We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay, beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tredethy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tredethy House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredethy
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A big thank you to Marco and the team for making our weekend so perfect. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome in such luxurious surroundings. It was my wife's Birthday and the genuine extra personal touches we received were not expected but extremely welcomed and appreciated. Marco was the perfect host we couldn't have wished for more or been any happier.
We had a very relaxing stay in a quiet, beautiful, and comfortable room at the front of the hotel with amazing country views. The three course Italian meal in the restaurant on Friday night was delicious.
This is an owner run country house hotel which is quiet, clean and comfortable. It is certainly somewhere to enjoy and relax, a great base for exploring this area of Cornwall. This was our first visit to Tredethy but it certainly won't be our last. We booked at short notice and were certainly not disappointed, it was just what we hoped it would be and the great service was the 'icing on the cake' We arrived as guests but left as friends...we cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have magnificent country views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nusteve73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    37
    10
    14
    1
See reviews for
30
102
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a large, very comfortable room over-looking the grounds at the front of the house. Pristine bed-linen and towels added to the lovely atmosphere of the house in general.

Because the trattoria is only open at weekends and the house is quite remote, it is necessary to drive to a village or town for dinner, and the owner provides a helpful map showing the nearest places to eat. Only when checking out did we discover that a range of bar-snacks is available every evening, and we would have been satisfied with those if we had known.

The continental breakfast is perfectly adequate and we felt no need to opt for the supplement-charge for a cooked breakfast.

The house welcomes dogs, and several guests had their dog which lead to easy conversation between guests. In fact, the atmosphere at breakfast was like being at a jolly party !

The location is ideal for visits to both northern and southern coasts, and all the places in between.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way home from Cornwall, had we realised how lovely it was we would have stayed for more.
Its a very large house, set in beautiful kept large grounds.
The rooms are very large, well decorated, and nicely furnished, bathrooms very large, and good fittings.
The owners and staff are friendly and efficient, and the guests when we stayed very talkative and keen to tell you where they had been each day.
We would recommend this house to anyone, and will base ourselves there again if traveling in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce180852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We've just had our first visit to Tredethy whilst visiting family in the area. We have used a number of local hotels but never tried Tredethy before and we were not disappointed.
The whole place has a homely feel about it with a lovely lounge area where you can sit and relax at any time. We managed to dine there on the Saturday evening (food is only available at weekends) and had a superb meal, perfect pasta and a wonderful dessert it was really lovely. Breakfast was the best we've had, home made organic yogurt and granola, lots of fresh fruit, home baked bread with Italian cheese and ham simply delicious. Best of all were the mini danish pastries still warm from the oven ! A cooked breakfast is available for a supplement if you prefer but don't give the cold platter a miss, it was perfect. Our room was clean and nicely presented and the staff were very friendly, the only downside was arriving on a dark wet Cornish day to find no heating available. A little warmth in the room and the towel rail working in the bathroom would have just made it much more pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamSue074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The guesthouse is close to the town of Bodmin down very narrow lanes. Our room was fairly clean apart from the resident spider on the bathroom wall. Still there after 2 days.
The bath had a mixer tap come shower rose, there was no wall fixing for the shower rose, we were unable to stand and shower in the bath.
The bath water kept on going hot and cold when others guests were using water.
Breakfast is Italian style bread with Italian ham and cheese.
The car parking area was a walk away from the main house, we needed a torch when walking back to the guesthouse as there were no lights.
the staff were very polite.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the guest house overlooked the lawn, rooms at the rear overlooked the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I enjoyed my brief stay and think that this is a charming venue near to Bodmin. It is a shame that evening meals are not available during the week and I think that it would help their business to offer something. Since it is located "off the beaten track" it is not a great location unless you are in a car.
I would strongly recommend a visit to car tourists for whom this will be an ideal location

Room Tip: Since there is neither a pool or a fitness centre these cannot be rated. This is a charming old hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our second visit to Tredethy House & it won't be our last! We stayed for seven nights & our 'Attic Room' provided fantastic views. We could not fault the superb service we received from Marco & his staff. Everything was first class - the breakfasts, and the 2 nights we ate there too, the food was absolutely delicious. To us, Marco was always the perfect host and we enjoyed his company immensely. Tredethy is so well situated for cycling & walking the Camel trail. Looking forward to our next trip to Tredethy House.
Maggie & Richard from Barnet Herts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tredethy
5.3 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
10.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tredethy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tredethy House

Property: Tredethy House
Address: Tredethy, Tredethy, Bodmin PL30 4QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Tredethy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredethy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tredethy House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tredethy House is a beautiful, peaceful and informally elegant English Country House set in an area of outstanding beauty. Built in Tudor times and later extended, it has been the unique home of many British families and of Prince Chula of Thailand until the late sixties. A delightful and unique holiday spot today, Tredethy offers privacy and the blissful peace of the countryside whatever the season and is yet at easy reach of the North and South Coast as well as the many places of interest such as the Eden Project and the divine National Trust Houses and Gardens of Cornwall. The seven acres of grounds at Tredethy are themselves a piece of history with original planting like the most beautiful Hydrangeas and pink Rhododendrons. March hosts hundreds of narcissus, April is time for the breathtaking display of bluebells, followed by wild garlic and blue and pink wildflowers. Autumn is a fantastic season, full of colour and peace, and lots of anticipation for the festive season we all look forward to every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Tredethy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tredethy Hotel Bodmin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing