We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what an unexpected surprise”
Review of Pitches Store

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pitches Store
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Yes,we fell upon this great place. Located in the middle of nowhere between Dunedin and Queenstown - or out of Omakau to be precise - lies an upmarket trendy cafe with the best soup I've had in a long time. Couple this with good old fashioned welcome conversation and Pitches Store is somewhere to visit for a coffee or a meal on your travels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwisWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 126 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a fabulous lunch here on our first day of biking the Rail Trail. Well worth the 2km detour from Omakau. The setting was gorgeous, and the outdoor courtyard had welcome shade on a hot Central day. An extensive lunch menu, fabulous choices and beautifully presented. Our hostess was friendly, helpful and willing to spend time to chat and fill us in on the history of Pitches Store. Well done to the owners. A must stop. Rode to the end of town to see the red suspension bridge before continuing on the trail. What a gem!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We didn't stay here, just had dinner, and it was excellent. Reading other reviews, I wish we'd had lamb, but the fish and pasta of the day were excellent. There is also a really good children's menu that both my boys (11 and 9) enjoyed).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jenniferpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had dinner at the restaurant at Pitches Store in early January and it was a wonderful. We were staying nearby in Omakau doing the Otago Rail Trail cycle and wanted a special meal to celebrate a birthday. David (the owner of Pitches) kindly arranged to drive us to and from Omakau to Ophir for dinner as we did not have a car, which was very generous of him. The food and interior design of the recently refurbished building were both fabulous. We had their signature lamb dish and one son announced it the best lamb he had eaten in NZ. Highly recommended. Next time, we will stay in their accommodation. Ophir is a beautiful little town and well worth the detour from the rail trail.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank DeepNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

On a two day rail trail adventure in Central Otago we stayed at this lovely B & B. The store has been renovated so tastefully (check out the wall paper in the dining room !) and it is a lovely mix of old and new and really shows the history of the place. You can tell Colleen and David, the hosts and owners, have a passion for this place and region. They couldn't have been more helpful even taking us up trail and dropping us off so we could ride down hill and also accommodating our bought cheese in their fridge and fitting us in for an extra dinner when we realised that there was very little other choice of the same quality as theirs in the region. The meals were fantastic with fresh local ingredients and very good combination of flavours. My husband is an ex chef and hard to impress. The continental breakfast was good with a nice home made muesli and conserves, but a cooked options would have been good. There was a little confusion at times with no real reception for the accommodation and the breakfast room being a bit of a combo room rather than for the accommodation alone as usual. But all the staff were responsive and friendly when approached. We wish the owners all the best with the accommodation and restaurant and will try to get back up if we can find a babysitter for the 2 year old again :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Isabella room which had a fan which helped when it got hot as there was no air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARCAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This boutique hotel and restaurant features 6 luxurious king size bedrooms with ensuites and also offers the best dining experience in the region. The food includes meat and vegetables grown locally as well as homemade treats like meringues with clotted cream and lemon curd.
The renovation of the old Pitches Store and butchery is tastefully done yet it retains the feel of the building from days gone by.
The best part of the experience is the hospitality offered by Colleen and David which gets better each time we visit!
Make sure you take the detour from Omakau, off the Otago Rail Trail and experience this little gem.

Room Tip: If you are on the rail trail there is a guest spa which is essential after a hard day's riding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

In a lovely old gold mining village which holds the record for the lowest temperature in the country is a very new renovation of a historic building which has given the area some excellent rooms at an excellent price point, backed up by a very good restaurant and service. Well worth dropping in if you are on the Rail Trail or even if you are not!

I have a business interest in this property as in my capacity as a professional travel designer I book it for my clients.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Michel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pitches Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitches Store

Address: 45 Swindon St, Ophir 9352, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Ophir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ophir
Price Range: $189 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pitches Store 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitches Store is a restored heritage building in historic Ophir, one of the few remaining goldmining towns from the gold rush times. We have luxury bed and breakfast accommodation of 6 king ensuited rooms with crisp cotton bedlinen, mohair throws, luxury towels, robes, slippers and Nellie Tier toiletries. A spa is available for guests to relax in. We also have a restaurant open for daytime and evening meals with indoor and outdoor dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pitches Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing