We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic on Dampier Peninsular!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dampier Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goombaragin Eco Retreat
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Awesome camp grounds, awesome beach, magic country, delightful hosts. We camped on the cliffs overlooking Pender Bay with whales waving to us from the water. It's a bit of a mission getting here so take advantage and stay a week.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gregquicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goombaragin, Owner at Goombaragin Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear gregquicke,
Thank you for you review on your stay here with us at Goombaragin. We are glad that you all enjoyed your camping with a view, the beach and our hospitality. Goombaragin sure does boasts a stunning coastline and is a magic place. Thanks heaps. Kathleen, John and Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed one night - sensational view and lovely private beach. Spent hours looking at the stars from the lookout which was a short walk from the unpowered campsite. It was a privilege to share the property of Kathleen & John.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goombaragin, Owner at Goombaragin Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear sue a,
Thank you for your review of your stay here with us at Goombaragin. We are glad that you enjoyed the private beach and gazing at the stars from the lookout. They sure are pretty and amazing. Kind regards, John and Kathleen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular clifftop location basically for yourself. Kathleen and John offer warm and honest hospitality in this secluded spot. Expect a nice glamptent in terms of lodging infrastructure and that is it. If this is four you as it is for us, this is THE place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARCO J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goombaragin, Owner at Goombaragin Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Marco,
Thank you for your review of your stay here with us at Goombaragin. It was lovely to know that you both enjoyed the glamping in our eco tent. We are also pleased that you liked the view from your accommodation. It sure is special. We will remember the sharing of stories around the campfire and the lovely meal we all shared. Once again thanks for your comments. Kind regards John and Kathleen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our visit this year was for a few hours only. But it meant alot to be there again. Every year is not a normal year in The Kimberley if we cannot see the Dampier Peninsula and stay along its coast with our hosts and now mates at Goombaragin. We've watched this coastal retreat grow over several years and incarnations. What doesn't change but is always a suprise when reminded, is the unusual, sandstone formations littering the beach. at sunrise and sunset they evoke such beauty and intrigue. During the daytime, they are welcome shaded shelter from the heat. Kids just love to play in and out of them. They form a sort of maze -- of ancient boulders -- which mark this beach uniquely. Everywhere in the Kimberley has its specialness. Goombaragin has that maze! Kathleen, like all our Kimberley friends, love their fishing and crabbing and its no different here. I like long beach walks here too. Kimberley-distinctive pindan soil and rocky charcoal vista across from your accommodation down to the beach. Other travellers have reviewed the sleeping options -- camping at whatever level you feel comfortable. The ensuite tents/chalets are a treat. Its location and an easy going host family draws us back to stay. It's one of several similarly small and familial tourism options on the DP including Mercedes Cove down the road and on the eastern side, Cygnet Bay and we love them all for different reasons.

Room Tip: we enjoy a different spot each time. you can't go "wrong."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goombaragin, Owner at Goombaragin Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi Kirsty Fergus Cockburn, thank you for visiting us at Goombaragin. Though it was only for a few hours it is good to know it was worth the visit and glad to see you again. We are glad to know that our little paradise is making its presence felt especially our unique beaches, the many rock formations and the welcoming 'maze' it presents where the kids just love to play. Goombaragin has been growing from strength to strength and we are glad to know that it is a place where you keep coming back to visit. Kind regards, John and Kathleen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Took the family up to Goombaragin and wow what an adventure. This little Eco village is the experience that I would recommend to anyone who just wants to do something memorable.
If you want to get away, explore, write, think...BE! Then I highly recommend spending time here.
Yes the access to the beach is an adventure but the Eco tent shower and relax can ease any pain!
Kathleen and John have a special experience that captures the heart of Indigenous Australia...that is the country and its amazing energy. Don't think just do!

Room Tip: Grab an Eco tent you won't regret it, we stayed in closest to the beach, the view from the showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Rider B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goombaragin, Owner at Goombaragin Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hi Paul Rider B, it was lovely to have you and your family come and stay with us at Goombaragin. Our little getaway is sure special and we are glad that you all enjoyed the experience of just being here......on country....and to getaway and just BE!. We are pleased that your accommodation was to your satisfaction and the shower sure does boasts an amazing view of our coastline. Thank you for your kind words. Kathleen and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I have just enjoyed 3 nights camping with my 2 boys. We we're welcomed on arrival but our friendly hosts The Cox family. Kathleen & John operate a peacefully quiet Eco Retreat with the most stunning panorama views of Pender Bay.
With only 1 Eco Chalet, 2 Eco Tents all with ocean views & 4 unpowered campsites, this place is exclusive yet
This is a true Eco Resort overlooking the most pristine private beach & azure blue waters of the Indian Ocean.
Watch Whales migrate from the cliff edge, walk the winding trail down to the beach, swim snorkel fish or just wander the beach & among the limestone rock formations or simply turn around and stare in amazement at the red rock cliffs that tower & the lush green growth that sits on top the the clear blue skies above.
It's 360 degrees of Heaven. Thank you Kathleen, John, Jack & Aaden & Veronica & John. Your hospitality was wonderful & your company refreshing.
We'll be back & I can't wait

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goombaragin, Owner at Goombaragin Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Glenn M,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you and your boys enjoyed your time here at Goombaragin. The landscape, beach and water is also quite refreshing and we are so glad that you all spend your days taking it all in. We also appreciate your feedback about Goombaragin and our accommodations and we look forward to your next visit. Once again thank you. John and Kathleen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed in Goombaragin last year for about 2 weeks. I still think this was one of my highlights during my stay in Australia. The location is just amazing!! My friend, Sophia, and I stayed in the eco tent, very comfortable. It is such a peaceful place where you can watch beautiful sunsets on top of a cliff. (You also have that amazing view when you're a taking an outdoor shower!!) Kathy and John are so welcoming. I can't wait to go back in 2 months to go crabbing, fishing,... and to see Kathy, John, Jack and Aalin again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goombaragin, Owner at Goombaragin Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi Helen V, thank you for your lovely comments about Goombaragin. We all enjoyed both yourself and your friend Sophia stay with us. Yes Goombaragin is a very peaceful place and have some of the most beautiful sunsets. We look forward to meeting you again sometime in the future. Maybe our little family may visit your country of Belgium one day. Kind regards from John, Kathleen, Jack and Aalin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goombaragin Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goombaragin Eco Retreat

Address: Pender Bay Rd, Dampier Peninsula, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Dampier Peninsula
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Dampier Peninsula
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goombaragin Eco Retreat is located in the Kimberley Region of Western Australia. It is owned and managed by a husband and wife team John and Kathleen McLennan. The exclusive coastal retreat offers limited self-contained accommodations. Each of the accommodations are positioned on a clifftop with gorgeous coastal and ocean views of Pender Bay on the Dampier Peninsula, 2.5 Hours drive north of Broome. Choose from self-contained eco tents and eco chalet, all with their own open plan en-suites. There are many things to do and see whilst at Goombaragin from great swimming, snorkelling, private pockets of beaches, fishing. Sunrises and sunsets, reef exploration at low tide to star gazing from your own bedrooms or simply tune into nature around you. Enjoy the panoramic ocean views from Aalin's Lookout and see the annual migration of the humpback whales and many other marine animals such as dolphins, turtles, manta rays and much more. Enjoy bliss and serenity and the ever changing colours of this coastal landscape with the setting sun. This exclusive small business prides itself with ensuring every guests are welcomed to the property with a full orientation of the surrounds including that one on one experience of sharing information and stories about the journey of this eco retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing