We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pitches Store- sounds interesting and does not disappoint.”
Review of Pitches Store

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pitches Store
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pitches Store- sounds interesting and does not disappoint.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived in the exquisite historic town of Ophir after cycling 39 km from Clyde and finished the day at our pre-booked accommodation venue located in the Main Street of Ophir.The building is over 130 years old and has been lovingly converted by Colleen and David Hurd into upmarket , 4 star , 6 bedroom boutique accommodation with a great restaurant . The beds are all king size and very comfortable and the room is quiet.The restaurant food was superb - I had duck breast with pineapple filo parcels/ginger chutney/book choy/pommes dauphine/sezchuan pepper sauce- cooked to perfection and tasted sensational - followed by an equally delightful coconut rice pudding. There were no complaints from anyone else at the table.The wine list was made up of some excellent central Otago wines - we sampled a local Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir - both excellent. Pitches Store has been tastefully restored - it has a certain je ne sais quoi - it exudes a taste of France tinged with a large dollop of rustic central Otago.
I highly recommend a stay at Pitches Store.

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PADOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay and pleased you enjoy your experience with us.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and wish you a relaxing festive season.

Colleen and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    19
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pitches Store was such a surprise in this part of the country. 6 of us cycling the rail trail stayed here in the most perfect rooms. The food was divine and Colleen was the best host. We enjoyed a spa after the cycling and then had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We were all more than happy with our rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
It was nice having you to stay Carolyn and great that you enjoyed your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

we were so pleased with our stay at pitches store. we used to base ourselves in danseys pass or naseby for our monthly trips to hike and play in central, until we had a lunch at pitches and decided to book a sleepover. there is no where else in central, perhaps in the South Island, that we have found that offers such hospitality and comfort in such a low key atmosphere. this isn't a lodge or lake side luxury boutique hotel, but the food, the bedsheets and the service are right up there with the best. the difference here is that it also feels like home. thank you, Colleen, for giving us somewhere wonderful to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauradavidgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen H, Owner at Pitches Store, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you Laura, David and Grace we loved having you to stay and we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to catching up again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Colleen - your place is just spectacular! The rooms are perfect, the food to-die-for, the service infallible and the spa is the perfect way to relax after a long day on the trail. Thank you for making my birthday trip with my darling mother on the rail trail unforgettable. You are full of laughter - so thanks for a perfect night and I am sure we will be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jimbob1NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a great boutique experience. Lovely rooms, great dining and friendly hosts. Clean and generous from bathroom toiletries through to delicious breakfast. Highly recommended. The Spa at then end of the first day biking the trail, very relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wgtn_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed the night here in April 2013 as part of our Otago Rail Trail adventure. Although Ophir is a short ride away from the trail, it is a place well worth visiting. The same can be said for Pitches Store. The photos don't do it justice. We experienced excellent laid back service, a relaxing spa, wonderful meal and a relaxing nights sleep. The breakfast was brilliant (birchler muesli, preserved fruit ...) - shame to leave really but the trail was calling

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have direct access to the courtyard and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjdmwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our one night stay at Pitches Store was absolute bliss after cycling the Rail Trail. Luxurious accommodation, excellent food and wonderful attentive hosts in Colleen and David. I had their signature dish for dinner, 'merino lamb' which was wonderful. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a great night's sleep and were further restored by a magnificent breakfast before, sadly, having to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ophir
20.1 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
264 reviews
15.0 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
0.3 mi away
Blacks Hotel
Blacks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ophir
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Hawkdun Lodge
Hawkdun Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ranfurly
85 reviews
21.4 mi away
Burn Cottage Retreat
Burn Cottage Retreat
#2 of 10 in Cromwell
89 reviews
17.6 mi away
Marchburn
Marchburn
#1 of 3 in Oturehua
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitches Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitches Store

Property: Pitches Store
Address: 45 Swindon St, Ophir 9352, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Ophir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ophir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pitches Store 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitches Store is a restored heritage building in historic Ophir, one of the few remaining goldmining towns from the gold rush times. We have luxury bed and breakfast accommodation of 6 king ensuited rooms with crisp cotton bedlinen, mohair throws, luxury towels, robes, slippers and Nellie Tier toiletries. A spa is available for guests to relax in. We also have a restaurant open for daytime and evening meals with indoor and outdoor dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pitches Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing