We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

Caversham Wildlife Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.83*
and up
Private Caversham and Swan Valley Day Trip from Perth
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Whiteman
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Northam, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

As a last minute gesture for our sons birthday Caversham Park loomed before us so we thought why not. We are from Perth but we had never been!!! Oh goodness we'll definitely be back!! Gorgeous setting, lovely people to deal with, from the lady at the front desk to the lady cleaning out the Finches/Black Cockatoo Cage absolutely beautifully polite and friendly people. I am disabled and cannot walk far at once, there are seats everywhere for you to take a rest and enjoy the beautiful atmosphere and surroundings :). The animals were happy and well fed, unlike other zoo's I have been too, you can SEE the difference with these animals :) Also the passion with the workers! My partner is now sending through to become a volunteer :) Thank you, beautiful day had by all!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    409
    60
    6
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

WA is one of the few states you can hold a koala so for that reason it might be worth a trip. Facilities are average and could do some work. A mixture of domestic animals and Australian native.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kangaroos & Koalas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great place to take overseas visitors and get up close & personal with our wildlife. Even I got excited been able to pat a koala. Quite accessable with a pram.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christie304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Left feeling very upset”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went early morning. We were the only one's (my 2 year old and I) feeding the kangaroo's.
I read all signs before entering. The Kangaroos' swarmed us, we threw food out to them. A staff member then come in a screamed at us for 'not following the signs - we are meant to hand feed them' he then called me stupid. This made me very upset and almost in tears. I re read all the signs on the way out. Still couldn't see anything about hand feeding them.
I emailed my complaint. 2 months later, after another 2 emails i received a generic email saying sorry and the staff member has been spoken with.
I feel this was not enough. I will not be going back any time soon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome *****”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

A lovely day out. Lots of kangaroos to pat and feed, including white ones. There are koalas in a walk through enclosure, which you can pat (!!) for free (!!) and a variety of other native animals in beautiful gardens. The walkways alone are quite lovely. There is also a farm setting, just awesome for children, where you pat and feed goats, rabbits, guinea pigs, a lama and the cutest baby buffalo ever. Go for a camel ride, look at horses and sheep or stay and watch the farm show, which demonstrates sheep shearing. The big shed houses a range of animals to get close to, including a python (you get to hold it) and quolls. My kids thought it was the best day ever (until the end, see below) and I was pleasantly surprised. Allow about 4 hours.

The only bad experience was buying the kids an ice cream as we were leaving. We needed to walk through the shop to exit the place and were promptly told we were not 'allowed' food in there. My 10 yr old son had not even opened his! That ended the day on a bad note, as the kids were allowed to choose something as a keepsake, then were effectively kicked out without being able to do so. Bad business sense and ruined an otherwise perfect day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank goodolmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caversham Wildlife Park also viewed

Whiteman, Swan Valley
South Perth, Perth
 

Been to Caversham Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing