We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delabidated waste of money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cohunu Koala Park

Cohunu Koala Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Byford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hand feed free-roaming animals such as koalas, deer, kangaroos, dingoes and the many birds in the giant aviary.
France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delabidated waste of money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The place is falling apart & needs serious renovation.

$45 for entry for a family of 5 seemed very reasonable but then an additional $25 for one person to hold a koala and a further $20 for a ten minute train ride.

Owners are friendly but don't waste your money! No children under 7 allowed to hold the koalas and the train ride is similar to driving through a desert, grave yard. There are broken pieces of old dinosaur and scorpion models, empty exhibits and lots of weeds.

Took us nearly two hrs to get here & we left after an hour!

In comparison to Brisbane Lone Ine Koala Sanctuary it's an absolute dump!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    84
    39
    30
    54
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

A little confused with some of these reviews. Over all, if you would like a massively commercialised environment, ridiculous prices, and a cafe is over priced frozen food then go to Perth Zoo. But if you want an Aussie experience and want to get up close and personal with animals then go to Cohunu Wild Life Park. One of the highlights was getting followed around by an overfriendly emu, it's not everyday that happens! Very reasonable $15 for entry. Holding the koala for $25 is worth every penny. Take as long as you want and as many photos as you like. I think the comment about the cafe not being up to scratch and the staff not being helpful are ridiculous - if that's what you want then why don't you just go to dome cafe for the day? All in all a great day and we will be going back very soon. There is clearly work to do at the park which is a working progress however you won't find many other places in Perth where you can get that up close and personal with the animals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Luke41092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cohunu HAS MOVED to NETTLETON ROAD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Please note - THE PARK IS NO LONGER THERE THEY HAVE MOVED TO BYFORD. This address is just for the Black Cockatoo Rehabilitation (No Public Entry).

The old address was Mills Road East, Martin - new address is Nettleton Road, Byford.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helly_b_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mothers Day Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I visited on Mothers Day, it will be great some time in the future. Staff were obviously not trained or equipped to make visitors feel welcome and want to visit again and encourage others to visit. It was very disappointing that the building marked Fast Food etc doesn't open and we couldn't even get a cuppa tea or coffee let alone have a sandwich. We even witnessed people driving back into Byford to pick up some lunch then returning. The shop is not set up any where as attractive as the old place either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Small park - up close animal experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited Cohuna Wildlife Park as our youngest daughter was desperate to hold a koala and this was the only location which we could find where this was permitted. The entrance fee was AUD15 per head. The park is located in Byford and is quite far out from Perth / Fremantle. The park is relatively new and is still being developed so do not expect a hugely commercial operation. It is relatively small but the staff are enthusiastic and helpful. The park has an enclosure for kangaroos, wallabies and deer in which you can hand feed the animals. There are also enclosures for echidna, kookaburras, and parrots amongst others. There are some small ponies walking around the park. There is also a narrow gauge railway although it didn’t seem to be running on the day we were there. The koalas are in a covered enclosure. We paid AUD25 per head to have our photo taken holding the koala. It was a good experience and the staff member who assisted us did not rush us – there was plenty of time allowed for each of the family to hold the koala and finally we had a family photo together. A few other reviewers have commented on the bird droppings on the footpaths – yes, this is true but I guess this is a result of the birds roaming free. We don’t like attractions where the animals are mistreated and we didn’t witness any problems here. We would highly recommend it for getting close to the Australian animals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank HKDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cohunu Koala Park also viewed

South Perth, Perth
Western Australia, Australia
 
Rockingham, Greater Perth
 

Been to Cohunu Koala Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing