We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome to Malta”
Review of Villa Del Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Del Porto
Ranked #1 of 2 Kalkara B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great welcome to Malta”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Near enough to the action but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing, the clean, comfortable and characterful rooms have really fantastic views across Kalkara harbour and Aldo and his family provide a very warm welcome and all the help you need to enjoy your stay. We've stayed here on both our trips to Malta and love it. Also very good value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    53
    20
    16
    6
See reviews for
9
77
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jimena de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Kalkara is a typical Maltese Town across the Grand Harbour from Valleta. an ideal location for a relaxing stay in Malta. If you are looking for night life and a large choice of bars and restaurants this is not the place for you. our room 102 had a windowed balcony that overlooked Kalkara bay a double bed, small ensuite with shower, TV, kettle and small, though not very efficient fridge. The breakfast in Continental style, juice, bread with toaster, and a selection of toppings, cerals, yoghurts and fruit. We did not hire a car and as we were arriving late Aldo the owner arranged transport to pick us up from the Airport for 9€ each. This was the man from the local garage so the transfer was just for us and direct. The local buses stop just along the road, the arrivals are rather erratic but one does come eventually. Note that on the return trip the bus goes around the back of the town first so we found it easier and quicker to get off at Riche, which is before the Arch into Kalakara, this also gives the option of using the No 2 Birgu bus. We bought a 7 day ticket 12€ each and went all over the island, well worth the money. Note there are loads of connections to places from Paola including the airport, so not always necessary to go into Valletta. Most nights we ate at the Kalkara Regatta, just across the road and down the quayside. Reasonable prices and a complimentary plate of local snacks while you wait for your food. In October it was only open for dinner Wednesday to Sunday. Alternative is Supernova which is next to the church, food was good but sitting outside by the road was not very pleasant.. Despite the noisy road we.would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have the views but have noise from the road all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PnellyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Villa del Porto is located in Kalkara, one of the three cities close to Valletta. The guest house/bed and breakfast is situated on the seaside of Kalkara with an amazing view from the front rooms. We rented a car from the airport and it was quite easy to reach it. The location, with free park, is perfect if you want to explore the island. The room was clean and equipped with AC, flat TV, telephone, mini bar, massive shower, safe and very comfortable bed. Breakfast is limited but considering the very affordable price is more than enough. Free WIFI is also available. Restaurants and bar are available just down the road. Special thanks to Aldo and all the staff at reception and breakfast.

Room Tip: Front room to enjoy the view if you don't mind some noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FraFra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Waterfront small hotel that faces the Three Cities located on Valletta's Grand Harbour. Villa del Porto has a great roof terrace and decent breakfast. The hotel owner is very welcoming and helpful. It is a short stroll to the bus stop that connects Kalkara with Valletta bus station and during the day buses run every 30 minutes. Night time bus connections are more of a problem, but there is free parking outside the hotel. It is only a short walk to Birgu where there are excellent habour-side restaurants and musuems. My only criticism was that our room with twin beds was very small, and in fact the beds took up most of the room. The shower wall attachment was also missing, but this was a minor inconvenience. All in all, good value for money with friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed with my husband at V del P for 4 nights on our first visit to Malta. It has only been opened a few months after a thorough renovation. Kalkara is a side harbour to the Grand Harbour in Valetta and has fabulous views and a great community feel. Good bus service to town and a great local restaurant where food is great and prices unbelieveable!
Aldo at V del P really knows the accommodation game and his service and attention to detail were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent 1 night here on our return journey from Sicily. It was a really pleasant surprise as we had expected a 'cheap and cheerful' hotel but instead got a lovely old Maltese house in a scenic location. Aldo, the owner, made us very welcome and is rightly pround of his hotel. Our room on the 3rd floor had a fabulous harbour view and was functional - the bathroom was newly decorated with a good power shower. The air conditioning was great and the shutters on the wndows blocked out all the light. Breakfast was good - toast, cheese, ham, fruit, hot drinks, joiuces and cereals. We discovered the fantastic roof terrace: great views, breezy, sun and shade with sunbeds available. The area is very unspoilt and would be a great base to tour Malta from. Would stay in this area and at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelineroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A lovely surprise arriving in Kalkara. A very central location, a hop across from Valletta. Totally unspoilt and quiet. The accommodation itself is great, a spacious room with a view on the third floor. Aldo, the owner is very friendly to offer any advice, and certainly made this a very enjoyable stay. I confirm that the pastizzi down the road are excellent!!

Room Tip: Third floor room with a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stéphane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalkara
1.3 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,772 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
2.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Porto

Property: Villa Del Porto
Address: Marina Street 1, Kalkara, Island of Malta KKR 1521, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Kalkara
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kalkara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Del Porto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself at our newly opened Boutique Guesthouse. With us, you will enjoy the tradition, history and stories of the village of Kalkara. Kalkara is a fishing village in the south of Malta forming part of the picturesque Grand Harbour. Villa del Porto is situated overlooking Kalkara Port, offering genuine warm comfort in truly historic surroundings. The property was first built over 100 years ago and has recently been restored. Villa Del Porto is a relaxing retreat in the heart of Malta easily accessible to all major attractions. All rooms are equipped with all present commodities including cooling and heating air conditioning, mini bar, in-room digital safe, hair drying facility, LCD cable TV, private bath or shower and laundry service. Whilst enjoying ample public car park space, when staying at Villa del Porto, one can hire a car and discover all hidden treasures of the Maltese Islands at leisure. However, for those who would opt for a tour by public bus, the stop is just 50 metres away. Sandy beach, Pharmacy, Bank, Historic sites, Museums, and tennis courts are also situated close by. Cross the Grand Harbour on the traditional Maltese boat and discover Valletta - Malta's Capital City and Unesco's World Heritage Site. Over here one must visit the famous St. John's Cathedral and other places of interest. Valletta is also popular for designer shops and cafes. And for those who would like to enjoy a relaxing holiday, a stroll on the Kalkara Promenade and Vittoriosa Waterfront whilst enjoying a choice of top restaurants, bars and a Casino is definitely not worth a miss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Del Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Porto Malta/Kalkara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing