We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After first day cycling the rail track, a spa awaited!”
Review of Pitches Store

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pitches Store
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The historic village of Ophir, also known as the coldest place in NZ!, was a welcome sight after a rather gruelling day on the rail track. The rooms are lovely, clean and tasteful and fitted out with gowns and slippers and a towel for the spa.
Colleen and her husband have taken on this old place and turned it into a 'must go' destination.
Dinner that night was of the highest quality and a feast for the eyes as well as the appetite. The dessert was the best ever!
Breakfast the next day was equally good.
Well done to Colleen and David for all their hard work and thank you for having us.

Room Tip: All the rooms were equally good as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you Sheila, it was a pleasure having you to stay and hoped it was just what you needed after your day on the trail.
All the best
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 125 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Decided at the last minute to go out for dinner and we weren't disappointed. Fantastic atmosphere and the food was delicious. Fish of the day was spot on, and my sister had the duck which also went down a treat. The staff were really friendly. I will definitely return. Highly recommended and worth the drive from Alexandra.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. Glad you had a great night, we are proud of what we do so thank you
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were a disparate party of three couples, all staying at Pitches Store for a wedding nearby. Yes, the accommodation was beautiful, but the star of the show was Colleen - the most wonderfully accommodating, patient, generous and solicitous host you could ever wish for. Thank you Colleen for your superb (and rare these days) hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you Sue for your review. It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay! I wish I could have joined the party!! Look forward to seeing you again one day.
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

In search of the perfect Pinot noir, and with some interest in the gold rush which helped populate the area, we recently stayed 2 nights at Pitches' Store. Colleen and David were most welcoming, providing home comforts, a wealth of local information, and artfully presented, delicious meals from their restaurant at the store. As well as the cycle trail and wine tasting, there is much to do in the area, including the local history museum in Alexandra, and the historic town of Clyde with its hydro electric dam. Returning from sightseeing, it was a delight to immerse ourselves in the hot tub under the stars at Pitches' Store. Dinners at the store, and breakfasts, feature as much local produce as possible, with most vegetables grown outside the back door. Colleen is a delightful hostess, completely focused on her guests' care and comfort. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you Vicki for your review, loved having you and Eric here and that you enjoyed our world!
Hope your stay in Wanaka and Queenstown was as enjoyable. Best for a good year Colleen and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Pitches was a wonderful place to stay after completing our first day of cycling the Otago Rail Trail. Nothing was too much trouble for Colleen and David who made us feel very welcome. The food was superb, the rooms were beautifully decorated and the spa pool was enjoyed by all of us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

It was a pleasure to have you to stay and glad you enjoyed your night with us. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Tucked away in Ophir, Central Otago, Pitches Store was a hive of activity in a restored character building. Friendly and helpful staff as well as tidy spacious character rooms and a fantastic restaurant down below with one of the best meals we had eaten in ages.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the spacious Isabella room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you Anna it was lovely to meet you all and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope youhad fun at the races!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived in the exquisite historic town of Ophir after cycling 39 km from Clyde and finished the day at our pre-booked accommodation venue located in the Main Street of Ophir.The building is over 130 years old and has been lovingly converted by Colleen and David Hurd into upmarket , 4 star , 6 bedroom boutique accommodation with a great restaurant . The beds are all king size and very comfortable and the room is quiet.The restaurant food was superb - I had duck breast with pineapple filo parcels/ginger chutney/book choy/pommes dauphine/sezchuan pepper sauce- cooked to perfection and tasted sensational - followed by an equally delightful coconut rice pudding. There were no complaints from anyone else at the table.The wine list was made up of some excellent central Otago wines - we sampled a local Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir - both excellent. Pitches Store has been tastefully restored - it has a certain je ne sais quoi - it exudes a taste of France tinged with a large dollop of rustic central Otago.
I highly recommend a stay at Pitches Store.

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PADOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

It was our pleasure to have you stay and pleased you enjoy your experience with us.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and wish you a relaxing festive season.

Colleen and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pitches Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitches Store

Address: 45 Swindon St, Ophir 9352, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Ophir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ophir
Price Range: $189 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pitches Store 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitches Store is a restored heritage building in historic Ophir, one of the few remaining goldmining towns from the gold rush times. We have luxury bed and breakfast accommodation of 6 king ensuited rooms with crisp cotton bedlinen, mohair throws, luxury towels, robes, slippers and Nellie Tier toiletries. A spa is available for guests to relax in. We also have a restaurant open for daytime and evening meals with indoor and outdoor dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pitches Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing