We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort Rinella - an objective that should not be missed!”
Review of Fort Rinella

Fort Rinella
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.17*
and up
Fort Rinella Tour from Luqa
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Kalkara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fort Rinella in Kalkara,was built in 1878. This fort is not only a unique remnant of Malta's recent British colonial past, but it is also the world's first mechanical fort which enabled its small garrison to fire a monstrous 100-ton gun every six minutes. To be able to do this, the fort was equipped with a novel steam-driven hydraulic set-up that enabled the gun to traverse and depress and its ammunition to be hoisted and loaded mechanically. On visiting this fort in 1889, the great French writer Jules Verne described it as a marvel of the industrial age which would render Malta safe for ever. Some say that this is the place from where he got the idea of writing his famous novel a 'Voyage to the Moon', where a man is stuffed into a large projectile and fired from a large gun onto the moon!Originally, the 100-ton gun was built by Sir William George Armstrong of Newcastle in 1878, to equip a new class of Italian battleships - the Duilio class. This caused a serious stir between Britain and Italy which led to the former to obtain examples of the same gun to secure Malta and Gibraltar against a potential Italian seaborne attack.The Armstrong 100-ton gun has a calibre of 17.72-Inches (45cm). It is 35 feet long and has an overall weight of 156 tons making it the world's largest muzzle-loading cannon ever built. It used a quarter of a ton of gun powder to propel its monster shells up to a maximum range of eight miles. At that range it could pierce anything up to 21-inches of ship armour! The gun at Fort Rinella and another at Napier of Magdala Battery in Gibraltar are the sole surving examples today. The fort has recently undergone extensive restoration and improvement. A new 20-minute audio-visual outlining the history of the fort and its gun has also been added and is included in all guided tours.RE-Live History at Fort Rinella - Every afternoon from Monday to Saturday!Throughout the year, from Monday to Saturday at 14.00Hrs sharp, Fort Rinella is brought back to life complete with late 19th century Victorian soldiers who will take visitors on an animated tour around the fort. This tour combines excellent guiding with live and colourful historical re-enacting including military signalling, firing of rifles, bayonet practice, military cooking and more. Much use of original period equipment and weapons is made throughout this tour. All this goes to provide an enjoyable and long lasting experience to visitors.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I figured visit to Fort Rinella somewhere in half an hour and then back on the road. Surprisingly was more than 2 hours full of action and history. And for those interested in history is an attraction that can not be missed. 10 with congratulations to all the boys who keep alive the military tradition in the early twentieth century.

P.S. For those interested, on May 4, 2014 the 100 ton gun will shoot. Do not miss this opportunity if you will find in Malta at the time. Next firing will be in 2015.

Thank Marius P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of the FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you Marius P P
People must know they can spend here the whole day, we do re-enactments from the morning leaving free time for walking around the fort on your own, and also starting the full animated tour at 2 pm. A two hours tour ful of different historical recreations keeping the tourists entertained and busy.
We are firing the 100-ton gun every year the 5th of May or the closest sunday. As you said, next firing will be 4th May with a big event envolving more re-enactments than an usual day, and also it is an open day, meaning the entrance fee is cheaper. If you have the chance you don't want to miss this.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of the FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

722 - 726 of 961 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

What an amazing place! You begin in the front yard with a weapons demonstration then enter have to call out your friendly status in order to enter the fort. The restoration was impressive...along with the authentic uniforms. Our guide was superb - able to answer detailed questions in several languages. The largest cannon was a real treat! A must-see!!

Thank PhotoGalVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of the FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you PhotoGalVA
If you come back to Malta again don't forget to buy your FWA multi-site ticket, giving you access to even more history, from tge times of the knights of Saint John at the Saluting Battery, victorian times with Fort Rinella if you want to come back for another good day, and IIWW with the Malta at War and Lascaris War Rooms abd even the Cold War with this last one.
As you can see we do have lots of history more to show you.

Xulio Vázquez
Custodian and guide of the FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This has become a regular for me, if only to see how far the restoration is going. It is great to see that the money raised is being used so effectively in restoring this magnificent fort to its former glory and at the same time providing wonderful entertainment.
Most museums and historic sites have collections of artifacts and documents, with possibly a commentary or tour. At Fort Rinella, everything is demonstrated.
If watching is not enough, you can participate by firing a 140 year old rifle or a Howitzer cannon.
I am hoping to make a visit in May next year to see the 100 ton gun fired.
I took my grandaughter (12) for the first time - she said it was the best day of the holiday.

Thank 33grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custidian and guide of the FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you 33grumpy
Thanks for coming so many times. As you can see every year we are improving a bit more, slowly, step by step but really sure about what we do, with re-enactments and restoration works. It is good to know you are introducing your grandaughter as well. Hopefully we will see both of you for the 4th may 2014, with the firing of the 100-ton gun

Xulio Vázquez
Custodian and guide of the FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited this with our 10 yr old son , and had a great experience , highlighted by the enthusiasm , knowledge and professional attitude shown by all the staff . A must do while in Malta !

Thank nicolaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of the FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Merci beaucoup nicolaFrance
It is a pleasure when any kid is happy and enjoying what we do in here. It is one of our missions, try to show History to the new generations, hopefully they can know what happened and they can choose between repeating mistakes of the past or do things better. We try to put the balance heavier on the second option.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of the FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I visited this site over 10 years ago and was impressed then. I went back this year and it's even better, as they've added demonstrations of foot drill, sabre practice, musketry, mounted infantry and cannon firing (not the 100 ton gun!).

The team running the site are all volunteers, and came from the UK, Belgium, Spain, Italy and Malta, so it was a real international effort. Their presentation on the fort and the life of Victorian soldiers was informative but with a touch of humour, and they offered the chance to have a go with the rifles (firing blanks!) and the 8-inch howitzer for a small additional fee. There was also a demonstration of tent-pegging, a fast-paced sport on horseback, and a guided tour of the fort.

They also run the gift shop and the small café, so between them are kept very busy.

I'm pretty familiar with historical interpretation in the UK and have seen some good performances, but the combination of what these guys do, the setting they do it in and the fact that it is done every day except Mondays is remarkable. This continues to be the best site of its kind I have seen, and I just wish I could be at the fort in May, when they fire the 100 ton gun.

Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of the FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you Ian W.
We are a mixture of volunteers and employees, with this we are able to show you all the activities we arevoffering and at the same time, keep going with the restoration works of the Fort.
We are very glad of being the best attraction of its kind you've ever visited.
This kind of comments are giving us a reason more to keep going and improving everyday.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of the FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Rinella also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Fort Rinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing