We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elveden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Center Parcs Elveden Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a short break between Christmas and New Year with our two grown up sons (aged 20 & 24). We stayed in a New style woodland lodge which was really well equipped and spotlessly clean.
We had a blast. The new water ride, the Cyclone, was fantastic, and swimming in the outside lagoon at night was lovely.
We booked dinner on the first night at Bella Italia which was delicious and the service was first class especially considering how busy it was. We had lunch the following day at Cafe Rouge which we found a little disappointing. The Pizza delivery was very good and value for money, unlike the Chinese or Indian menus which would have been around £70 for a meal for 4 people!
The wildlife was wonderful, and the ducks and geese really do come right to the door for breakfast.
We would definately recommend pre booking any dinner reservations, especially at busy times of year.
Centre Parcs is not cheap, but we think it's worth it and it's somewhere for all ages. We'll be back.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank hairnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6,521 - 6,527 of 8,579 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Booked the few days off between the start of New year and having to go back to work. For the price it was very good. The swimming pool was great, it had a rapids, water slides and the cyclone water ride (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gec0RzspHrg) which was brilliant. The weather was rubbish but there was still plenty to do, what with indoor badminton, pool, bowling a small dance floor area for the little ones and a few shops like fat face, white stuff, starbucks etc. You need to book your activities in advance to be sure you get them or you can just take your chances and see whats free when you get there.

One thing I will say. If you like to spectate whilst the kids are slashing about in the pool and you're poolside, then you'll need to take a swimming costume with you. The only way in is through the changing rooms and into the pool area, which does have plenty of tables and chairs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

another fab break at Centre Parcs (Elveden) for our annual Christmas get together with my sis and bro in law. We get together for a midweek break to celebrate an early christmas and love that CP have villas that allow dogs, so this year our new westie Bonny Blu got her first taste of CP and she loved it. We went to the spa on our Christmas Eve which was fab, very relaxing to set the tone for the week. Our CP christmas day included a christmas market and a fabulous firework display and the best touch real snow which made my sis in law and my day - it involved dancing on the patio. We stayed in a Woodland villa which was very comfortable, my bro in law (the chef!) mastered the CP oven as we like to self cater apart from the odd treat out, could not fault our stay from start to finish. I started my CP adventure in 1990 at Elvedon and still find it as exciting as then. The Winter wonderland is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandynan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

everyone who has experienced CP at any of their centers knows what to expect, and can usually be assured a great time. It's good to know that the centers do evolve and decent, new attractions are added. The Cyclone is definitely that. And no additionally cost - even better. Aimed at 7+ due to height restrictions, this is worth a small amount of queuing. Ignore the first ride - it's all over too quickly. Go again, and you'll take much more in. Staff currently very helpful and friendly-best break we've had a elveden for some time.

Room Tip: I think it's worth paying the extra for a central location, and an updated villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mammamiaharpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were unlucky in that we didn't have a refurbished villa. It was shabby in places but mainly clean, apart from the remote control which was thick with grime ewww. Just a general lack of maintenance, eg old and rusty fixtures and fittings.

The burger from Dexters was shocking. I haven't had a beef burger like that since the 70s. It was rubbery and a lump of hard gristle in every bite. Overall we found the food from the Center Parcs outlets poor quality and very expensive. Cafe Rouge maintains its usual standard.

Overall we were disappointed with the experience and we have been many times over the years. The one exception was the water ride Cyclone, which was the best water ride I've been on and that includes Florida.

Completely agree with another reviewer about the body dryers in the changing rooms. I had a vomitty bug after using that a couple of years ago - definite health hazard!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrickEars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just returned from a 3-day midweek break. We stayed in the Lakeview Hotel. The accommoation was great - very clean and well maintained. The Subtropical Swimming Paradise was fun. We tried to visit the Starbucks in there, which was meant to be open till 7pm, but at 5pm it was shut. Then tried the Canopy Bar who wouldn't serve any food as their kitchen was closed (also not in line with their official opening times).

We had breakfast passes booked, which allowed us to choose between the Sports Bar, Forresters, and Cafe Rouge. We tried the Sports Bar on the first morning and the breakfast was pretty horrendous - dry and stale scrambled egg and awful sausages. We opted for Cafe Rouge the next day, but it wasn't much of an improvement. Extremely cheap and tasteless sausages and a 'Continental Breakfast' that really had nothing to do with the sort of things you'd expect in a continental breakfast.

One evening we tried to eat out at Huck's. It was early, only 4pm and the place looked empty. We were asked if we had booked a table - we hadn't - and promptly informed that they were fully booked for the night. The place was empty at the time.
We then tried the Pancake House. Turns out they just closed to prepare for evening kids entertainment. We'd done Bella Italia the day before (Bella Italia is the only place worth eating at at Center Parcs - they're fantastic) and didn't fancy more Cafe Rouge, so Dexter's Kitchen seemed like the only option. Their food was okay, if a bit bland. Wouldn't have chosen to eat there if the alternatives would have let us in.

The Aqua Sana spa is fantastic, although not big enough to spend an entire day without getting bored. We had booked the World of Spa for 2, which included a full-size welcome drink and pastry as well as lunch at Zilli Cafe. Zilli Cafe has lovely food (surprisingly!), and the overall spa experience was good. We also had pedicure treatments, which were probably the only reasonably affordable treatments available at Aqua Sana. Very enjoyable, though.

On our last night we also had an incident of an 11pm fire alarm. That went completely unmanaged by hotel staff and was a huge nuissance.

We went as a couple. We may consider returning with the kids and booking a lodge (doing our own cooking), but only on a good offer. Generally, the 2 nights/3 days were enough. For accommodation alone I'd rate Center Parcs higher, but the food situation was really quite a let down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

After a very lovely morning in the Spa the whole day was ruined by the Very Inexperence of the Beauty Theapist. The treatment were expensive which I would not have minded if the Theapist done a good job. A back neck & shoulder massage should be 25min lasted 10 mins, and was not a massage.
Aqua Suna's response was "sorry"! Not good enough with the prices you charge you should have better staff. A total disappointment!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Angie9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elveden
4.5 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
649 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
13.8 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
460 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
533 reviews
4.3 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Elveden Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Elveden Forest

Address: Elveden Forest, Elveden IP24 3TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Elveden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Elveden
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Elveden Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Elveden Forest Hotel Elveden
Center Parcs Hotel Suffolk
Center Parcs Suffolk
Center Parcs Elveden Forest England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing