We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Chataigneraie
Nearby Hotels
Beau-Vallon(Sahorre)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
61
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla chataigneraiebig screenweek holidayrock poolsthought of everythinglocal wineincredible hostsstunning viewsgreat holidayall agesevery morningvernet les bainsperfect venuebig family gatheringbobcarolinegite
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 66 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've just spent a couple of nights in great company at La Chataignerie. It was excellent. Bob & Caroline Mann have a great eye for detail. For example the tea & coffee facilities in the room (often rare in many parts of France) include not only a wide choice of teas but also real coffee and a cafetiere. Top quality soaps etc in the bathrooms. We all had a great game of boules on the boules court (?) rink (?) green (?) - whatever it's called it was great craic.
Breakfasts were extensive with fresh fruit and home made in-season cherry jam. There is a giant TV screen for those who want it - lots of walks and wildlife in the area and stunning scenery.
I really can't fault this property in any way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WildeOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline M, Owner at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

It was a real pleasure to meet you and your brother and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We very much hope we may welcome you here again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have never stayed in better Gite/B&B accommodation than this. I was visiting a family of 19 friends who have taken the place over for a couple of weeks. Everything from the welcome to the farewell was faultless and the attention to detail was outstanding!

Very highly recommended indeed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline M, Owner at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and only sorry you could not stay longer. Thank you for taking the time to write your review - we hope you will call in again if you are ever back in this region of France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

So where to start - 1st id like to say what wonderful people caroline and bob are they cant do enough to help you out and assist in making your holiday the best possible.

We stayed in la capsole really high standard the private garden comes in handy and with 8 adults and a baby we didnt feel on top of each other at all- The grounds are stunning the pool great fun and we had hours of laughs with the pool volley ball ( shimmy shimmy shimmy ).
The use of the large film room was another great hit with my family, good range of family films and recent hits such as skyfall really went down well.

The village is a 10-15 min walk away and you have access to the local bakers ,butchers ( both excellent) and my all time fave the wine cave ( this is fab ) local wine was coming in at £10.00 for 5 litres so really good value the sparkling wine £6 a bottle for good quality bubbles.

We rented the Bikes from Caroline and Bob this was a fantastic day out- the walking and cycling facilities within this area are 2nd to none there really is so much to see and do a 2 week holiday wasnt enough time really.

Vernet Les Bain is a pretty little village/Town with some really good resteruants no real bars as such but the casino is a good laugh in itself.

Would highly recommend the little yellow train to mont louis its well worth the time and mont louis although not alot there is absolutley stunning.

If you are looking for a relaxing high quality holiday with excellent accomodation and wonderful hosts this is the holiday for you.

i couldnt recommend La chat enough and im not the kind of person who likes to visit a place twice but we are already looking to book again soon xx

Room Tip: Excellent holiday for Families - Walker - Cyclist and People who are looking for High quality relaxing holidays.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denflo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline M, Owner at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you all here and it seemed a very quiet place after you left! We are so pleased you all enjoyed the holiday. The foot-bath has been re-named "Miya's paddling pool"! Several things on your list still to fulfil - the spa day, the wine-tasting day...you will have to come back and visit again soon! Best wishes to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wow! What a gorgeous place to have a holiday. The location is great, the views amazing and La Chataigneraie is just fabulous. My husband and I stayed in the Petit Gite - it was very comfortable and has all you can possibly want for a great holiday - and we slept so well! The surrounding area is great for exploring on foot with fantastic walks - thank you to our very knowledgeable hosts who made suggestions for places for us to visit. Caroline & Bob are great hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they are so helpful. We had the most wonderful time and we look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallyann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline M, Owner at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and very much hope you will be able to come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday at La Chataigneraie where we stayed in the "Marron gite" with some friends. The hosts were fantastic, the gite was clean, tidy and well equipped, and the views were nothing short of spectacular.

Each gite has its own area with a gas BBQ, chairs and table which we made good use of! There is a small bakery and a wine cellar (which also sells fantastic apple juice) a few minutes cycle away.

There is plenty to do in the area if you don't mind a bit of a walk or cycle (which I would highly recommend), although if you would like to go a little further a field, you can hire a car in the next door village of Vernet which wasn't hugely expensive.

I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apache201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline M, Manager at La Chataigneraie, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday - it was a great pleasure getting to know you all and we hope to welcome you back here soon. There are still a lot of places left to explore and hopefully next time it will be warm enough to swim in the rock-pools!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews