We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Snowmobile Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakview Lodge & Marina
Belle Ewart, ON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Snowmobile Tour”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Oakview turned out to be the highlight of a five day snowmobile tour. Right on the trail - Val and Krenar are snowmobilers as well as excellent hosts. Rooms were up-to-date, clean and comfortable. Both meals were a special treat, and the common areas warm and welcoming as was the big hot tub. We often return to properties we enjoyed while snowmobiling to see what they are like in other seasons. I know this will certainly be the case for Oakview. - Well Done!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAP705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was one of 7 snowmobilers who visited Oakview Lodge this winter and we could not have asked for a better experience. The restaurant had been prepared for our arrival - including a roaring fire and sofas set up by the TV to watch the hockey game. The food was superb, as was the service. We plan on arranging future trips so that we can return to the Lodge. Thanks Valerie and Krenar!!

Wayne C.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited Oakview Lodge with another couple. We stayed for two nights in the lodge and enjoyed winter activities during the day.

Val and Krenar were incredibly friendly and welcoming. They were helpful with anything we needed. One unexpected highlight of our visit was the quality of the food - man Krenar is talented! Everything we tried was fantastic and would rival any five star restaurant in the city.

We had such a great weekend that we will definitely look forward to another trip to Oakview.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maple_leafs_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a wonderful find Oakview Lodge was! From the moment you arrive, Valerie and Krenar make you feel truly at home. Nothing is ever a problem. The location on Little Hawk Lake is a splendid haven of peace and tranquility and yet it is an excellent base to tour the Haliburton Highlands and the Algonquin Provincial Park. It was particularly special to be able to enjoy the fantastic fall colours around the Lodge.
The Lodge has superbly comfortable suites and they are kept spotlessly clean. And then there is the food! Breakfasts and dinners are quite outstanding. The menus are outstanding and well worthy of a much grander and larger hotel. I doubt if I have eaten in a place with such consistently high quality cooking - the steaks are to die for.
So this is certainly a special place run by two very special people.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view book Sunrise or Sunupy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

May I say what a cold experience, came with a couple of friends of mine on Saturday September 7,2013 and what a horrible reception. The owner Val told us we could not get a coffee or a drink at the restaurant bar and it wasn't open till 5:00pm, yet she had three people that had drinks in the restaurant, what was that. Second she made sure to tell us that there were no spaces available for dinner that night. We drove there at 6:00pm and the restaurant had three couples there, it was definitely not full. This attitude of unfriendliness is not what I have experience in Haliburton from other resorts and restaurants at all. I was embarrassed and quite upset at the cold reception that we were given. These friends of mine come from Toronto and were looking to book some vacation time at xmas this year. They said no way, after this experience. Let me tell you something, friendliness and courtesy go along way especially when your in the hospitality business, if you don't want new customers it is time to sell out. What a disappointment and disgrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie067, Owner at Oakview Lodge & Marina, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately you are very mistaken in your assumptions. Our restaurant and bar are not open to the general public until 5 pm. The people you saw having drinks were guests staying in the lodge and, as such, are entitled to have drinks whenever they desire.
In regard to dinner that evening, we were fully booked with reservations and could not have taken anymore without impairing the quality of our food and our service. My husband is the only person cooking in the kitchen so we are limited to the number of guests we can serve in one evening. I believe when you say there were only 3 tables at the time you arrived at the restaurant but we had our reservation quota. We try to serve between 30 and 35 people each night. That night we served 34.
I am very sorry you were offended and I take that to heart. In the 12 years we have been in business I have never been rude to anyone and I truly didn't intend to offend you. Please accept my apologies and extend them to your friends as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
390 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My spouse and I had dinner there last night and it was fantastic food. You do not have to stay there to enjoy this great restaurant but reservations are highly recommended . Ambiance, with dinning room overlooking the marina is good. Service was wonderful. We were there last year in the summer and am very pleased to say that quality of the food and service is at the same high level as it was then. .

Room Tip: I did not stay there so do not know about rooms, fitness centre or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent the weekend in Haliburton and Oakview Lodge is an ideal base for exploring the area.

The proprietors are super friendly, the lodge is intimate and cozy, with a great view of the lake.

Will definitely be back to experience the lodge in summer!

Room Tip: We stayed in "sunup" and "sunrise" both were great - the second one being a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Highlands
0.1 mi away
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
4.1 mi away
Safe Haven Cottage Resort
Safe Haven Cottage Resort
#2 of 4 in Algonquin Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakview Lodge & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakview Lodge & Marina

Property: Oakview Lodge & Marina
Address: 2029 Little Hawk Lake Rd, Algonquin Highlands, Ontario K0M 1J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Algonquin Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakview Lodge & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakview Lodge & Marina sits right on the banks of Little Hawk Lake in Algonquin Highlands, Ontario. Guest rooms feature lake views and a fireplace. Complimentary paddle boats and canoes are available for guest use. Breakfast is provided. A seating area with a flat-screen satellite TV and sofa bed is featured in the spacious guest rooms at Oakview Lodge & Marina. Free toiletries including bathrobes are also included. Free Wi-Fi is available. Sitting on 4 acres of mature forest, the Lodge & Marina Oakview offers guided boat tours to guests. This lake front lodge offers spa services and a common room with satellite TV, board games, books, and magazines. A common dining room, outdoor deck and an enclosed porch is also available for guest use. The fine dining restaurant at Oakview Lodge features daily breakfast and dinner menus. Guests can enjoy seasonal dishes and specials made to order. Haliburton Village is a 40 minute drive from Oakview Lodge & Marina, and Minden is 33 minutes. Buttermilk Falls is a 10 minute drive from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Oakview Lodge & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing