We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rooty Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Waste of money. Have stayed in hotels that are $120 per night which were heaps better than this. Paid $260 for one night, which is really just a place to lay your head and have a shower, no pool no spa, we even had no hot water for over an hour so couldnt shower till it was fixed. Parking area is the worst i have even seen and very unclear where to go upon arrival. Not worth the price of the room at all. Also we were not informed the $100 bond will be charged on top of the room price and that it will take 7-10 days to refund.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMaybury, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

I am disappointed that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We continue to look to invest in our guest experience and as such along with offering the latest guest rooms we are currently upgrading our restaurant, public areas and inroom technology offering. Additionally to the onsite facilities adjacent to the property such as Rooty Hill RSL, AMF bowling, One55 Health & Fitness; scheduled to open in September 2013 will be a gymnastic and aquatic centre.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you on your next visit to the region.

Mark Maybury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 979 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have stayed here a few times and always impressed with the size and quality of the rooms. Beds are huge and you need a good set of binoculars to watch the tv from there. Bathrooms are modern, fresh and very clean. Novotel have done a good job on the interiors and I sleep well each time I stay.

Against, reception is a bit slow and the local environment is characterised by the iron railings surrounding the hotel car parking. Hotel is collocated with RSL but restaurant is excellent. Across the car park are a bowling alley and a gym with free access to hotel guests.

If you need to be in the west and geographic location is key then this is a good fit. If you want easy access to Sydney CBD then allow yourself 90 minutes to get in. Stay away from the top floor as the noise of air-conditioners can be irritating

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinylstatistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMaybury, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill and for taking the time to comment, it is much appreciated.
It is pleasing to hear of your positive experience at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill and I look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
Mark Maybury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great hotel to stay in. It is very modern and the rooms are extra large with a lounge and chaise which would accommodate extra guests if required.

We had undercover parking but it seems to be limited.

We ate at the RSL next door and didn't even have to walk outside to enter the RSL. The service there was excellent.

I would like to see a book store or a library at the hotel so guests can borrow or buy a book while staying at the hotel.

Small housekeeping error as only one face cloth was supplied for us, although we could have advised reception to have another delivered to our room.

I would be very happy to stay there again as it is a lovely hotel and the tariff is very affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darbyandjoan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMaybury, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill and for taking the time to comment, it is much appreciated.

It is pleasing to hear that overall you had a positive experience at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill, however I do understand that our room guarantee requirement has caused you some concern.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity in welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mark Maybury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights with you and we attended a wedding at the Novotel while we where there. Our room was large and clean and very reasonably priced. Our accommodation included a buffet breakfast which was just lovely both mornings and the meal we had at the wedding was excellent. The staff were efficient and friendly. My only comment would be that it would have been nice to open a window but realise that would not be possible. Thankyou for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueroddavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMaybury, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill and for taking the time to comment, it is much appreciated.
It is pleasing to hear of your positive experience at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill and I look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
Mark Maybury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelletrex
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MMaybury, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The room were very spacious, clean and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Close to Blacktown Olympic Sportspark. Bed was very comfortable. Laundry on each floor was very helpful and ice dispensing machine on each floor. Will be happy to stay there again. Right next door to the RSL club and has bowling centre across the carpark. Close to train if you need it .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferAnniston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMaybury, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill and for taking the time to comment, it is much appreciated.

It is pleasing to hear that overall you had a positive experience at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill, however I do understand that our room guarantee requirement has caused you some concern.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity in welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mark Maybury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in a standard room at the hotel. The quality of the room itself was excellent; the overall size was large, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom well presented. The one less than adequate feature was that internet access was only available via a physical connection, no wifi was available in the rooms themselves.

Where the hotel fell short was in the level of service and the surrounds of the accommodation itself. The signage to the property is very poor, both in terms of off-the-street directions, and then the entrance to the car park itself; that required a degree of guesswork and best efforts to negotiate. Once in the carpark, the parking bays were very narrow for any type of car larger than small.

The level of room service was inadequate; one night when we returned late to the room and requested room service, we waited some 45 minuites for our meal (a very basic request that would not require a great deal of preparation) to arrive. When I rang to enquire the whereabouts of the meal, I was told that we were behind 2 other orders and that it would be on its way. At 11:00 pm that seems a poor level of service.

The most annoying feature of our stay was the continual pulsing vibration that permeated the room, that was most apparent at night time and interrupted our sleep, forcing us to turn on the air conditioning in an effort to suppress the impact of the noise, This approach worked reasonably well, except that the room was already at a satisfactory temperature so that it became cold. When we raised the issue with the receptionist, she did not seem in the least surprised when we provided our room number (210) and offered for us to be moved to another room when one of the same type became available. This was not practical given that we had just one remaining night's accommodation. I would not expect this issue to arise at a brand name hotel, and certainly not when we had booked some 3 months earlier.

Hopefully these alerts will prove helpful for others contemplating staying at this establishment (there is very little else available in the surrounding area).

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the complex are likely to be subject to noise vibration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMaybury, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your post. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

As we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services; it is only through such feedback that we can truly understand our business from our guest’s perspective.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill.

Mark Maybury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rooty Hill
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Blacktown
4.6 mi away
Atura Blacktown
Atura Blacktown
#1 of 2 in Prospect
476 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
#1 of 1 in Eastern Creek
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Mercure Penrith
Mercure Penrith
#1 of 4 in Penrith
737 reviews
7.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
878 reviews
10.0 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill

Address: 33 Railway St, Rooty Hill, Blacktown, New South Wales 2766, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Blacktown > Rooty Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rooty Hill
Price Range: $105 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill Hotel Rooty Hill
Holiday Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing