We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elveden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Center Parcs Elveden Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Over priced!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at Elvedon with some friends and their two children. We stayed in a "comfort plus" level of accommodation and it was AWFUL!!! It was in the Pine area, which is currently under going a refurb. Unfortunately, the one we were in, hadn't been looked at for about 20 years. It stank of damp dog/stale cigarettes, the window sills inside and out were filthy, the carpet disgusting, and all the sinks gave off a horrible smell. This ruined our stay, and the entire party left on Sunday instead of Monday. We did some activities which were good, shame about the accommodation!!!!!

Room Tip: For the price they charge, get on a plane and head for some sun!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Bibby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Elveden Forest, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your post.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your villa on this occasion.

We do ask that any problems that you let us know at the time and I understand that you did not do this and unfortunately we were not given any opportunity to try and resolve any issues for you.

I note that you have also made contact with Guest Services at Head Office and we have responded accordingly to the issues raised.

Kind regards

Therese Garratt
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,564
    2,598
    1,140
    507
    291
See reviews for
5,751
880
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,080)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from a midweek stay at Elvedon.
This time we opted for an Original Style Executive villa 907. We were outside our villa for 3pm and had to wait til nearly 4pm to get in.
Apparently,lots of cleaners had phoned in sick and because we arrived on the village in the morning,no one was able to let us know. We were compensated with some vouchers however,so we used this against our meal out.

I have to say....this time...the standard of clean was far better than in the Comfort Plus we had last year. It was a 2 bed and each room had an en-suite. The main room had a round Jacuzzi bath which was massive!! We loved it and so did the kids.
Yes decor could be better...but at least it was clean!!
Maid service was excellent.
Karin(hope i got your name right)hoovered,washed up breakfast stuff,emptied the dishwasher that we'd put on the night before,made beds and towel Elephants for the kids....which they loved and did a general clean round oh and cleaned out the fire place as we'd had a log burning the night before. Kids thought it was amazing and asked if they could live there all the time,so they wouldn't have to do any jobs!!

We also had wi-fi which was great,as we needed to sort out a few things on line when we first got in.

We had a lovely view out the back of a lake and had regular visits to our patio of geese,squirrels,ducks,morehens,a coot and even a young deer.

The stsp was great as usual with the added bonus of the Tropical Cyclone. We all loved it,though be warned,you may suffer whiplash injuries,lol.
We went on time and time again and i even filmed us on it several times.

Restaurants still pretty much the same as last time....over priced for what you get. You would be very lucky to get a decent adults meal for less than £10,unless you want a burger in the Canopy cafe in the stsp,but there are deals for the kids. Our meal in Hucks,which is one of the cheaper places to eat,for 2 adults and 2 kids,came to just short of £50. The kids had a buffet meal deal,which includes a drink and dessert and we had a main meal and a soft drink.
You would certainly need lots of money if you wanted to eat out every night!!
The service we received though was very good and the young man that we had,was very polite and chatty.

The only sports we did were badminton and skating,otherwise we would have spent a fortune. We hired the badminton court around 8pm one night and because it was very quiet and we had our own rackets etc,we did get a lot of extra time,which was great.

We would go back again,but would not want to go any lower than the Executive villas.

I do think though that Center Parcs should offer the chance for you to stay on in one of the unbooked villas for a very cheap rate. We were there Mon-Fri and didn't leave til nearly 10pm and noticed that there were still lots of empty villas. Had we have been able to get one of these villas cheap,last second.com,we would have taken it.
Just an idea maybe? Letting them out cheap has got to be better than not letting them out at all?

All in all though,this experience was far better than last time. We nearly didn't go back,but decided to upgrade a bit and see if it was any better....and it was.

Room Tip: Try to book at least an Executive if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBandCAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in a Comfort Plus villa, which was very nice - it had clearly been redecorated fairly recently (it looked like all the villas were being done) and things like the floor-to-ceiling blackboard and chalk were nice touches that were great for families! The grounds were all very nice and it was quite flat so cycling around wasn't an issue.

I bought a fitness pass for the duration of the midweek break - this was £10 completely wasted! I was expecting a decent gym as Center Parcs seems to highlight how good it is for an active holiday, but it was a tiny room with some cardio equipment and about 3 weights machines - no free weights whatsoever and very little space to do any floor work. Given that there are more than enough opportunities for running and cycling around the grounds, I'm not sure that dedicating the space to treadmills and exercise bikes over strength training equipment was the right move! I did go to a kettle bells class, which was very good, though this was an extra £7.50 on top of what I'd already spent on the "fitness pass".

The other activities and food were all very expensive as well - it's definitely worth bringing along some of your own food to eat in a few times if you're on any sort of budget. The pool was free, but very cold for little ones (the toddler section was being re-done) - we had to take my 16 month old niece out after a while as she was shivering. This was a shame as the constant expense left a bit of a bitter taste, when the holiday itself was so expensive, it felt like they knew you were likely to stay on site most of the time so they were going to squeeze as much money out of you as possible!

Overall, it was a pleasant stay mostly because of the nice grounds and accommodation, but there were a few too many disappointments with the price and some facilities for me to really recommend it with any enthusiasm!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Elveden Forest, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am sorry that you felt the prices of the activities were too expensive. We do try to maintain an average of prices which are comparable to those of the general marketplace. Comparisons between ourselves and other similar organisations across the country takes place on a regular basis.

Despite this, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the grounds and the accommodation.

Thanks for posting.

Kind regards

Therese Garratt
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic mid-week break at Elveden and absolutely loved the Tropical Cyclone with photos to prove it!
We managed to use the 'penny' slot machine at Longleat last year and produced a special coin with Longleat and 2012. We were disappointed that the penny slot machines were very basic at Elveden and would have liked an Elveden and 2013 to mark our visit. It would be great to collect a penny coin from each of the Center Parcs villages with the year as a special momentum!
Could you update your machines at Elveden and any others that don't have the village name and the present year?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a new style exec lodge (3 bed) - three generations of family with a 2.5yo and 5mo. Great stay - loved seeing nature and animals came almost to our patio doors including: ducks, squirrels, muntjac deer, green woodpecker, heron, rabbits... The outdoor parks and play area in the Forresters Inn were great. Shame about the dark, tatty and sticky soft play in sports cafe. Swimming pool busy and hectic. Restaurant food in Forresters inn and pancake house was going but overpriced- same for take away. Villa was well equipped but could do with a bit of a touch up to the paint as starting to get a bit tatty. A few maintenance issues e.g. Dishwasher, shower screen faulty but fixed quickly. Friendly housekeepers and it was clean. Shame showers ran cold if using more than one at once! All in all, a good week!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Elveden Forest, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi and thanks for posting.

It’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed seeing many different species of wildlife from your villa.

I am sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay were not as good as other parts, however, I am glad to hear that when you did have an issue with the dishwasher this was resolved when reported.

I do hope that we will be seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

Therese Garratt
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first time at Elveden Forest as it is a long way from where we live. We usually go to Whinfell, which we love. Elveden was very impressive in its size and variety of wildlife. The wildlife hide was at the side of the main road into the village and it was very noisy as building work is going on just now and heavy trucks constantly trundled past. It didn't appear to bother the wildlife though down in the hollow.
We stayed in an executive villa, which was unimpressive on the outside, but lovely inside. We had lovely weather for the first few days so we were able to sit out on the patio and enjoy the views. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. The cyclone ride in the pool was brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsgreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just come back from a week at Elveden Forest Centre Parcs and have had a great week. 8 people in our party, 2 under 5yrs, 2 over 80 yrs. We had a disabled lodge, good amount of space in wet room and in the disabled bedroom, also around the kitchen area. Only did a few activities which was just right for us. Children loved the outdoor and indoor play areas and the princess and pirate party! A good relaxing week.
Few tips - about 2 miles from the parc is a Sainsbury, just off the roundabout on the main road. Go there and stock up before going in. Have a look around the swimming pool when you first go in, we missed some bits until the last day! The slow river is great, children loved it.
There are communal areas in the main complex at the village square so you can sit there and have your own sandwiches/drinks, saves a few pennies especially if you know the children only want a bit to eat.
If you go to starbucks go to the one by the lake, its quieter and great to sit outside, the ducks wonder around the tables. All the staff were really friendly and helpful.
We will be going back, looking forward to it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elveden
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
8.4 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,182 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
667 reviews
19.4 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Elveden Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Elveden Forest

Property: Center Parcs Elveden Forest
Address: Elveden Forest, Elveden IP24 3TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Elveden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Elveden
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Elveden Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Elveden Forest Hotel Elveden
Center Parcs Hotel Suffolk
Center Parcs Suffolk
Center Parcs Elveden Forest England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing