We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back into history”
Review of Fort Rinella

Fort Rinella
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.36*
and up
Fort Rinella Tour from Luqa
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Kalkara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fort Rinella in Kalkara,was built in 1878. This fort is not only a unique remnant of Malta's recent British colonial past, but it is also the world's first mechanical fort which enabled its small garrison to fire a monstrous 100-ton gun every six minutes. To be able to do this, the fort was equipped with a novel steam-driven hydraulic set-up that enabled the gun to traverse and depress and its ammunition to be hoisted and loaded mechanically. On visiting this fort in 1889, the great French writer Jules Verne described it as a marvel of the industrial age which would render Malta safe for ever. Some say that this is the place from where he got the idea of writing his famous novel a 'Voyage to the Moon', where a man is stuffed into a large projectile and fired from a large gun onto the moon!Originally, the 100-ton gun was built by Sir William George Armstrong of Newcastle in 1878, to equip a new class of Italian battleships - the Duilio class. This caused a serious stir between Britain and Italy which led to the former to obtain examples of the same gun to secure Malta and Gibraltar against a potential Italian seaborne attack.The Armstrong 100-ton gun has a calibre of 17.72-Inches (45cm). It is 35 feet long and has an overall weight of 156 tons making it the world's largest muzzle-loading cannon ever built. It used a quarter of a ton of gun powder to propel its monster shells up to a maximum range of eight miles. At that range it could pierce anything up to 21-inches of ship armour! The gun at Fort Rinella and another at Napier of Magdala Battery in Gibraltar are the sole surving examples today. The fort has recently undergone extensive restoration and improvement. A new 20-minute audio-visual outlining the history of the fort and its gun has also been added and is included in all guided tours.RE-Live History at Fort Rinella - Every afternoon from Monday to Saturday!Throughout the year, from Monday to Saturday at 14.00Hrs sharp, Fort Rinella is brought back to life complete with late 19th century Victorian soldiers who will take visitors on an animated tour around the fort. This tour combines excellent guiding with live and colourful historical re-enacting including military signalling, firing of rifles, bayonet practice, military cooking and more. Much use of original period equipment and weapons is made throughout this tour. All this goes to provide an enjoyable and long lasting experience to visitors.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Fort Rinella is a landmark. It is not just a renovated fort, you can also breath history. You can also take part in the re-exactements. The Fort is run by 5 very passionate youngsters who guide you with enthousiasm through the history of the building.

1  Thank Alaenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide in Fort Rinella at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thanks for appreciating our dedication. We really enjoy what we are doing.
See you next time you come back to Malta.
Don't forget in a couple of years, maybe, the gun will be in movement again and firing more than once a year.
Best regards.
Xulio
Custodian and guide in Fort Rinella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

835 - 839 of 982 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Wow Wow Wow ! I absolutely loved the Fort. And to know a fellow Brit ( Sir George Armstrong ) designed and built the 100 ton gun makes me very proud. Travelled all the way from Scotland with the sole intention of going to see this very important part of Malta's heritage. And i will tell you, it was well worth it. The volunteers/guides were really passionate about taking us back in time to show us foot drills, musketry demonstrations and my other half was even given the chance to fire a cannon they have there called a " Howitzer". I couldn't shut her up on the bus back to where we were staying. She loved it hahaha. From entering the fort we were made very welcome and they gave us a flyer which listed other sites this NGO ( which is called FWA) maintain the upkeep of. Tomorrow me and the wife are going to Lascaris war rooms in the afternoon, after we have been to see the noon day gun at the saluting battery. We cant wait. Will end it there as the wife is nagging me to take her for dinner. So, if you are in Malta going to see the 100 Ton Gun is a must. Us scots have a reputation for being tight with our cash but this was money well spent and when we get home we have some great pictures and videos to show our friends and family. who i know will be jealous. a huge thankyou to all the staff at the Fort who have the passion and drive to keep this part of malta's history alive. big thumbs up and all the best for the future. ps thanks for letting me shoot the martini henry rifle i felt like i was part of rourkes drift hahaha..... We love MALTA

Thank Jock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you Jock M for your vote and review
It is really good seeing people enjoying so much our Heritage and our sites.
We are here trying to promote all the Heritage we have in a different mode than the others, for this reason, we are the only one museum in Malta with live re-enactments everyday, except on Monday, when we are closed, passing through different periods, like with the musketry display, starting in the 15th century utill the 19th, and also we have more re-enactments as you have mentioned.
Also, for this year, we are including some more with different periods like the reinassance, and we are having special events the whole year, with the best one on the 5th of May weekend, finishing with the firing of the 100-ton Gun on Sunday, and some surprises around it.
If you have enjoyed the Fort, and the gun, and you came with the intention of visiting us, please fell really welcome to join us another day, for example the 5th of May. It is being awesome.

Xulio Vázquez
Custodian and guide of FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Really enjoyed the trip to this site - very good guide , friendly staff and interesting demonstrations! Just watch out for the return bus to Valletta, ran past 8 minutes early and didn't stop!

Thank thomastng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you thomastng for enjoying your visit to the Fort and telling to the rest of the world through Tripadvisor.
Sometimes the buses are not passing in time, but we are trying to adapt the visit for a better visit and taking care of the timetable of buses, but sometimes is really dificult. But normally, you have only to wait about 25 minutes maximum for another bus and you can enjoy an excellent coffe with really nice views at our entrance.
Xulio Vázquez
Custodian and guide of FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Arrived at 2pm on a windy dreary Sunday as somwhere to go and discovered that it was brilliant. No. 3 bus takes you right outside the Fort at the right time for the dressed up volunteers to do their full demonstrations and re-enactments. The old guns going off was deafening and gives you a real taste of what war was like in 19th century. You can even fire one yourself. The Fort does not get enough publicity and more people need to visit. At least you know that your 10 Euros is being spent on reconstructing the fort. The dormitories were just being finished when we visited.

Thank 503933ChristineB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you 503933ChristineB_12 for your comment and vote.
We are trying to do more publicity, but we are and NGO and the most part of our founds are going directly to the restoration of our sites, that's the reason we are putting a lot of efford on our websites, social networks and websites like Tripadvisore, where the public can find the opinions of real tourists visiting the sites, and most of them are good, and give us a lot of help for keeping going to our targets, providing the tourists the best experience possible.
Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The noise of the cannons is deafening and takes you well into the atmosphere.The fort is well maintained and the re-enactments very true to life and very interesting

Thank Wiggles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Fort Rinella, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you Wiggles2010 for your opinion and vote
Don't forget to follow our news, restoration progress of our sites and events on our websites and pages on the social networks.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Rinella also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Fort Rinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing