We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach House
Ranked #2 of 2 Potton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Potton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Family room was perfect, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was great too. Excellent value for money, recommended.

We were attending a christmas party at a relatives house and the Coach was the obvious choice. The family room had proper beds unlike many hotels who often use sofa beds.

Service as attentive despite a very busy time of year.

Room Tip: Family room appointed with proper beds and not put me ups or sofa beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    30
    10
    0
    4
See reviews for
34
41
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hue
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A small quiet area and a fantastic hotel/pub situated in the centre. Had a pleasant stay and the food and beer were just great. Certainly a place to go for a bit of luxury living but also an easy place to relax in the evening. Will definitely use it again, thanks to Chris and Belle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattrose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights on a business trip. Recently taken over & had work done on the bar & restaurant area. Very nice, with local beers available. Evening meal was great. Locally sourced produce & it shows. Breakfast was the same. As it's only a B&B it feels quite exclusive & allows the personal attention. Rooms as ok but I understand they are being refurbished soon too which will only make The Coach House an even better option. Located right in the middle of Potton there is also a chip shop, indian & a Chinese up the road in Sandy if you preferred. Will stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_A50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marazion, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I LOVED this hotel.
From start to finish our stay here was lovely. We rang to book our room, the chap on the phone was very pleasant, helpful and chatty. He told us a but about the area and made the process of booking incredibly easy.
We then rang the day before to confirm the booking as we had made it far in advance, again a friendly lady on the phone, very helpful and accommodating, as we were arriving late so she arranged someone to welcome us.
Upon arrival we found a suitable car park, with easy access, greeted in the entrance hall by friendly staff, and Belle, the hotel manager showed us to our room. We were on the top floor, and this hotel may be unsuitable for those with access issues...this can't be helped, it's on old building, but something to be aware of as there is no lift or downstairs rooms (that we were aware of).
Our room was lovely, fresh and clean, lovely comfortable bed with crisp clean sheets and lovely duvet and pillows. Bathroom was roomy and had both a bath and a shower. Plenty of hot water and lovely complimentary products. A good wardrobe space and a sofa! Tv, and a lovely tea and coffee area with everything you could need, including really nice accessories: a cool kettle and nice mugs.
The downstairs of the property is the bar and resturant which has all be recently refurbed - Chris and Belle tell us they ae next to tackle the rooms which at the moment are perfectly acceptable but if they bring them to the standard of the downstairs they will be FANTASTIC!!!
I love the style of the decor Chris and Belle have chosen, it is continuous throughout and shows that they have really thought about their themes and colour schemes. There was lovely fluidity and continuity to the hotel, as well as lovely friendly service. It felt like a home, and we felt very welcome indeed, whilst also being a profesional and well run hotel. The food was had at breakfast time was very nice, again with lovely service.
I couldn't recommend this hotel more, I just wish we had an excuse to visit again to see the rooms once they are done!
Thanks to Chris, Belle, and the team...we had a wonderful time. Xxxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Meeting old family friends they recommended The Coach House, we stayed one night en route to the Lake District. If you have a heavy suitcase the stairs might be a bit tricky especially if you are on the top floor! The rooms are basic but clean and en-suite. The TV is tiny but I doubt anyone is there to watch TV! We had a meal in their restaurant....what a gastronomic journey! The food was fantastic and so well presented! Great service! Very homely and lots of history...but still spruced up with modern twists without being tacky..... fresh, fun and good value. From the look of it the bar and restaurant is very popular with those living locally too!

Room Tip: try to get a room on the first floor facing towards the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Tasty Sunday BBQ lunch. Choice of 5 different meats burger, pork belly, beef, lamb, and chicken. and priced by the number of meats you take. You help yourself to the salad accompaniment of tomatoes with mozzarella, greens, baby roast potatoes, and coleslaw. Very friendly staff. Great service. Quite busy. The desert menu was reasonably good, and those we had were delicious. Cheeseboard a bit basic, but enjoyable. great coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed for one night on our tour around Norfolk / Suffolk, this was our last stop until we headed for home.

We arrived during the afternoon, there were many people in the bar chatting having coffee or a drink, all ages, it was a most convivial & relaxing atmosphere.

We had a couple of drinks in the lovely bar before dinner. There were some guest beers and the owner happily suggested my husband have a sample taste before deciding on a pint.

We were chatting with a friendly local and another man who obviously makes it his overnight stop when on business – I can see why.

It is a most relaxing, friendly & well-decorated bar, with clearly much thought.

In relation to dinner – the food was fantastic, the chef has an excellent touch, everything we had was delicious, well executed and worthy of any London Michelin starred restaurant.
The triple cooked chips were the best I have had.

Our room was lovely, with fresh white linen & towels. The bathroom had a bath & shower it was clean spacious & contemporary. We had a lovely view over the square & the famous clock which did not disturb us at all – in fact we loved hearing the chimes.

Breakfast was very good too – juice, cereal & full English or any permutation, it would have been nice to have some marmalade or preserves – we didn’t ask but I am sure would have been brought like a shot.

All in all I cannot recommend the Coach House Potton highly enough. The new owners are a lovely local young couple & have only been owners for 7-8 months.
If they continue in this way (I have little doubt they will) they will certainly be on to a winner.

We wish them both good luck and hope to be able to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potton
6.1 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Potton Nest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 3 in Henlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 4 in Sandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Acers
The Acers
#2 of 3 in Henlow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 12 Market Square, Potton SG19 2NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Potton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Potton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Coach House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing