We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only they knew how to run a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Remigio
Reviewed January 14, 2013

After receiving no answer on the phone from the airport (countless calls between me and my cabdriver) I arrived (following a two and a half hour cab ride) to find that they didn't know I was coming because I never "called". After a half hour wait they threw me in a room that was air conditioned to sub-zero with no controls. The toilet was broken, there were no towels and the front desk wouldn't accept a credit card for deposits. The nearest (remote) village was a twenty minute drive away on a dirt road and they provided no shuttle nor were there any cabs.
I called Expedia the next morning and after reading them the riot act, they arranged for better accommodations.
A cab driver had to be called up from Cebu to pick me up. The desk assistant insisted that the fare was 3,000 pesos but wouldn't let me pay the driver directly or do the transaction in front of the front desk. It turned out he paid the driver 1,300 pesos and pocketed the rest. While I'm used to getting scammed here and there in a foreign country (it's part of the game) I take exception when it is from a resort hotel that I booked on a reputable website.
Oh and as far as the title of this review, the resort is located on an absolutely gorgeous piece of real estate that in the hands of anybody of competence would be a five star stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

MEMO TO CASA DEL MAR GUESTS

APOLOGY
On behalf of the Owners we apologize to the Guests that had a disappointing experience in Casa del Mar.

NEW MANAGEMENT
During the last half-year Casa del Mar has been under negotiation and its now finalized. From April 1, 2013 a new, young and experienced Management is taking over the Resort.

GOLF COURSE REFURBISHMENT
The new management is dedicated to golfers and the golf course will be refurbished. Tee houses and toilets will be built, the road will be improved, new Golf Carts will be imported, the Turf Management will be adding new staff, an additional hole will extend the course to 6400 yards, improvements will be done to the Irrigation system and new mowers will be added to the Turf Equipment.

HOTEL UPGRADE
The Hotel will be modernized, flat screens placed in the rooms, new linen, authentic Korean food will be added to the menu, Karaoke, watersport facilities, Wi-Fi, etc. will also be upgraded. Most faucets, doors, curtains will be replaced. An additional indoor dining venue will be added for non-golfers.

NON-GOLFERS SUITES & ROOMS
The Suites on the Ground Floor will cater to non-golfers, families and Members and have a separate Reception and Guest care staff unit. Only the Ground Floor Suites and Rooms will be bookable On-Line.

GOLFERS ROOMS
The Bungalows, Second Floor and Penthouses will be reserved for Golf Packages and Golf groups. These rooms will have separate Guest care staff.

POLO & HORSES
A dozen horses will remain on the property and riders who want to learn or practice polo skills are welcome. Half the polo field will be maintained for Stick & Ball practice. The other half will be used for casual riding on the polo field and around the golf property. Swimming with horses will also be available. All horse activity must be booked the day before. Lessons are offered on weekends only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 56 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

The location is not anywhere near the location purported on the map/website. The bathroom had broken tiles and rusting appliance, dirty sink, beds broken (think hammock), moth balls in the corners mixed in dead flies, used tissue and dust.
We were shown 3 other rooms: broken bathroom counter with rusting nails coming out of it, leaking AC, broken beds, terrible (and highly visible) mould on the walls. Food is very expensive and poor. We ordered roast chicken: we got a piece of chicken back. The manager was rude, it was untenable so we left and found appropriate accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julies S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

MEMO TO CASA DEL MAR GUESTS

APOLOGY
On behalf of the Owners we apologize to the Guests that had a disappointing experience in Casa del Mar.

NEW MANAGEMENT
During the last half-year Casa del Mar has been under negotiation and its now finalized. From April 1, 2013 a new, young and experienced Management is taking over the Resort.

GOLF COURSE REFURBISHMENT
The new management is dedicated to golfers and the golf course will be refurbished. Tee houses and toilets will be built, the road will be improved, new Golf Carts will be imported, the Turf Management will be adding new staff, an additional hole will extend the course to 6400 yards, improvements will be done to the Irrigation system and new mowers will be added to the Turf Equipment.

HOTEL UPGRADE
The Hotel will be modernized, flat screens placed in the rooms, new linen, authentic Korean food will be added to the menu, Karaoke, watersport facilities, Wi-Fi, etc. will also be upgraded. Most faucets, doors, curtains will be replaced. An additional indoor dining venue will be added for non-golfers.

NON-GOLFERS SUITES & ROOMS
The Suites on the Ground Floor will cater to non-golfers, families and Members and have a separate Reception and Guest care staff unit. Only the Ground Floor Suites and Rooms will be bookable On-Line.

GOLFERS ROOMS
The Bungalows, Second Floor and Penthouses will be reserved for Golf Packages and Golf groups. These rooms will have separate Guest care staff.

POLO & HORSES
A dozen horses will remain on the property and riders who want to learn or practice polo skills are welcome. Half the polo field will be maintained for Stick & Ball practice. The other half will be used for casual riding on the polo field and around the golf property. Swimming with horses will also be available. All horse activity must be booked the day before. Lessons are offered on weekends only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had booked room on first floor but found it was not safe for our 2-years old boy, bars missing in the ballustrade. We asked for a ground-floor better room, this is when our problems started - we had booked the former one for 3000 PHP incl. breakfast from booking.com, the one we got was 4000 PHP incl. breakfast on same site, the local manager required 5,500 not incl. breakfast. All the rest was alike: no dining room, you can take dinner only from your room (dinner room booked to holiday camp). Technique to get more money from you: order fried fish from the menu 300 PHP (already overpriced on sea side) - "we don't have fish anymore, but you can get fried fish filet for 400 PHP". What a pity, the beach spot is so nice... but in the middle of nowhere, cross the golf course to reach there so no tricycle waiting at the door, better take your food with you!

Room Tip: Take only the ground floor rooms, be sure you have a firm commitment on the price from a third-party...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean_Fradel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Jean, sorry for the late reply but the Owners were travelling so I waited with my reply. For your info the Ballusters have now all/most been replaced. We are sorry for the inconvenience with changes of rooms. Its a little complicated with On-Line bookings as they are much cheaper than the walk-in rates.
Ad-hoc orders of fresh seafood that must be bought in the market at 5am also has its drawbacks and its hard for the staff to facilitate. Sorry for that, but its not there intention to scam anybody. We are now opening an additional restaurant with Asian and Korean food, focused more on seafood.
We are also refurbishing the Golf Course with our new partners/managers this spring/summer so if you happen to come back maybe we can show you the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Casa Del Mar, We were greeted by a warm and friendly staff full of smiles and welcomes for us, it was just a beautiful sight the beach, pool and grounds. The next day we met the owners if the resort and they could not have done more to make our stay better. I have stayed at many resorts around the world but for the cost of our stay there there is none better. If any thing went wrong they fixed it right on the spot no questions asked except how can we make you happy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarryWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Owner at Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thanks Larry for your nice comments, sorry for the late respons but I just found this reply function, hope to see you again soon, Lars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I had a fantastic weekend at this small ,charming and stunningly beautiful views resort 2 hrs north of Cebu!
Swam with horses in morning,rode/polo in evening and played golf in between. Usually Im not impressed with Philipine food but their international food and Asian food was great. Look forward going back! Ciao!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hogbergr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Mr Hogberg, we are happy you had a good time in Casa del Mar and hope your return is imminent. Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I was in Casa Del Mar about a month ago and it was GREAT! I do not understand why (WanderingCdns) said:"golf" course that is not to be confused with a GOLF Course". Because my family and I had a wonderful time playing golf on the golf course even though it is not a beginner course. The beach was beautiful and had white sad, my wife and I would sit under the sunshades while the kids would play in the sand. The food was great and was well presented. We had a wonderful time but I think that the most exciting moment we've had was when we all rode some of the polo horses! The kids enjoyed walking on a horse up and down the golf course! However since my wife and I are more experienced riders we got to ride very nice POLO PONIES! It was very exciting going up and down the golf course! also we got to watch our very first POLO GAME or chukker as they say, and it was just amazing the players were running fast hitting a tiny ball across a hilly field WOW! what a trip! My family and I are definitely coming back for more!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exploraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Sir, we are satisfied that your trip to Casa del Mar 2 years ago was successful. Since that time the Owners have built a Polo Field and they played Polo every week during 2011 and 2012. For 2013 the Owners are playing in other clubs but we still have a half dozen horses to cater to guests that want to ride on the polo field, golf course or swim in the ocean. Just ask the reception and they will organize, Casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Coming from Cebu, it took 3 hours, but would have been less had we traveled at dawn. I have some friends coming from Perth soon as part of a Golfing | Business trip, so I thought I'd check it out with my wife and refresh my distant memory of Golf, so I would not look foolish. You drive for quite a while on a track within the Golf course towards the coast and into the Hotel. There was a couple riding horses on the fare way, which looked great. First impression, Hotel is not so big, lots of grass, palm trees, ocean and private beach. Bar and coffee shop right on the beach was quite compelling. Buildings had older Mediterranean style, plenty of maintenance and gardeners on the job, which is a good sign. We took a bungalow, was good value, but better for longer stay. The pool is a bit small but plenty of room for a larger one. A bit of rain, but air fresh and every thing green. Food wholesome and a good serving. Near the beach, nice for a quite evening with friends over a nice Shiraz or two.

My golf was terrible, not fit and quite challenging, but the course and view was special. Most time you see no development. It's back to nature.

No complaints, we will be back. Marshall

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marshall1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey D, Public Relations Manager at Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Marshall, we are pleased that your trip to Casa del Mar in 2010 was enjoyable and that you took time to write some nice comments, thanks. The roadwork is now completed, the road is much better, and the trip should only take 2 hours and 15 minutes. The Hotel is being partly refurbished and the golf is up for a do-over during the next few months. We are happy that you appreciated the natural beauty of our golf course and hopefully when you come back it will be more so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Remigio
16.4 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
129 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hagnaya Beach Resort and Restaurant
23.5 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Amihan Beach Cabanas
Amihan Beach Cabanas
#1 of 9 in Bantayan Island
162 reviews
52.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
704 reviews
11.4 mi away
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant and Bar
Beach Placid Resort, Restaurant ...
#3 of 17 in Bantayan Island
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel

Address: Barangay Mano | Barangay Bancasan, San Remigio, Philippines (Formerly Casa Del Mar Golf, Polo & Beach Resort)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > San Remigio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Remigio
Price Range: $37 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Mar Golf, Polo and Beach Resort is a Boutique Resort 2,5 hours away from Cebu City and Mactan International Airport. The Resort offers golf, horseback riding and polo practice beside beach and pool relaxation. Scuba Diving can easily be arrange from nearby dive shop. The food offered in the Coffee shop and Beach Bistro is Mediterranean, Asian and local dishes. Authentic Korean food is added to the menu. There is Billard, Volley ball and Karaoke for extra activities. The resort is secluded and you won't be bothered by vendors, traffic or other disturbances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Casa Del Mar Golf And Dive Hotel
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Cebu Island/San Remigio, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing