good locally sourced produce, and fresh eggs from their own hens.All very english and quite delightful.We recommend this gem very highly.Many thanks..we'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocorose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Lovely rural view to the rear from the first floor annex (built above the garage), contrasting with the busy road immediately to the front which could be tricky to join in the mornings. There were lots of little extras in the room to make us feel welcome, but also a few notices on what not to do gave a rather negative impression. Breakfasts were nicely cooked with a good choice of cereals and stewed fruit for those who need a larger breakfast. One of the owners' dogs was very friendly and insistent, so wear clothes on which you don't mind gaining a few paw prints! Negotiating a lawn to gain access to the dining room for breakfast in the main house each morning is not a good idea in wet weather, and a path should be provided. Overall an enjoyable stay, though some room for improvement to bring it up to a more professional standard.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Martine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

we stayed here as an overnight stop off whilst cycling the south down way. they had secure lock up for our bikes which was great, and only two miles off the route and around the half way mark. we stayed in the annex to the main building, which had every thing that we needed. it had a single and a double, perfect as there was three of us with en suite. the room had plenty of tea/coffee, hot chocolate (even some cheeky little kit kat's which went down a treat). breakfast in the morning was fantastic, full choice of cereal plus toast, full English, tea/coffee and orange juice. all in all we couldn't have asked for anymore from the hosts, very very accommodating. would recommend for anyone doing the SDW

Room Tip: phone and speak to the hosts, as i did and found all questions and needs answered
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muddypies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2005

We stayed here for a weekend break, celebrating Rob's birthday and just taking the opportunity to get away from it all. The accommodation was beautifully maintained, private and very cosy.

Our host, Margaret ,was helpful and friendly, a professional and gracious landlady who serves a delicious breakfast as well.
Definately recommended if you are looking for a relaxing retreat, and at a very reasonable price too.

1  Thank mrsmuffinmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beacon Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Beacon Lodge London Road | Pulborough, West Sussex, Watersfield RH20 1NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Watersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Watersfield
Price Range: $106 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beacon Lodge. We are located in the heart of West Sussex within the new South Downs National Park. Petworth House is nearby and is a magnificent country house and park with an internationally important art collection, comprising numerous works by Turner.Our accommodation consists of a separate annexe adjacent to the main house – this is a large comfortable room with a double and a single bed. There is an en suite bathroom/shower. The room looks out over quiet open countryside. Pets are welcome in the annexe.In the main house we have a double room, with its own separate bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing