We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of Deposits” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Links Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newcastle Links Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fern Bay
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware of Deposits”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I had made a booking and paid a deposit $110.00, unfortunately I needed to cancel the booking, I gave 72 Hrs notice on the 12Dec11 to the motel via E-mail. Numerous E-mails and phone calls, the motel refuses to acknowledge my request for a refund. Be very very, aware, when paying a deposit to this establishment, they will not return it to you. In my way of thinking that could be called, Fraud. Oh, the deposit was paid on the 25/11/11.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
19
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Shabby but guess okey for money spent . Staff not so friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yume66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fern Bay hotels

Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

We wanted a cheap, quiet weekend away and this place was great for it. We had a nice CLEAN room for only $80. Previous reviewers, you get what you pay for. This was value for money!!!! The Lady at reception was very helpful and polite and gave us maps and ideas on places to go. They were happy to give us cultery and plates so we could use their BBQ. If people want four star luxury then pay for it. Yes the furniture was slightly old but it was all still clean. I would happily stay here again. What do you expect for $80, Stop wanting something for nothing and treat people how you want to be treated. Grace in Sydney

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

It's the Pits. There's NO BREAKFAST served here. They advertise they have a restaurant but the don't. You have to walk down to a Take-Away Shop to get breakfast. The nearest restaurants are almost 6 kilometres away. The reviews about the receptionist being abrupt and grumpy are true. Do yourself a favour and book somewhere else. Trust me.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inland-tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladesville, Australia
Level Contributor
466 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,768 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

We wanted a cheap place to stay near Newcastle that was close to the airport. I’m not too fussed that the Newcastle Links Motel is located in the middle of nowhere or off lonely Nelson Bay rd, I got what I paid for & at $60 a night, I was laughing, it beats sleeping in a bus shelter or under someone’s car to save money.

Yes this place is old & there is nothing inspiring about the 80’s flower patterned curtains or the old tiles in the bathroom, point being the place was at least clean. If I were Queen Elizabeth I may have had an issue or two but who cares, it’s a motel & they’re supposed to be that way.

Our room was comfortable, had a queen-sized bed, table, chairs & most importantly free Foxtel! Most hotels three times the price don’t have this luxury so thank the gods for common sense & decency.

Having a car was definitely an advantage as it wasn’t hard to drive into Newcastle for dinner or else I imagine Stockton, which is little more than a backwater ghost town, would be the uninspiring place to find a meal.

The motel is located next to a small golf course & a take-away store that faces Nelson Bay rd. This road is a pretty long road & runs the 35-odd kms to Nelson Bay at its end so keep in mind the Newcastle Links Motel is towards the Stockton end. There is a fenced swimming pool for the kids & definitely no party scene so no bikini-clad women id imagine.

I rang up & spoke to the reception dude who was a kind old guy who gave me the room for $60 instead of the advertised $65 on Wotif.com so cheers to him. He even took the effort to point out the spots to eat & had an answer to all our questions. He even gave us maps & knew the local area of Stockton & Newcastle well.

You should stay here if you like the peace & quiet of nowhere, otherwise it is a cheap alternative to staying in Newcastle & paying for overpriced rooms with no views.

  • Liked — Its cheap
  • Disliked — Not within walking distance to anywhere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

This motel turned out to be very conveniant for my work, 10 km from the airport, i got the $60 a day room, even though it would have been $70 on weekends, because i was staying 3 weeks the lady gave me a $55 a day rate for my whole stay here. the room got everything i need, a bathroom, aircondition, Fridge, hairdryer, iron and iron board, 50cm tv with foxtel, two movie channels and foxtel sport, i park my car outside my room, there is a pool, everything is nice and green. The lady at reception is the owner, she's nice when you get to know her, and she does smile. The room is serviced and cleaned everyday, even if you touch the towel they'll replace it, and they'll replace the soap if you take it out of the wraper. A kettle, coffee, tea and sugar are provided, and some milk, IGA is about 5km away in stockton, there is a takeaway shop outside the motel which closes at 7pm. The Lady gives you details of places to eat.
I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Foxtel movie channels, and access to wireless internet at $30 a week
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BilalB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe sydney nsw australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

In contrast to some of the former guests comments on your website I found the receptionist extremely pleasent & helpfull. We found our room clean & all facilities in good working order. we found the motel (a couple of miles from the local rsl) a bit far for walking but their was a public bus service & the rsl supplied a courtesy bus which was great. On the down side the newcastle taxi 24 hr service was a complete waste of time as we & other people we met during our stay found that they didnt even answer some of our calls & when they did, didnt turn up. Thank god the motel had supplied us with a bus timetable. Bob & Viv from Tempe would like to thank you for your hospitality.

  • Liked — Peace & quiet
  • Disliked — Breakfast not being served in your room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gumnut_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fern Bay
5.1 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
18.0 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
19.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
8.2 mi away
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Links Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Links Motel

Property: Newcastle Links Motel
Address: 1024 Nelson Bay Rd, Fern Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2295, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Fern Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fern Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newcastle Links Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 'new' Newcastle Links Motel. We are under new Ownership and Management and working on renovations to bring the 'Links' up to its potential. The Motel consists of 26 guest rooms offering different levels of accommodation from Double to Family. An updated BBQ area in the gardens is for guest use throughout the day and evening. The recent renovations include a breakfast room and Bar facilities for drink purchases to be enjoyed at the bar, in your room or in the gardens. The motel is close to Newcastle Airport (10 minutes drive), Stockton Beach, Stockton Ferry to Newcastle centre and Newcastle Port(only a 5 minute drive, great for fishing and relaxing). The Motel has a garden setting overlooking the Newcastle Golf Course, ranked in the top 10 in Australia. Golf packages are available, please contact us with any queries. Regular business workers and holiday guests are offered a special discounted rate on their welcome back. There are a few hotels, clubs and restaurants a 5 minute drive away and the RSL club runs a free shuttle bus to the motel. Several of the local restaurants deliver to the Motel in the evenings. Buses leave every half hour outside the motel (6.00am TO 8.00pm Mon to Sat)for Stockton Beach and meet the Stockton Ferry for a leisurely cruise to Newcastle CBD. By car its a 4 minute drive to the beach or approximately 18 minutes drive to Major Shopping Centres and CBD. Nearby are the Quadbike King Adventures and Fighterworld. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Newcastle Links Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Links Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing