We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Magliaca”
Review of Casa Migliaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Migliaca
Montville, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent Magliaca”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Not just a B&B, but a true home stay, where you enjoy the surrounds of a working olive & citrus orchard and each evening the guests dine with the Magliaca family, where a delicious four course meal is served and wine and aperitifs are included, all of which is sourced locally.
The house is over 400 years old and has been owned by the family since it was first built. It has been faithfully restored, with most of the original features still remaining. Our accomodation was roomy, although e bathroom was somewhat cramped, and we had exquisite views from our verandahs over the gardens and valley beyond.
Our hosts were most charming and went out of their way to make us welcome and to direct us to places of interest in the area.
Pettineo is a short distance from a number of coastal and mountain attractions, making Casa Magliaca are perfect spot to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We wanted to wander off the beaten coastal track for some real Sicilian country cooking and company. Casa Migliaca was exactly what we hoped it would be, but the surounding area was so much more beautiful than we expected. Stunning scenery. Lovely cottage. Fabulous food. Eclectic company. In a nutshell, as PduPL says: 'genuine warmth'. just go ahead and book. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mum2cookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife & I have stayed many times at Casa Migliaca. The situation is beautiful, the house charming and the food stunning but the feeling we always take away with us is the genuine warmth and friendship of the family. Thank you Luca, Teresa and Sebastiano for a wonderful time. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PduPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights with half board. This was the best decision we made as our delicious, Sicilian meals were served at an ancient round stone table (the stone had been an olive press for hundreds of years) and we shared conversation with the owners and guests from around the world. The food was complemented by great local wines and the evening finished with a selection of homemade aromatic liqueurs.
The accommodation was rustic and atmospheric. The gardens surrounding the farm house were delightful and the vegetable garden supplied much of the produce used in the kitchen.
The owners,Theresa, Sebastiano and their son Luca, were charming, informative and fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Correa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Casa Migliaca is a beautiful, charming Bed & Breakfast run by Luca...with his parents, Teresa and Sebastiano. The most pleasant experience was sharing a great dinner around a large circular table with people from all over the world. The surroundings are meticulous, beautiful and breath-taking!

Note: don't follow your GPS.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here on the 15th and 16th May 2012 for the last 2 nights of an 18 day visit to Sicily. It was a perfect way to end our visit - it was lovely staying in an historic home with a chance to relax and just stay put in the beautiful surroundings. It was lovely not having to go out and find somewhere to eat and we thoroughly enjoyed the conversations and relaxed meals. Thankyou for sharing your home with us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cntaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My trip had a purpose -- both my grandparents were born in Pettineo, and I had always longed to see the village. Neither Casa Migliaca or Pettineo disappointed. Our room was basic, two twin beds on the ground floor and around the back of the house. Though the mattress was the hardest I ever slept on and the shower the smalllest I've ever used (the toilet room with a hose shower and cold at that), the ambiance more than made up for the discomfort. The house is surrounded by lemon and olive trees and views in every direction. It was an easy walk into Pettineo where after making a few inquires, a relative quickly learned we were in town. Dinner at Casa Migliaca was amazing. Huge round table with course after course (starting at 10pm). We shared the house with several couples from Denmark which made for lively conversation in several languages. I hope to return to Pettineo someday, and will certainly stay again at Casa Migliaca.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank RochesterSicilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pettineo
3.3 mi away
Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
#1 of 1 in Castel di Tusa
493 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 36 in Cefalu
710 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tus'Hotel
Tus'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tusa
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Casale Margherita
Casale Margherita
#1 of 4 in Pollina
122 reviews
10.2 mi away
Agriturismo Bergi
Agriturismo Bergi
#2 of 13 in Castelbuono
317 reviews
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio Aureo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Migliaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Migliaca

Property: Casa Migliaca
Address: Contrada Migliaca - Sp 176 Km 7, 98070 Pettineo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Pettineo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pettineo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Migliaca 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Migliaca lies close to the north coast of Sicily a few kilometers away from Cefalu, between the Nebrodi Mountains and Madonie mountains. The house stays on a hill overlooking the sea on the East side of river Tusa's valley. Landscape spreads over the Tyrrhenian sea and the Nebrodi woods. The building has been constructed in the XVII century. Originally it was an oil mill, then in the early nineties has been adapted with accommodation facilities and today offers a is simple but convivial ospitality. At Casa Migliaca, lifestyle is informal, dinner is taken all together around the huge round table, once the base of the mill used to squeeze olives; the morning breakfast is free from time restrictions and each one serves himself in the ancient kitchen on the first floor. Eight rooms are available; those on the first floor of the house have ancient furnitures;.Those on the ground level maintain the original traits of the oil mill service rooms. The silted jar, the small palmento and the chestnut mezzanine are witness of the old functions. All the rooms are large and, respectful of the original architecture and volumes, bathrooms are essential, small but functional. The main building is surrounded by a 12 hectares active farm producing olive-oil and citrus fruits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Casa Migliaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Migliaca Pettineo, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing