We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, old and unloved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newcastle Links Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fern Bay
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Mould on curtains, walls and ceiling. No milk in room, had to get some in a cup the next morning. Room smelt very dank. Would not recommend. It is a long way from Newcastle. The only positive is that it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeanneKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

As an international traveller who has travelled extensively, I would have to rate this motel as one of the worst I have ever stayed in. I wonder if this particular motel has been subject to any sort of inspection by the motel association of NSW. Upon arrival I was handed the key but not requested to sign anything or provide any car rego or credit card which I find very strange. The room itself was antiquated and I was greeted by the overwhelming smell of mould and mustiness. This mould was obvious on the roof and back of curtains. The shower glass was cracked and dirty and the beds were rock hard. My only wish was that I had checked the other reviews before booking. With the $ 130 we paid for a night I did not get value for money and my only recommendation would be to never stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimMZunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at this motel and in our opinion it was not worth the approx $120 we paid for a "deluxe" room. Office staff were friendly however that could not make up for a couple of issues. The sign out the front said "Pool" and "Foxtel". It was quite hot and we wanted to have a swim...no pool. My husband wanted to watch the football...no Foxtel. (New management had not renewed the subscription). The beds were very firm, I ended up using the bedspread and blanket under the sheet for padding...even then it was difficult to sleep due to a cricket in the ceiling making a high pitched noise (lucky I had earplugs). Room was also not serviced until mid afternoon. When returning to the motel after dark, about 8.30pm, the sign was not lit and we missed the driveway.On the plus side it was fairly quiet even though on a main road and convenient location for our purpose.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clapnpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

the room was disgusting the place should be bombed there was a baby cockroach in the bathroom the shower was mouldy the room smelled musty i didn't even want to stay there after i walked in do yourself a favour and find somewhere else for $115 a night this place is a disgrace.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

find another hotel is all I can say.
yes price was average $85, BUT it's not worth it.
rooms were very small, dark & basic, bathroom you have to walk sideways.
heating did NOT work, I froze all night, bed NOT comfy.
I stayed 2 nights, NO room service was done & I wasn't told.
no shops nearby to eat.
there was only 1 other car at motel so that says it all!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiesenior2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Yes the room we had was clean and suprisingly spacious, but that is all the positives I can say about this place.
Upon arrival, the gentleman at the front desk could barely say 2 words to me. He didn't even get my credit card details, car rego number or sign any paperwork when I checked in! When we got to the room, I was taken back, but not deterred by the out dated furnishings. The room had a very stale smell in it. If I had the time to see reception about it I definitely would have.
The shower had little to no water pressure and the toilet wasn't very clean and the air conditioing was so noisy-very loud!
The location didn't bother me as such, because it was only a few (about 7km) from a venue we needed to go, but if anyone decieds to stay at Links Motel, please do not rely on the taxi service. It was half an hour late on the way to the venue, and on the way home, one didn't even show. We ended up having to walk the 7kms back!! By the time we got back, we were looking forward to bed, only to find the mattress was rock hard with a broke headboard.
Check out time couldn't have come fast enough. At least the woman at the front desk in the morning seemed much more pleasant.
What I was hoping to be a good weekend getaway with my husband, turned out to be a nightmare in my books, and I'm sorry but Links Motel was a contributing factor. For the $125/night I paid, it was not worth it. I have stayed in much better places for the same price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The motel is situated at the main road so it's easy to find although you might pass it as they are no signs before the motel itself. The whole motel looks a bit shady and is in need of thorough refurbishment.

The room was very small and so was the bathroom. If you are a bit taller/bigger you’ll find it difficult to use the toilet. Although everything looked quite clean I didn’t feel too comfortable using the kitchenware and have experienced few problems trying to get the kettle to work. The refrigerator was very loud but at least it was working. I was glad I have stayed only one night but I guessfor that price I should not expected any better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KNellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fern Bay
5.1 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
216 reviews
7.9 mi away
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
118 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sir Francis Drake Inn
Sir Francis Drake Inn
#23 of 32 in Port Stephens
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Karuah Gardens Motel
Karuah Gardens Motel
#3 of 3 in Karuah
27 reviews
6.9 mi away
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
#3 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
158 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Links Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Links Motel

Address: 1024 Nelson Bay Rd, Fern Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2295, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Fern Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fern Bay
Price Range: $74 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newcastle Links Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 'new' Newcastle Links Motel. We are under new Ownership and Management and working on renovations to bring the 'Links' up to its potential. The Motel consists of 26 guest rooms offering different levels of accommodation from Double to Family. An updated BBQ area in the gardens is for guest use throughout the day and evening. The recent renovations include a breakfast room and Bar facilities for drink purchases to be enjoyed at the bar, in your room or in the gardens. The motel is close to Newcastle Airport (10 minutes drive), Stockton Beach, Stockton Ferry to Newcastle centre and Newcastle Port(only a 5 minute drive, great for fishing and relaxing). The Motel has a garden setting overlooking the Newcastle Golf Course, ranked in the top 10 in Australia. Golf packages are available, please contact us with any queries. Regular business workers and holiday guests are offered a special discounted rate on their welcome back. There are a few hotels, clubs and restaurants a 5 minute drive away and the RSL club runs a free shuttle bus to the motel. Several of the local restaurants deliver to the Motel in the evenings. Buses leave every half hour outside the motel (6.00am TO 8.00pm Mon to Sat)for Stockton Beach and meet the Stockton Ferry for a leisurely cruise to Newcastle CBD. By car its a 4 minute drive to the beach or approximately 18 minutes drive to Major Shopping Centres and CBD. Nearby are the Quadbike King Adventures and Fighterworld. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Newcastle Links Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Links Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing