We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know why we've not written before!”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach House
Ranked #2 of 2 Potton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Potton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't know why we've not written before!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just haven't had the chance to have dinner though have had a sandwich lunch which was great. Last night 4 of us had dinner and I have to say for someone who spends most of his time in hotel restaurants around the world last night was marvellous. The perfect mix of attention and being left alone combined with top quality food and menu. Though we ordered from the individual wine by the glass list the full list looked fun, very appropriate and well priced.

The mix between locals having a pint in the bar and the restaurants were perfect and absolutely no conflict. Staff excellent and numbered just right, meaning we all had a lovely chat and a excellent meal.

All in a perfect evening, thanks all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    30
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
42
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Coach House in Potton seems to have a lot invested in it both financially and emotionally. It is clear that a huge effort has gone and continues to go into it and the staff really make it work. The food is some of the best around, the beer is great, the decor cheerful and subtley 'Hackney chique', they have great taste in music and always draw an interesting and friendly mix of locals and people like me passing through. I really love this place and they make you feel right at home. Staff even wear T shirts saying 'We work here because we love IT' and are always cheerful, smiley and helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place and I only wish I could visit more often!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask to go near the back. They are refurbing the rooms and personally although it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a fairly recently (in the last couple of years, apparently) refurbished and re-opened pub (more of a cafe-bar, really) located on the pleasant market square of Potton. The decor is contemporary, and maybe a bit too 'busy' for some tastes (too many clashing colours etc), but the overall effect is quite relaxing and many of the old features of the building have been cleverly incorporated. Background music is just that - in the background.

The food is excellent, especially the desserts, and at around £40 for two (2 courses, 1 drink, 1 coffee each) it is good value. There is a good range of beers - including local real ales - and wines. Service is friendly and enthusiastic but a little amateurish at times (e.g. coffee brought ten minutes before desserts).

With so many pubs closing down, it is good to see that with energy and imagination it is possible to get a new venture off the ground, and there were enough customers on a mid-week lunchtime to suggest that it will be viable. It's not a traditional English pub by any means, but perhaps an indication of how pubs in the future will need to be to survive.

There is also accomodation, but I did not experience this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingProfessor881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Booked a table for 2, had an amazing dinner and a delicious bottle of wine. As usual staff very attentive and do not rush you - ever. I cannot fault the service and the meal.
We stayed in a large double room overlooking the market square, comfy bed, clean smelling sheets and a spotlessly tidy room and bathroom. Tea/ coffee/ hot chocolate with a few choices of biscuits available and some nice shower gels/ shampoo, etc.
Ok so the bedroom that we stayed in does need updating in comparison to the downstairs which is lovely, I am sure this is a job on the list! This would not stop me from staying over as it is comfortable and clean and come on the food is DIVINE!
Looking forward to another nights stay at some point :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B00bear17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

After a local funeral, everyone returned to this establishment overlooking the town square. A car park behind was very useful. The place was heaving, yet the staff coped with patience and smiles. Several rooms and space outside made for a very comfortable setting. The refreshments were just right and served well.
If we are in the area again we shall definitely come by here for a meal and more attention.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a triple room, one double bed and one single, £90 including three cooked breakfasts! Extremely reasonable I thought!
The room was very spacious and had a lovely view over the pretty square!
Beds were very comfortable with crisp white sheets and comfy pillows.
Great selection of tea/coffee/biscuits in the room.
Downstairs there is a beautiful beautiful bar/restaurant area decorated very well! We only had drinks in the bar but food looked great!
Breakfast the next morning was lovely.. Very hot and fresh, they even extended the time they served it to us as we were out very late at a wedding the eve before! We was the only ones in the breakfast room! Thank you!
Staff extremely friendly and helpful!
My only critism (and it's small) is the rooms need updating to catch up with the beautiful decor downstairs!! I would definately stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Service and quality were exceptional. We would definitely recommend Sunday lunch. And the desserts looked amazing and tasted just as good. This will become a regular eatery for family and friends in future. Compliments to the chef, and waitresses. They took very good care of us and made our experience one to remember.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Doogle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potton
6.1 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,603 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
0.0 mi away
The Potton Nest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 4 in Sandy
28 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 3 in Henlow
64 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fullers Hill Cottages
Fullers Hill Cottages
#1 of 1 in Little Gransden
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 12 Market Square, Potton SG19 2NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Potton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Potton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Coach House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing