We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Country Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pirongia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amberfields Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Pirongia B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was the most wonderful country weekend getaway. The moment we walked in the door we felt so welcome and greeted with such warmth. The house was immaculate and our room was just lovely. The breakfast was amazing and Linnie & Peter went far and beyond with there hospitality. Thank you for a wonderful country weekend away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda J, Owner at Amberfields Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. I was interested to hear you say that the styly girls in NYC wear gumboots to work, and ours were just as 'posh' as some of theirs. And why not, if its good enough at Amberfields, its good enough for New York City! Hope to see you again soon and enjoy your stay in NZ. Come back and do that black water rafting... its much more exhilarating floating in blackness under the caves than walking through them! All the best- Linnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We broke our long journey from Daniverke to Auckland by staying at this delightful and extremely comfortable B&B in Pirongia. We had just completed a whistlestop tour of the South Island. After spending 18 days and nights in 14 different motels/B&B's in the South Island this was a touch of sheer luxury! It was bliss to relax in this rural retreat. Our host Linnie was also a very good cook - after a hasty phone call a delicious meal and a bottle of good wine was awaiting our rather later than planned arrival. You have to try the chicken breast (secret recipe). The bed was so comfortable, the bedding luxurious, the en-suite full of lovely toiletries and there was no pressure applied to leave early! After a late, leisurely and hearty breakfast of Eggs Benedict (eggs courtesy of the resident hens) we were taken around the farm and introduced to the cows and calves. We left with a bag full of a fruit called Fejoas. These were the fruit in the dessert - a delicious crumble. It was a wonderful climax to what was a great trip around New Zealand. We were so glad we found this hideaway and can thoroughly recommend a visit. Peter and Linnie were most welcoming and hospitable and we felt like friends when we left after just one night. Thank you both for sharing your beautiful home with two weary travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57Bambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda J, Owner at Amberfields Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and we certainly enjoyed hosting you. I hope your feijoa chutney was a success. We have had more fruit off the trees and its always nice to give some away. Hearing that our guests have had a memorable time makes running a B&B so rewarding, and we appreciate your feedback very much. We hope the rest of your stay in NZ went well and have a safe trip home to the UK. Maybe we will see you again next year - Linnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This wonderful bed and breakfast is set among lovely mature trees at the end of a long drive. My room was in the west wing. It was just beautiful.
The furnishings and decor of my room had been tastfully put together, and with all the little extras it just made you feel very special. This room also has tea and coffee supplied in the room. It was just wonderful to have a cup of tea in the morning looking out over the farm and watching the sun come up. Just so good for the soul.
I had been travelling on my own and Linnie and Peter invited me to have dinner with them.
Nothing was too much trouble . Linnie managed to whip up a lovely meal while we sat round the fire and talked over a few glasses of wine. (which they supplied) I felt really at home.. You do not meet many hosts like this.
When I'm next travelling down south I will come and stay again.

Thank you Linnie and Peter. you are great hosts.

Room Tip: any room would be The west wing suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetPea2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda J, Owner at Amberfields Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and it was a pleasure to host you at Amberfields. It is always an added and extra special bonus when our guests tell us they have enjoyed their stay and leave with happy memories. You have Made My Day, thank you and please come back when you next need a break from your busy life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Being townies, and Auckland Jaffas, this was something different for us to experience as a couple. A weekend in the west wing of a county home.
We were greeted by Linnie and Peter and were able to drive to the access door of our independent wing. We unloaded our luggage into our north facing sunny enormous bedroom. Our bed was an enormous Californian king with sumptuous down-filled thick duvets. Crisp like new linens. The whole place exuded comfort and cleanliness.
The directions to Amberfields made it very easy for us to locate. The whole home is very spacious and warm. The outlook to cows and calves is great, even free-range chickens wondering around. Little did they, or we know, that we would be eating their eggs for breakfast.
After a wonderful night's sleep we were greeted with wonderful breakfast. The table setting was beautiful china and silver. Starting with fresh fruit salad followed with cooked bacon, freshly laid eggs, tomatoes and home-made bread and a selection of home-made jams.
Our adventure was to drive up Mt Pirongia and take in the vast Waikato farm views followed by a lovely organic lunch at a local Pirongia cafe.
Overall, summing up our experience was wonderful with Linnie and Peter. Amberfields is a very spacious comfortable clean homestead that we highly recommend.
Julian Clay and Tina Waugh

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian_and_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda J, Owner at Amberfields Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your kind feedback. Pete and I are happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us over these two nights and three days. Getting into the country spirit and patting our new 3 week old calf 'Lucky' was the cutest thing to watch! Thank you again and we hope next time you need a 'real break away' you will come back for much of the same! Linnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Five of us stayed at Amberfields while in the area for a family celebration
(the odd number did not faze our hosts). We had such a lovely time.
Everything about the property is genuine. A very warm welcome, the rooms
were spacious, very well appointed, spotless and tastefully decorated. We
had requested a substantial breakfast as we had a big day ahead of us. It
was delicious. We collected our own eggs (well some of us did). Linnie's
delight in her farm animals is obvious. The home-made granola with fresh
fruit followed by locally cured bacon with "our" yummy eggs was delicious.
On the Sunday afternoon, we were offered the opportunity to do a bit of
sightseeing around Te Awamutu, in their vintage Chevy (plenty of room for us
all). It was quite an eye opener as the area is REALLY BEAUTIFUL, and the
epitome of what New Zealand farming country is all about. Much to our
surprise when we stopped at the top of Mt Pirongia to look at the pretty
spectacular view, out came a little Lunch Box for each of us (yummy homemade
goodies inside), along with a choice of tea or coffee. It was delightful.
Linnie and Peter are warm, intelligent hosts, we all thoroughly enjoyed
their company and the great conversation, and I highly recommend Amberfields
B&B. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely but we will choose the Rose Garden room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjayne3auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda O, Owner at Amberfields Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and the bonus for us is that you all enjoyed our quaint and delightful Mount Pirongia from your base here at Amberfields B&B! The packed lunches were our treat. The old car needs a workout once in a while and I never doubted 'PeggySue' could easily carry 6 adults up that winding road! We look forward to hosting you again one day now you know where we are and thank you again! Travel safely -Linnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this delightful hideaway in the country and loved every minute we were there.
Our hosts Linnie and Peter made us feel so at home and part of the family. We spent time with our hosts, loved the animals, walked around their lifestyle block and enjoyed their lovely home. It was so nice to be out of the city and relaxing in the country and feel that Amberfields was just what we needed. Our hosts gave us great tips of where to go and what to see and were so welcoming, it felt like we had met more of our family. Our beautiful bedroom was so luxurious and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who also cooked the most delicious meals!! We will certainly return to enjoy another special time at Amberfields. You need to go there to see how wonderful it is!!

Room Tip: All bedrooms are beautiful and a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyndiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda J, Owner at Amberfields Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and please come back next time you want an overnight B&B stay or just feel the need for a quiet 'time-out' break. Peter and I do our best to make our guests feel comfortable, and live by the motto 'nothing's a problem!' We love the Golden Rule. Next time you book in remind us for your second stay, we promised to give you a complimentary bottle of Rabbit Ranch Pinot with a side of that Cloudy Mountain Waipa Blue. I may even have made some relish by then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for Easter 2013. Very warm welcome to a beautiful home. We chose the rose garden bedroom with the Californian king bed - sooo luxurious, with a very nice ensuite bathroom.

Loved the animals - gorgeous hens (thank you girls for your fresh free range eggs each day), cows and calves and Spike (entertaining). We enjoyed the peace especially at sunset; really recharged our batteries.

We'll be back. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you so much Linnie & Peter.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely, hard to decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda J, Owner at Amberfields Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

You are most welcome and thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure for us to know guests leave our home and animals with a sense of serenity and happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pirongia hotels
2.2 mi away
Somersal Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue
1.5 mi away
Kakaramea Guest House and Bed & Breakfast
1 mi away
Highgate Bed and Breakfast and Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberfields Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberfields Bed & Breakfast

Address: 724 Pirongia Road | RD 6 Te Awamutu, Pirongia 3876, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Pirongia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pirongia
Price Range: $180 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amberfields B&B is a deluxe Farm Stay in a spacious and modern home, peacefully set 400 metres away from the road. Two luxurious suites are available, plus one single. Your complimentary continental and cooked breakfast is prepared using our own free range eggs, home baked bread and organic produce whenever possible. If you want an experience a bit different from 'the norm' give us a call or email. We are less than 2 hours south of Auckland en route to Waitomo Caves (the Caves are just 40 minutes away). Very private and peacefully situated in the heart of the Waikato dairy farming district. You are welcome to wander over our property wearing a pair of 'designer' gumboots maybe with a cold beer in hand, or help feed the friendly cows and collect the eggs. For locals familiar with the city of Hamilton, we are just 20 minutes south of Hamilton Airport and Mystery Creek. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing