We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic B and B”
other travelers have booked this property
Barrow room with king sized bed + single + en-suite 35m2. Tea and coffee making facilities. Wifi +TV
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barrow room with king sized bed + single + en-suite 35m2. Tea and coffee making facilities. Wifi +TV
Barrow room with en-suite. Tea and coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi  & Smart Tv Barrow room King & Single bed + en-suite. Free Wifi and Smart TV. Tea & Coffee making facilities.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Barrow room with king sized bed + single + en-suite 35m2. Tea and coffee making facilities. Wifi +TV
Barrow room with en-suite. Tea and coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi  & Smart Tv
Barrow room King & Single bed + en-suite. Free Wifi and Smart TV. Tea & Coffee making facilities.
Dresser Barrow room
Shower Barrow room
Barrow room tea & coffee
Liffey room with mini fridge + en-suite. 29M2 Tea + coffee making facilities. Free Wifi &  Smart TV
Liffey room dresser.
Liffey room en-suite.
Breakfast at Beechlawn
Kitchen at Beechlawn
Breakfast at Beechlawn
Beechlawn Farm Kitchen
Outside seating area
Entrance to rooms park at your own door.
Piano and bar room
Piano and bar room
Bar
Beechlawn Farmhouse
Beechlawn daffodils.
Sheep farming at Beechlawn
American barn style stables
Menage at Beechlawn
Beechlawn Farm
Beechlawn hacking
Beechlawn show jumping
Jumping @ Beechlawn
Beechlawn Farm
Galloping at Beechlawn
Stables at Beechlawn
Barrow room seating area
Outside view of kitchen and Barrow and Liffey rooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Calverstown, County Kildare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ralph0601
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic B and B”
Reviewed November 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We just stayed one night at Margarets gorgeous B and B and booked the 2 rooms.
The beds were very comfortable, tea coffee facilities, luxurious towels. Margaret and Denis are lovely people and Margaret looked after our every need. The B and B is in a gorgeous location and would love to explored a bit more if it had not been raining. A perfect little play room was available for the kids which kept them happy. We were treated to delicious full Irish breakfast in Margarets lovely home the following morning. Would highly recommend and would love to return again one day. Thank you Margaret and Denis

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Beechlawn. It was a pleasure to host you all, we especially enjoy having little ones here and we very much look forward to welcoming you all again next time you visit Co Kildare. Warmest Regards Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Crumlin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Spent two night here it was absolutely brilliant! In a really beautiful location, really enjoyed seeing the horses and sheep it was very peaceful and relaxing with unbelievable hosting..felt so welcome from the moment we arrived! The food was delicious, Margaret is a superb cook, constantly filling the glasses! Will definitely be back soon..thanks so much for a wonderful time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Catherine
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am so happy you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed Beechlawn. It was lovely to host you all, and I very much look forward to welcoming you back again anytime. Warmest Regards Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights at Beechlawn B&B and would like to say what a pleasure it was. Margaret has high customer service focus and made us feel welcome the minute we arrived. The breakfast was a delight, with little touches that wouldn't be out of place in a 5 star hotel, but made it so much than just a cooked breakfast. The beds were really comfortable and the bedding of the highest quality; needless to say we all had the perfect nights sleep. I would go back in heartbeat and recommend it to anybody looking for an exceptionally good value for money overnight stay in Kildare.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. We take pride in our work and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect. It was a pleasure meeting you, and your lovely family. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Beechlawn in the future.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Co Kildare.

Warmest regards
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyvict...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique boutique style haven”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful b&b. The room is really lovely, ultra comfy beds and lots of space. The facilities were great too. The owners are fabulous, so friendly and helpful, they really made our stay extra special! The breakfasts are delicious too. Thank you so much for our stay, I’d recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Kildare, especially if your are visiting the National Irish Stud or Kildare shopping village as they are very easily accessible from here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Dear Holly
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in the Barrow Room at Beechlawn, your kind words are very much appreciated. Your feedback is very valuable to us as we work to be better each and every day. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we would be delighted to welcome you back here anytime.
Warmest Regards
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaisyYork
Mayo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We were met by Margaret and shown to our room. The door on the room was an actual stable door with a padlock. The room had a double and single bed. There were three small frosted windows which resulted in very poor natural light.There were no bedside tables and a very large wardrobe with a lot of the owners clothes in it. The bathroom was of adequate size with a large multi jet shower. The shower had dust around the entrance and there were numerous half used shower gels, shampoo etc. We were unable to use the shower the next morning so we asked Margaret for some assistance. The problem appeared to be a tripped switch which Margaret could not fix, she took little interest and to quote said "sh*t happens". She did offer us the use of the shower in the room next door. This was not a solution as the guest had just checked out and the en-suite had not been cleaned. Margaret did not offer to clean it before our use. We felt a little awkward going in for breakfast as we felt Margaret did not have a very good customer service attitude. There was no apology about the shower. Breakfast was good. However at €120 a night we were left disappointed by our experience and will not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
This guest booked through Airbnb and had a chance to post an official review there, but chose instead to use an alias on TA. I’m very sorry we could not please him as we take customer satisfaction very seriously. The trip switch was fixed within 10 minutes and the other bathroom was refused under any circumstances. My full review of this guest may be found here: https://www.airbnb.ie/users/show/126124480
Airbnb have been advised to warn other potential hosts of his bizarre behaviour!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viviennes...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best B&B we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Beechlawn for only three nights, but that was enough for us to feel totally 'at home', and really sad when we had to leave.
Never before have we met hosts like Margaret and Denis - so warmly friendly and generous, with nothing too much trouble. We didn't feel like paying guests; rather, we felt like old friends.
We stayed in the Barrow room, and were amazed at how well it was presented - beautifully furnished, exceptionally clean and fresh, with everything we could possibly need, including a lovely basket of fresh fruit and the most delicious biscuits. The bed was large and very comfortable - we slept very well.
We were lucky enough to arrive as Margaret was preparing soup, and she invited us into her lovely kitchen to have some. It was delicious, and accompanied by lovely homemade soda bread. I wish I'd asked for the recipes.
Breakfasts were wonderful, with so much variety of homemade breads, jams, cereals, cheese, gorgeous yoghurt and fruit and, of course, full mouth-watering Irish with black and white pudding (we can't get good black or white pudding in Canada, so that was a real treat).
We were free to wander about the farm, so we took an after breakfast walk through the fields to see some amazing views. It took about an hour and well worth the time.
I've read the other reviews here, and have to say I echo every good thing they say. Beechlawn will be the only option for us if we ever visit the area again.
Margaret and Denis, we want to thank you very much indeed for a wonderful stay and, Margaret, I finished the Graham Norton book you gave to me. A good read - what a surprise!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Vivienne,
Reading your wonderful, kind and generous review absolutely made our day! Thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor. It really is a two-way street as wonderful guests such as your selves make it all so easy for us. The biggest compliment we can get is when guests say they will return to us and we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of being hosts to you and Tony again if your plans bring you back to Co. Kildare. I’m delighted to learn you enjoyed the Graham Norton book, this man is ‘wasted on TV ‘and just has to continue writing! I’ll be looking out for the next one. Warmest regards to you both. Margaret & Denis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
107shirle...
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most outstanding B&B in Calverstown The Curragh, Kildare”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely fantastic accommodation with a your own entrance and every little thoughtful detail catered for, from shower & bath gels, hand creams, to bottle of water in your rooms & lovely fluffy towels to name a few. This is a spotless 5 star B&B & Margaret and Dennis are the most generous of hosts. Upon arrival we were offered some wonderful home made soup and made to feel right at home. I asked ahead of arrival if they would accept my little dog Ziggy and whilst understandably not allowed in the bedrooms, there was a warm stable awaiting him. However upon arrival Ziggy received a 5 star upgrade to Margaret and Dennis's own home keeping their own little dog Coco company. How amazing was that? Not everyone would do this and this is what makes Beechlawn so special. Nothing is too much trouble. An amazing breakfast followed the next morning with home made scones, & bread with every jam you could think of, cereals to choose from, fresh fruits and yogurts and of course Margaret's famous "Full Irish" from their award winning local butchers. We stayed for 2 nights and left as great friends. Margaret and Dennis you truly ROCK! You are the most amazing of hosts and thank you from myself Mary Rose, George, Ann, John & not forgetting Ziggy. We promise we will be back and look forward to seeing you both again soon. Thank you again for a wonderful stay and looking after us all like family. xxx

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2017
Such a lovely heartfelt review! Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write about your recent stay with us and highlighting the facilities we offer at Beechlawn. It is always such a pleasure for us to to read that we were able to provide great experiences for our lovely guests.
I truly hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you all back in the future.
Warmest Regards to all and a big hug to Ziggy Margaret & Denis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing