We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Successful Burns Night”

The Elveden Courtyard Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Elveden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dereham, Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Successful Burns Night”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We attended Elveden Burns Night for the third successive year.The meal was very good and well served. The post meal music particularly suitable.This venue is not inexpensive, but offers good value. We will visit again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    123
    38
    35
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazingly Busy”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have used Elveden on several occasions when travelling to or from Norfolk with our Caravan as it has a huge car park which can accommodate us.

We were on our way back from London today and popped in for lunch. We were amazed to see the car park nearly full. This is on a Monday Lunchtime, in January, on a road which is in the middle of major road works for at least the next 12 months!

There were two tables free so we were able to be fed.

As we were only looking for a sandwich, we both opted for the Gammon, Rocket and Onion Chutney on Granary. These arrived within 5 minutes of being ordered. The bread was fresh and moist, that gammon very tasty and the onion marmalade did not overwhelm the sandwich. All very good.

I am encouraged to see that they are very busy and deservedly so!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Never Again”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with the service and the food. Both myself and my friend ordered roast beef. My friends portion was at least 70% fat. Very embarrassingly she made a complaint. When we had finished our lunch we had staff walk straight past our table on at least 5 occasions congregating to chat on the sidelines without removing our plates. I then made a complaint to the manager who didn't seem bothered we were unhappy. Will never be eating here again and will not be recommending it to friends.

Helpful?
Thank Brocklesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elveden, Manager at The Elveden Courtyard Restaurant, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Ms Brocklesby,

I am most disappointed to read your comments and am very sorry that your experience with us was not enjoyable. We pride ourselves on providing a consistently high level of service and food, so this is most upsetting.

I can assure you that as soon as you brought your unhappiness at the service you had received to my attention I immediately spoke to your waitress. I was then in constant contact with her to ensure that you were not kept waiting.

When you declined the offer of complimentary desserts I was more than happy to remove one of the main courses from the bill. Your waitress said that you were satisfied with this and that you thanked her before leaving. I apologise if my actions gave you the impression that I wasn’t bothered as I can assure you that this is not the case.

Please feel free to contact me on 01842 898068 if you would like to discuss the matter any further.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Frosty to start - warmed up later....”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

An impromptu decision to call in at Elveden on a miserable Sunday afternoon for a late lunch resulted in a pleasant, but certainly not spectacular, experience here. Admittedly our party was rather more focussed on catching up with each other than making quick decisions about what to eat, but the waitress was distinctly brisk with us when the cafe was by no means full. However, once we'd opted for teas, an americano and either toasted bacon and brie sandwiches or the BBQ pulled pork baps things started to improve. The food was fresh and tasty, reasonably priced considering the location and came with the obligatory salad garnish and crisps on the side. Requests for more hot water were received well and we went on to order a round of cakes - the carrot cake was sublime, the coffee & walnut and chocolate not so amazing...but the jug of cream certainly helped! A nice location for a wander round with a decent farm shop and some other outlets in the courtyard. I'm sure there was a lot more to do had the weather been kinder. Some interesting looking events coming up will probably draw us back at some stage.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We visited Elveden Estate for the first time and were very impressed by the shops We decided to have a late lunch in the cafe restaurant as it looked very welcoming and the menu was tempting. Service was very friendly and helpful. My husband ordered a Guinness (the perfect place to have one) and I had a Shandy. We both had the sausage and mash which had high quality sausages accompanied by roast garlic mashed potatoes and perfectly cooked carrots, broccoli and beets. The gravy was excellent. Compliments to the chef! We finished our meal with an amaretto and chocolate cheesecake for my husband. I had the hot chocolate with marshmallows and cream, which was very tasty but the beverage could have been hotter. We enjoyed the ambience and friendly service and will definitely be visiting the estate on a regular basis. Free wi-fi was a bonus.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elveden Courtyard Restaurant also viewed

Elveden, Suffolk
Thetford, Norfolk
 

Been to The Elveden Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing