We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite tent park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flat Rock Tent Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skennars Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flat Rock Tent Park
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite tent park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

What can I say, have just come back from our favourite holiday destination with the kids, and had the best break away. Great beaches (just take your pick), all within a short walk, really clean amenities, can actually have a wood fire at night, and lots of area for the kids to just play. Thanks to the management (Dave and Kell) for enforcing the campsite rules, such as the one car per site policy. It makes it a much safer area for everyone (especially the kids). We love it here. See you next time, we've already booked for the next long weekend!!
PS - special mention of the wicked double shot cappacinos from their cafe in the morning, after a fun night around the campfire!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissarobbo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellie H, Manager at Flat Rock Tent Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Flat Rock tent Park! look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at Flat Rock Tent Park and it was one of our best holidays ever. It is at such a beautiful location, the park was very clean and tidy. The staff were amazing they were so helpful and friendly. They also make great coffees!! Would highly recommend this park to anyone and we will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whale2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellie H, Manager at Flat Rock Tent Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Flat Rock Tent Park. Everything you have mentioned in your review is very important to us at Flat Rock Tent Park... Having clean amenities/park, friendly, helpful staff and great coffee! Flat Rock is a very special place where people come to enjoy camping in a peaceful, natural environment.
Thank you again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

very nice location, wonderful beach and rock pools. park with clean bathroom (for camping)
rude staff, lack of shade and costy extras (ice and wood)
loved the area but will look for another park next time

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellie H, Manager at Flat Rock Tent Park, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Ana K thank you for your feedback.
We have many sites that offer shade depending on where you choose to camp. we have also planted 50 new trees in the park last year and each year and we are hoping to plant more each year.
Our fire pits to hire are $5 a weekend and our wood is $15 for a 20kg bag. We are happy for people to bring their own hard wood into park and their own fire pits they do not have to buy from us.
As for our customer service their was an issue with you having extra cars in the park after you had been told at the office the extra cars need to be parked outside after they are unpacked. This policy is set by the Ballina shire council.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed in Flat Rock Tent Park for three nights at the end of January. The facilities were really clean. As it's only unpowered tent sites & everyone is made aware of the 10pm curfew, it's really quiet at night. We were camping right beside the walkway to the beach but that wasn't a problem and we really enjoyed walks along both beaches. Swimming-wise, if you can't read beach conditions, rips etc you're probably best going to the patrolled area which is a little walk away from the tent park. It's great to be so close to Ballina & not too far from Lennox Head & Byron without it being really busy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Colette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellie H, Manager at Flat Rock Tent Park, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Ho Colette
Thank you for taking the time to review Flat Rock Tent park. It is a beautiful area, with great walks. Flat Rock Tent park is a peaceful park and as managers it is important to us to keep the amenities clean for out campers.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Flat rock tent park is a reasonably nice location. It is close to the beach and has clean bathrooms (by camping standards). This is where the positive comments stop. My fiance and I, along with 3 other couples rented two campsites there for a night. While the park itself it nice (although not very shady) the staff are not. The main woman working there hassled us incessantly about having an extra car by our site for a couple hours while setting up (even though we were not blocking the path, had no camping trailers, and were not even using all of the space allocated to our campsites). In addition to this, she was just a generally unpleasant person to deal with. She was crabby and rude and just left us with a very sour taste in our mouth. The other woman working there wasn't much better although the man was reasonably nice. If I had only had to deal with him I think this park would have earned 4/5 stars with the loss only due to the lack of shade and overcrowding (sites are not big and when people set up large tents/canopies they are basically touching from site to site). Final note is that this place is not cheap. $60+ for one night and they charge to rent a fire pit as well as sell wood and ice for somewhat exorbitant prices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellie H, Manager at Flat Rock Tent Park, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi David k we are sorry you felt the customer service was rude as we try to go out of our way to look after our campers and that is why the park is mostly returned guest and recommended. We often receive many emails from our campers about our staff and their great customer service.
Ballina shire council set all rules and policies in park, including one car per site. When it come to having extra cars in the park we explain the rules on check- in at the office, being that we only permit one car per site but we are happy for people to drive their extra cars into park to unpack gear and also when they are packing up. We only approach people about extra cars when the car has been in the park for a while and people are no longer setting up their camp site.
As for pricing please refer to our web page. It is $30 per night for 2 people in off peak and $38 per night for 2 people in peak. These prices are comparable to all camp grounds in the area. thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful tent park. Perfect location in Ballina right on the beach. Big, flat, well maintained grass sites. Clean hot showers and toilets. Very well run park by friendly operators. Will definately return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Wallacefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellie H, Manager at Flat Rock Tent Park, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your review of Flat Rock Tent Park. As managers we want people to really enjoy their time when camping at Flat Rock by providing friendly service, well kept grounds and gardens and clean amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skennars Head
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
4.0 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Lennox Head
14.5 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ballina Beach Village
Ballina Beach Village
#12 of 20 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.1 mi away
Discovery Parks - Ballina
14.0 mi away
First Sun Holiday Park
First Sun Holiday Park
#22 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flat Rock Tent Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat Rock Tent Park

Property: Flat Rock Tent Park
Address: 38 Flat Rock Rd, Skennars Head, New South Wales 2478, Australia (Formerly Flat Rock Tent Camp)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Skennars Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Skennars Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing