We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Suffolk Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hintlesham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Suffolk Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Ely
1 review
“Relaxation at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed for a mid-week break in very chilly early April. We were absolutely delighted to have found Suffolk Escape. It really does live up to all the promises, fantastic 'five star' furnishings and fittings, a wonderfully equipped kitchen, indulgent bath and shower, comfortable beds and warm and cosy in the unseasonably cold Eastertime with the log burner and well designed central heating system. We were warmly welcomed by both Andrew and Sarah and arrived to a welcome tray of tasty produce. We really did feel relaxed and it was a wonderful escape. Andrew was always available to give local advice on things to do and places to go and we enjoyed ambling around the farm. A particular highlight was hands-on visiting the livestock with Andrew. We look forward to returning again in the near future. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind response we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to seeing you again and showing you how the livestock have moved on...the calf is doing well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
170
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of lodge, true luxury with great service. A lot of thought was clearly put into building and furnishing the lodge, from the size of the rooms, the beds, the bath and shower, log fire (it was thankfully cold enough at Easter to justify using it!), the hot tub, to all the kitchen appliances. We would definitely recommend the local eggs and steak... even the water tasted better! It was also great that Andrew always made himself available to answer questions and provide recommendations, we couldn't have asked for a better host. Thank you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, there are two in each lodge... you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again one day again soon. Hopefully the weather will be a little warmer for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

From the moment we stepped inside "Aldeburgh", we were bowled over by the sheer luxury of the cabin and its "five star" furnishings and fittings. From the relaxing sofas, deep pile carpet in the bedroom, magnificent bathroom to the excellently equipped kitchen, this was self catering of the highest quality.
We appreciated the welcome tray of local coffee, bread, muffins, butter, jam, milk and home laid eggs.
Thank you Andrew and Sarah for a very enjoyable short break and we look forward to returning later in the year when the lake and the landscaping are established, making the experience evn more idyllic.
H&A Murray

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for the superb feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week over the Easter period. We have stayed in many self catering cottages over the last 20+ years and this is one of the very few, in our opinion, that has lived up to the 'luxury accommodation' claim. The cabin was very spacious and beautifully furnished. Both bedrooms were equal in size and quality, so no arguments about who had the Master Suite! The beds were huge and extremely comfortable. The bathrooms were, by far, the best in any property we have ever stayed in, with a large walk-in shower and a huge luxury bath. The hot tub was another luxury for us. The kitchen was really well equipped, with everything we needed. The log burner was put to good use each evening and made the cabin very warm and cosy.We would recommend these log cabins without reservation and hope to return in the future. Thank you to Andrew and Sarah for a very relaxing, enjoyable week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnG136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed it so much, shame the weather was not so good for you, hopefully next time you come you can get a chance to sit on the deck over the water and enjoy an evening meal in the warm sunshine! Kind regards, Andrew, Sarah and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Absolutely superb! The cabins are gorgeous and make a perfect place to escape to for the weekend. Every detail has been considered by Sarah and Andrew- from the integrated sound systems in the bedrooms and bathrooms (brilliant for dancing in the huge walk in showers!), to the excellently well equipped kitchens (including food processer and baking equipment) and the wonderful hot tub overlooking the lake. I especially loved the enormous bath and would definitely go back just for that!
Sarah and Andrew were thoughtful and attentive throughout our stay and have done a wonderful job of making the cabins both luxurious and confortable- can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatesH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind words above, it was great to have you to stay and thank you for looking after the place so well and leaving it so clean and tidy. We are so pleased you enjoyed your selves so much and hope to see you again soon...in the sunshine!

Thanks again,

Andrew, Sarah and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is the perfect place for a get-away weekend and we can’t recommend it highly enough. Andrew and Sarah have put so much care and thought into putting the cabins together – they are beautifully furnished and every last detail has been thought about. The cabins are designed for foodies; the kitchen is large and the best equipped of any self-catering house we’ve stayed in. There was a lovely parcel of their home-made sausages, home-laid eggs, bread, butter, milk and wine (plus Easter Eggs!) when we arrived. It’s such a peaceful place that it didn’t matter in the slightest that the lake and landscaping is still being established, however the setting will really come into its own over the next few months. We especially enjoyed the hot-tub – even while the lake was frozen. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and managed to enjoy some of Suffolk's great produce. Hopefully on your return visit the weather will be a little warmer!

Thanks again,

Andrew, Sarah and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

‎"WOW", was absolutely what we uttered when we opened the door to our gorgeous cabin. As lovely as the cabins are from the outside, it is no indication of the luxury that awaits you when you walk in.

The cabin was incredibly spacious and beautifully kitted out. As an interior designer, I am horribly snobbish about staying anywhere unless it's as nice or as comfortable, than my own home. Wood floors, sumptuous sofas and the delightful warmth of a wood burning stove, already lit, meant I was not disappointed!

The kitchen is immaculate and a very good size with dishwasher, washer/dryer and a fab induction hob and oven. So much thought has gone into equipping it (a food processor!) Andrew had left us an unexpected welcome pack including some freshly laid eggs from the farm and some locally made sausages, more of which we purchased from the farm ' honesty 'hut, as they were SO delicious!

The two ensuite bedrooms were equally luxurious, so no squabbling over a Master Bed. As our toes sunk into the velvety carpet we spotted the bathrooms. Another, "Wow", as they were 5 star, with state of the art stand alone baths and powerful, large showers with White Company products.

We looked out from one of the 3 sets of French doors onto our lakeside deck, the moon glinting on the water, glass of red in hand, fire glowing and said how much we look forward to returning. The summer will be gorgeous as the deck furniture is a huge PVC rattan modular sofa and behind that, in a discreet corner, a hot tub awaits.

Absolute heaven! Thank you Andrew & Sarah. We only hope we will be able to come back soon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at The Suffolk Escape, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback Sarah. We are so pleased you enjoyed everything so much and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon. Andrew, Sarah and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.7 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
20.0 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suffolk Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suffolk Escape

Property: The Suffolk Escape
Address: Northlands Farm Priory Road | Northlands Farm, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our idyllic rural retreat in the heart of Suffolk offers peaceful escapes in 4 luxury 2-bedroom log cabins with woodstoves plus hot tubs on the edge of a lake. The cabins are finished to the highest standards including luxury ensuites, outdoor dining pontoon and LED TV’s. Our adult only cabins appeal to couples on romantic escapes and groups of friends wishing to catch up. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing break then The Suffolk Escape will be perfect for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Suffolk Escape Hintlesham, England - Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing