We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room with a great view.”
Review of Old Success Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Success Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sennen Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful room with a great view.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 2 which has a fantastic view over the beach. Watched the sunset from bed and could hear the waves.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Good pub food with enormous portions. Would recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blondel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    175
    56
    18
    7
See reviews for
64
285
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 7, corner room with partial sea view. Very comfortable bed. The food is good at a reasonable price, good selection of real ales. Location is good on the beach and coastal walks. The staff at the hotel very friendly, however car park is a problem, make sure you park at entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Was planning to stay for one night, had a motorcycle accident just 10 miles away. and my injured self and damaged bike taken to Old Success Inn. Had to extend stay but this was sorted out very quickly, was in pain and was looked after by the whole team, lending me tools to repair bike and all assistance kindly offered, must make a special mention about our waitress Anna, who went above and beyond by offering to lend me her car, get medicines for me, nothing was too much trouble. Sennen as beautiful as always, and The Old Success Inn a friendly, comfortable warm welcome is assured. Thanks to all the team.

Room Tip: I was in Room 7 and it had a view of the cove, a very comfy if soft bed. good shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our room was stunning! A great big bed, windows looking directly out onto the sea, warm and welcoming, everything fresh and clean. Breakfast was in a lovely bright modern room and was superb with great choice and lovely fresh breads etc. The location is fantastic, just a mile from Lands End and right on the beach. I cant recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed one night for a last minute booking April 2013. Lovely room with fantastic views - nearly in the sea! Room one. Clean, warm and lots of room. Let down by parcel tape holding up the shower unit and brush holder falling off the wall.Very minor easily and cheaply fixed faults which didn't spoil our stay but why?. Warm helpful welcome. Walked the coast path from Lamorna to sennen over 2 days- great walk
Dinner - starter was huge and lovely - fish goujons. Mains -ran out of our ordered meal but trio of fish was very nice. Mackerel fillets were not - looked and tasted old and dry. Every other meal we saw being served looked delicious. Couldn't fit in a dessert.Breakfast was good - fresh hot and a good choice. Would definitely recommend staying and would visit again- would be nice to see the little things sorted!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 209971PhilR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for the night of 13 April 2013. Nice room and great pub with very good beer and friendly staff. The only downside was the food which was several notches down on everything else. The smoked haddock at breakfast was more akin to an old flip flop they'd found on the beach, while the dinner the previous evening was decidedly average.

I'd still recommend the place because of the location and beer but I'm not sure that I'd eat there. The beers superb though.

Room Tip: Room 1 looked excellent with great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our first stay at The Old Success Inn and what a great place. Chosen for our 35th anniversary we could not have chosen a better inn to stay in. We had a wonderful room,with full sea views, which was spotlessly clean. The ensuite was the cleanest we have had for years,not a speck of grunge in the shower drain and no black/orange mould anywhere.

The staff were so very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Despite some other reviews that the food was not to their liking we found all we ate was excellent. Mind you we only had the fish dishes each night. Breakfast was good too and we really didn't need lunch.

The bar itself is not really given to an atmosphere for convivial drinking but most customers are probably tourists. This is a well managed inn and we will certainly be going back again.

Room Tip: We had room 2. Didn't see any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sennen Cove
1.1 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
474 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,616 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
13.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Success Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Success Inn

Property: Old Success Inn
Address: Cove Hill, Sennen Cove TR19 7DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Sennen Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sennen Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Success Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of Cornwall's most stunning bays, the Old Success is a beautiful 17th century fisherman's inn, which has been transformed into comfortable, modern rooms and apartments while retaining its charm and character. With clear blue sea and fine sands, Sennen Cove is a breathtakingly beautiful location. The Old Success boasts magnificent views overlooking the beach and Whitesand Bay towards The Brisons rocks and Cape Cornwall, the only cape in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Old Success Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Success Hotel Sennen Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing