We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break”
Review of Old Success Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Success Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sennen Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a 3 night break here on a B & B deal, Originally booked 2 but enjoyed so much we stayed the extra night. The staff here are great, All of them, From the cheerfull cleaners, Waitresses, Bar staff ( Happy birthday Mathew ) and reception. We were given a good rate and although moved once , It was for our benefit to have sea views at all times. The establishment is very well run, Very laid back but without dropping any standards. Ate here two of the three evenings, Nice food at reasonable prices. A well stocked bar where we were introduced to "Proper Job " and very nice it was too., Unfortunately our room was next to some guy who liked the radio loud till late, but it was a minor irritation and worth tuning out from so as to enjoy this lovely pub with stunning location and views and all it has going for it. Will definately be back in the not too distant future for another chill out.

Room Tip: Sea View is woth the extra little bit. The rooms with view to the sea and beach definately recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldrockermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 500 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 2 nights in one of the self catering apartments and paid for breakfast - glorious weather and we had an amazing time. The apartment was well kitted out and we all went to sleep listening to the sea....breakfast lovely, boxed Kellogs cereals, toast, full english breakfast, yoghurts and fresh fruit. Lots of fresh fruit juice and coffee and tea. We ate in the pub one night and the food was great - we had spinach and ricotta canneloni from the specials board, but could have eaten half the menu looking at the food being served by the waiting staff, yum! We tried the local beers and had a fab stay. Yes the parking is limited, yes the bar could probably do with sprucing up but it is full of character and we were made to feel very welcome..we will definitely be back :-)

Room Tip: See if the self catering apartments are available - well stocked and you can opt to have breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolyvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We regularly eat and drink in The Old Success each time we visit Sennen. Out of season or when it is not too busy it is a relaxed and friendly place to visit. But it can get hectic and a bit chaotic in high season, with the staff unable to cope and standards slipping.

On our last visit the very friendly waitress worked hard to look after us and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

It is a good alternative to the very high priced beach cafe restaurant in the cove.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biscuit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great couple of nights. Our room had a fantastic view over Whitesand Bay with Cape Cornwall in the distance. Huge, very comfortable bed, Spotless en-suite facilities,The Hotel staff were very welcoming & accommodating to our requests. Down below, the bar still retains it's fishing village pub feel about it. Bar staff friendly good selection of local beer's.We had two evening meals one in the bar the other in the restaurant ,check out the specials board. Ample choice for breakfast fill yourself up if you fancy a picturesque return walk via the coastal path to Lands end or the other way up to Cape Cornwall.Overall all Pro & no Cons. Will be back for another visit this Winter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Howlsedhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The room was much more stylish than we expected as the pub below is rather in need of an update. Very clean with a modern bathroom. Beautiful view from room. Fall asleep listening to the sound of the sea. My only complaint is that the pillows were thin and cheap which is a shame as they have gone to so much trouble with the rest of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolbellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A family get together in not the happiest of circumstances did not stop us from enjoying a meal here. As mentioned by others the specials boards are worth a look, but little details here and there added up to produce a less than perfect result. Small details such as a beefburger with optional cheese or bacon as an addition, on arrival either didn't have the cheese or there was so little of it is was almost un-noticeable. A steak and ale pie that contained many whole mushrooms, thus filling a good portion of the pie with anything but steak.

Don't get me wrong, the staff were perfectly fine and the food certainly better than other places I have eaten, but its just a little unfortunate that small details could turn this from a reasonable to a great place. The location is certainly magnificent!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Kit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a lovely lunch during a day on the beach at Sennen. Very friendly service, our food was really good; homemade chicken a leek casserole and a steak and ale tribute pie washed down with a lovely red Chilean wine, all reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sennen Cove
1.1 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
535 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
59 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,031 reviews
13.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
13.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Success Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Success Inn

Address: Cove Hill, Sennen Cove TR19 7DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Sennen Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sennen Cove
Price Range: $86 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Success Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of Cornwall's most stunning bays, the Old Success is a beautiful 17th century fisherman's inn, which has been transformed into comfortable, modern rooms and apartments while retaining its charm and character. With clear blue sea and fine sands, Sennen Cove is a breathtakingly beautiful location. The Old Success boasts magnificent views overlooking the beach and Whitesand Bay towards The Brisons rocks and Cape Cornwall, the only cape in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Old Success Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Success Hotel Sennen Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing