We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MADE MEMORABLE BY THE VOLUNTEER SOLDIERS”
Review of Fort Rinella

Fort Rinella
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.54*
and up
Fort Rinella Tour with Transport
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Kalkara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fort Rinella in Kalkara,was built in 1878. This fort is not only a unique remnant of Malta's recent British colonial past, but it is also the world's first mechanical fort which enabled its small garrison to fire a monstrous 100-ton gun every six minutes. To be able to do this, the fort was equipped with a novel steam-driven hydraulic set-up that enabled the gun to traverse and depress and its ammunition to be hoisted and loaded mechanically. On visiting this fort in 1889, the great French writer Jules Verne described it as a marvel of the industrial age which would render Malta safe for ever. Some say that this is the place from where he got the idea of writing his famous novel a 'Voyage to the Moon', where a man is stuffed into a large projectile and fired from a large gun onto the moon!Originally, the 100-ton gun was built by Sir William George Armstrong of Newcastle in 1878, to equip a new class of Italian battleships - the Duilio class. This caused a serious stir between Britain and Italy which led to the former to obtain examples of the same gun to secure Malta and Gibraltar against a potential Italian seaborne attack.The Armstrong 100-ton gun has a calibre of 17.72-Inches (45cm). It is 35 feet long and has an overall weight of 156 tons making it the world's largest muzzle-loading cannon ever built. It used a quarter of a ton of gun powder to propel its monster shells up to a maximum range of eight miles. At that range it could pierce anything up to 21-inches of ship armour! The gun at Fort Rinella and another at Napier of Magdala Battery in Gibraltar are the sole surving examples today. The fort has recently undergone extensive restoration and improvement. A new 20-minute audio-visual outlining the history of the fort and its gun has also been added and is included in all guided tours.RE-Live History at Fort Rinella - Every afternoon from Monday to Saturday!Throughout the year, from Monday to Saturday at 14.00Hrs sharp, Fort Rinella is brought back to life complete with late 19th century Victorian soldiers who will take visitors on an animated tour around the fort. This tour combines excellent guiding with live and colourful historical re-enacting including military signalling, firing of rifles, bayonet practice, military cooking and more. Much use of original period equipment and weapons is made throughout this tour. All this goes to provide an enjoyable and long lasting experience to visitors.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I knew this was a small Victorian fort with a huge gun and I expected to be there an hour or so. I was there over four hours and was captivated by the amazing enthusiasm and knowledge of the "soldiers" who were on duty. We had a history and demonstration of muskets and rifles, drill, bayonet practise, horse-mounted lance drills and tent-pegging....and I got to fire a muzzle loading howitzer for a donation to fort funds. Oh, and the 100 ton gun is awesome, but they only fire that on special occasions. Great fun and very informative.

1  Thank Jerry1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you Jerry1953.
Hopefully if you can spread the word through your friends as well, if they are coming to Malta, or to whoever you know that may come to this lovely island, we can get more promotion of Fort Rinella and keep Fort Rinella as the best tourist attraction in the whole country, raising more founds and one day we will be able to have the 100-ton gun working as it used to be in the last part of the 19th Century.

Xulio Vazquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ton gun"
in 145 reviews
"re enactments"
in 46 reviews
"guided tour"
in 73 reviews
"big gun"
in 26 reviews
"number bus"
in 27 reviews
"victorian times"
in 17 reviews
"victorian era"
in 15 reviews
"small fee"
in 34 reviews
"military history"
in 40 reviews
"live firing"
in 11 reviews
"british army"
in 18 reviews
"martini henry rifle"
in 54 reviews
"living history"
in 26 reviews
"muzzle loading"
in 24 reviews
"dressed in period"
in 10 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 16 reviews
"working order"
in 9 reviews
Filter

680 - 684 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Superb presentation on the weapons and drills of the Victorian Era soldiers (infantry, lancer, artillery) in historical uniforms. The size of the 100-Ton Gun is amazing. If you would like, you can also shoot a historic rifle for some euros. It's not enough to see Fort Rinella on pictures or videos, you have to hear the sounds and feel the atmosphere. Visiting Fort Rinella recommended for everyone interested in military history.

Thank BVL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Maraketing Manager at FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you BVL27.
We believe that we can offer a really good experience for every kind of visitors, as we are not only a military museum, we a re a Live Museum showing not only military stuff, but also the life conditions for that period and giving a completely ''Hands on Heritage'' experience at Fort Rinella.
Thank you for saying that is not the same on pictures than coming into Fort Rinella, obviusly you did enjoy the visit.

Xulio Vazquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

You need about 4 hours and not a minute is wasted. If you like military history this visit is an absolute must. Robert and his garrison put on a totally convincing performance. The fort is a little tricky to get to, however, as it is too far to walk and cost 20 Euros by Taxi. On the day we went the bus did not turn up for the outward journey but was OK for the return.

1  Thank JohnEbbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Marketing Manager at FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you JohnEbbs.
Sometimes we do have problems with the buses, but obviously is something we cannot control.
The full animated tour takes 2 hours from 2 p.m. until 4 or 4.15 p.m. but as you just mentioned it can take whatever you want, we will keep you busy with audioguides and other re-enactments during the morning, like sword or signalling displays.

Xulio Vazquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

After visiting the Saluting Battery at Valletta [well worth a visit], Fort Rinella was recommended as a "sister" attraction which we couldn't wait to visit. And we were not disappointed! We arrived at around 1.30 pm thinking there would be a small area to look around before the 2pm display which was mentioned on the leaflet. We now wish we had started earlier in the day as there was so much to see and do. The other visitors who had been there from the morning told us of the sword display and we were lucky enough to enjoy a gun firing display, horse display and marching display as well as learning of what life was like as a soldier many years ago. The interaction was brilliant, especially on entering the fort with the "Halt, who goes there! Friend or Foe?" - the young boy had a voice much bigger than himself! The volunteers were fantastic - I apologise for not knowing all the names but those I remember were Robert, Anton and Gabriel. Their knowledge, passion and enthusiasm was addictive and we truly felt we had stepped back in time. There were only a handful of us during the visit, but each display was carried out with full attention to detail as if there were hundreds in the crowd, We felt sad for the team at their very small audience, but if they were disappointed they certainly didn't show it. The humour was brilliant, especially Anton [who reminded me of Tony Robinson as Baldrick in Blackadder] and the camaraderie of the team was genuine. I cannot recommend this attraction highly enough and look forward to visiting again in the future. If any of the team read this then may I say a huge Thank You for making our visit to Malta a wonderful experience. We truly hope you reach your £350,000 target to enable the 100 ton gun to be fully operational - this would truly be a magical sight. Keep up the fantastic work!

1  Thank Fiona1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Manager at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you Fiona1405.
Everybody at Fort Rinella employees and volunteers want to do their best everyday and try to bring more tourists into this fantastic piece of History we have got in trust.
Hopefully with humor we can introduce better the rich Cultural Heritage the Maltese islands have. We try everyday to give you a complete experience, interesting, informative and entertaining at the same time, because we believe the History is there not only to be seen, heard or read, it is also to enjoy it, and learn better about it while enjoying the experience.
I will personally tell to Antoine, RObert, Gabriel and the others about this comment, but even if I am the one replying to the comments, I can tell you that they are always having a look through TripAdvisor and seeing the good feed-back we are having from you almost everyday.
Thank you, and make sure that you are coming again back on May for the 100-ton gun firing and the big event we are always preparing and doing every year.

Xulio Vazquez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is not just for those who like guns but anyone who is interested in history, industrial and military archeology and even horses. Not only is the 100 tonne gun an amazing beast, in its day you had to get everyone in a 3 mile radius to open their windows to save them being shattered, it could be heard in Sicily and most of Valletta turned out to see its 3 monthly firing practice it was so awesome. The enthusiastic volunteers have actually got it to fire and if they restore its amazing steam loading and operating, which I'm sure they will, it will be one of the wonders of the world. As it is you get a great presentation on drill, the life of soldiers, firing howitzers, the history of the development of rifles from the earliest musket, to the rifles used in the Zulu wars all working examples, and you can have a go for 5 euros. The well informed volunteers can also discuss everything from the earliest breech loader Rockes Drift. Go around 12 stroll around, have some lunch, stroke the regimental cat then put aside a couple of hours for a truly entertaining and informative display at 2 pm. You will never get better value.

Thank Lincsimp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Manager at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you very much Lincsimp57
All the employees and volunteers at Fort Rinella are working really hard everyday, for the preparation of a good re-enactment starting at 2 p.m., but also as you said, we do have more displays running during the morning, like the sword or the signalling displays.
Our lovely cat Oompah, also does her job, trying to get busy the tourists but mind your food at lunch time, as she wants her prize after doing her job.

Xulio Vazquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Rinella also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Fort Rinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing