We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a our reunion of family & friends...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chateau Jautrudon

Front of Chateau
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Chateau
Pool and Chateau Main Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Front of Chateau
Pool and Chateau
Main Kitchen
Entrance Hall
Tennis Court
Stairway
Pool Terrace
Pool
Chateau and Park
Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Summer Kitchen
Library
Library
Dining Room
Bathroom
Main Bedroom
Rear of Chateau
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KRC2006
Montpellier, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for a our reunion of family & friends from several countries”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were in the Haute-Vienne for a family wedding. The Chateau gave to us in so many ways - immaculately renovated and maintained, there was space (bedrooms AND bathrooms) for a group who had not known one another before. The ambience of sitting on the upper terrace surrounded by the Chateau's immense outdoor spaces, of the younger group's runs and walks through the parklike surroundings, tennis, other outdoor games, enjoying aperos by the pool which afforded shade in many areas throughout the day, and dinners outside in the balmy evenings until midnight, created a memory bank for everyone of one of the happiest times of our lives. We felt privileged to be there and to enjoy such a gracious home. There were no unhappy moment for the entire week - the Chateau can take due credit for that. One of our group, a talented artist, would sketch early in the day as the sun rose over the property. Shopping in Montmorillon is easy, we were recommended to artisan bakers and butchers by the resident gardiens, as well as the owner, who could not have been more gracious. (Note: the bedrooms are on the first and second floors of the Chateau. People who experience difficulties with stairs may not wish to sprint up and down them).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there
Liked least: Having to drive down the elegant drive for the last time
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ásgeir B
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place - lives up to expectations”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in this wonderful house for 2 weeks during Euro 2016 and used it as a base for going to Iceland's football matches in St. Etienne and Marseilles. The chateu is beautiful and very well equipped for all kinds of activities. It lives up to the description. The host was helpful and friendly. Thank you for your hospitality. We can recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house it self and the pool
Liked least: The basement - ping pong room
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzieWet...
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a most wonderful week at Château Jautrudon as 14 of us gathered for a family celebration. The owners have created a restful and charming place which is extremely family – oriented. They have literally thought of everything to make a holiday stay fantastic, whatever age. The house was immaculate and beautifully furnished and everything worked a treat, and the housekeepers were friendly and attentive. The attractions at the property, swimming pool, tennis court, 3 hole golf course and woods, meant that we did not travel far afield – St Savin and Montmorillon and a walk to Villesalem – but we were grateful to discover a part of France that we did not know at all. We all had a superb holiday and can’t wait to return sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
364amanda
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful house for a holiday”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Chateau Jautrudon had everything you could want to make a family holiday fun - fully equipped with pool, tennis court, golf, boules, croquet, bicycles - something for everyone. Plenty of toys for children and wonderful walks. A fully equipped kitchen with the shops of La Trimouille a bicycle ride away.
The French roads are a joy to drive on and the party arrived from Calais, Dieppe and Limoges with no travel problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lay out of bedrooms
Liked least: We were unlucky with the weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydn R
1 review
“Wonderful Second Visit”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Having experienced such a wonderful holiday in 2012 we could not resist the temptation to return in 2014.
Our recent holiday proved to be every bit as fabulous.
Chateau Jautrudon is breathtakingly beautiful. The immense grounds in which the property stands are comprised of a mixture of well manicured lawns, formal beds and natural woodlands.
As a relatively large group of extended family, we found something for everyone regardless of our ages. We all had our turn simply lazing around the gorgeous pool with a book, cycling into the village, playing tennis, pitch and putt or taking in the wealth of flora and fauna the estate has to offer.
On both occasions we found the chateau to be spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished.
Everything seems to have been thought of by the owners. There are countless books, games and movies, not to mention a terrific selection of local, well priced wines in the cellar to wash down the irresistible local delicacies!
We all felt the Chateau represents excellent value for money and Nicolas and Celine (the house keepers residing nearby) could not do enough to ensure we had a wonderful stay.
An absolute gem not to be missed!

Haydn Royle & family (Manchester, UK )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngtrav...
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to enjoy a whole week at the Chateau Jautrudon in July this year.
As we drove through the corn field towards the woods that hide the chateau we were excited to see where we were staying, we weren't disappointed! What an incredible place! A beautiful lawn led up to something off a movie set, the most perfect chateau.
We played tennis, cycled to the patisserie every morning for glorious croissants, swam in the pool enjoyed BBQs in the evening and unwound for the most perfect week.
We hired a car from the airport and went to La Rochelle for the day, stunning place to enjoy a day out.

I can't recommend Chateau Jautrudon highly enough. My wife, my 12 month old son, my parents and I had a wonderful week and will definitely be returning.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pixiepast...
st austell
1 review
“amazing chateau that built amazing memories”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Amazing place,better than photos!! The drive up takes your breath away and then again when you get inside!,everything in the chateau has been thought about carefully and tastefully from the duck egg blue paintwork to the stunning original French furniture. The chateau is equipped with everything you need and more.....we held our wedding celebrations here and had a amazing time with family,they all enjoyed themselves and wish they could come back
The owner is very good and kept in touch with all my emails and the caretaker is on hand with anything you may need help with and very friendly chap
We had a local bakery deliver fresh bread,pain au chocolats etc each morning
P.s if you book with friends/family etc make sure you grab the room with the ensuite roll top bath its to die for!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decor,furntiure and grounds
Liked least: when we had to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing