We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'nearly' place”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Outside Basingstoke
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A 'nearly' place”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Upmarket hotel in spacious grounds. Our room was large but, without air-con in a heatwave, was unbearable; open windows brought in flies and an early morning pigeon chorus.

The Amazon two-night deal provided dinner on the first night, which was good, as were the cooked breakfasts. Staff were welcoming and helpful.

The location proved good for visiting Ipswich, a fascinating town, using the park-and-ride nearby, but it's quite a way round to the Suffolk coast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    227
    79
    38
    19
See reviews for
114
615
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We got an offer through Amazon to spend 2 nights at this manor house style hotel in Suffolk, just outside of Ipswich and are very glad we took it up.
The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, sooo quiet and peaceful. The rooms are large and elegant and our Labrador was welcome. We were given a ground floor room that opened onto the side gardens, and Freddie appreciated being able to have a lovely sniff around there. The firt evening included a 3 course meal that was delicious and served in the Hall's dining room - again very elegant. The tarrif included breakfast for two mornings as we stayed 2 nights. The second evening we ordered room service and sat out in our private garden in our robes and enjoyed our meal inn the beautiful evening. This hotel doesn't offer all those add ons like a pool and spa, it is simply somewhere to relax and unwind, far, far, far from the maddening crowd.

Room Tip: Take your dog and get an extra large room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind words - we are so glad your stay was so relaxing and enjoyable and, subject to availability, we are always happy to have well-behaved dogs stay with us. Not just our rooms on the ground floor are light, airy and spacious ! We look forward to welcoming you and your lovely Labrador back to the Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have just spent a pleasant couple of days exploring Suffolk.What a lovely county -we will certainly visit the area again-We stayed at Hintlesham as part of a Travelbird package which included a 2night stay with bed and breakfast and dinner on the first night.It was very good value.
The hotel is very attractive and is set in beautiful gardens.Do seek out the herb garden which is very aromatic.We stayed in a superior room called Regatta which had lovely views over the rear garden.The room was large and had a good sized bathroom with a sunken bath and separate shower cubicle.The antique furniture in the room was in keeping with the hotel although the table was very wonky !Breakfast on our first morning was very good,but not so on our second morning which was disappointing.Bacon was fatty and undercooked and staff had to be asked to replenish fruit salad.Perhaps this could be addressed by one member of the waiting staff being responsible for checking the buffet table regularly.All the staff that we met were polite and pleasant .Evening dinner was also disappointing or maybe we expected too much.The herb soup was ok,the sirloin steak with pepper sauce was nothing special and the strawberry meringue tasted as though it had been made from a meringue mix.The white wine we chose was served warm.A definite no no for me.We asked for the wine to be chilled down and this was done without any fuss.The dining room is lovely with high ceiling,large fireplace and huge portraits.The atmosphere is formal .
Reception desk is made of dark wood and initially looks unwelcoming - a flower display would make such a difference.Finally,the central driveway has a couple of deep pot holes near the pond so watch your car suspension.Overall a pleasant stay but could have been excellent,just needs tweaking.

Room Tip: Be prepared for creaky floors in main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniversarycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We were married here, It was a great day with everything arranged for us.

From the moment we booked Julie Dolphin was always available to answer questions we had which lowered the stress levels to get an answer instantly.

Chef is fantastic and they can cater for any dietary requirements, the function room is lovely and the grounds make for beautiful photographs.

The guest rooms are spectacular with the bridal suite like something out of a fairytale.

I would highly recommend this venue 10/10

@_TravelChannel

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Very many congratulations from us all on your marriage. We were so pleased to be chosen to host your special day and so glad that it was all that you hoped for. We very much look forward to being of service to you again in the future - maybe for your first anniversary ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I always read the Tripadvisor reviews by others but rarely write a critique myself - wrong I know! However, the Hintlesham Hall Hotel is more than worthy of this very positive critique.

After changing our room a few times to one we requested (which the reception staff were more than happy to oblige and encouraged our feedback on the ones we turned down) we began our two night stay at this hotel which, with a little forethought, time and investment, could be Suffolk's Premier 5 Star Hotel.

The Staff.
The staff are not only attentive and courteous, but deliver 'old world charm' service which is totally lacking in most premier hotels. From the reception to the restaurant, to the bar and to your suite, your every needs are addressed and provided and each member of staff cannot do enough to make your stay that bit more special.

The Room.
As in keeping with this Country House, our room was spacious, furnished with a King size bed, period furniture and with large sash windows which looked out onto the hotels beautiful gardens.

The Bathroom.
This has been 'modernised' but gracefully so, in keeping with the room. The marble flooring, shower and sunken bath were unexpected and enjoyed. The bathroom toiletries, soft towels could not be faulted.

Dinner.
Dinner was a culinary delight. Once again, the service was attentive and courteous - Silver Service at its highest level. The meal was beautifully presented and on par with any 5 star restaurant we have visited. The chef should be complimented on every facet of this meal.

Breakfast.
Like dinner the previous evening, we were greeted with the same high standard of service and presentation. The breakfast was excellent and it was also a pleasure to be served our first meal of the day, instead of having to queue at a buffet for stewed bacon, sausages etc.

The Gardens and Terrace.
Beautifully manicured lawns, ample comfortable chairs and tables covered by huge parasols enabled us to enjoy our afternoon tea and after dinner drinks on the terrace. We also enjoyed walking through their extensive herb gardens and watch the fish dart around in their ponds.

The Lounges and Library
In keeping as a Country House, Hintlesham Hall has a number of lounges and a library where you can relax and enjoy one of a number of the hotels novels.

So there are the positives and now for the negatives.

In my opinion, and I'm certainly no Hotel Inspector, the Hintlesham Hall Hotels senior management / owners should take a lesson from their members of staff and become more professional. They should look at what they have, enhance the Country House decor by removing the spotlights in the ceilings and bring back the chandeliers. Visit each room with their maintenance personnel and identify what needs repairing, replacing, refurbishing i.e. the warped doors, broken glazing etc and bring new life to the hotel with a repaint in bright refreshing colours.

And once again I go back to the service provided by the staff which was attentive, courteous and in our opinion, the best we have received throughout our travels in the UK and the many countries we've visited.

Our sincere thanks to them all for making our few days break a most memorable one.

Would we go back ?
Definitely, and bring our friends too.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
What a great review - thank you for taking the time to be so thorough - for both the good and the not so good ! All your comments are helpful. We couldn't be more pleased that you had such an enjoyable time and that you want to return and bring your friends as well. The team here is fantastic and everyone works really hard to ensure guests feel comfortable and looked after. It would be great to see you again and look forward to the next time you are able to take a break for a day or so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

stayed at the rialto suite to celebrate our wedding anniversary. beautiful location,suite very clean and comfortable,food was amazing,staff are fantastic. Would recommend to anyone and cant wait to go back again.

Helpful?
2 Thank langv
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed three nights in June 2014, mainly attracted by the food reputation. A beautiful building - be sure to view it from the back as it originally was intended; it's much better than the later ffront facade. And the gardens are a lovely place to relax with a drink. Our first floor room was really quite nice with a comfortable seating area and Kingsize bed, though the bathroom somehow seemed lacking and tired. Sadly the food was mixed - my wife loved hers but my pork seemed almost as tasteless as the gravy beside it. Nicely prepared and presented but missed the target. All staff were really good - no quibbles on that count and we might (but only might) try again in case the chef was having a bad day. Value was good overall because we had found a deal online (which suggests falling trends to what was once a place of great reputation under Robert Carrier).

Room Tip: Spend five minutes to check out the back of the building (see the photos in June 2014). Avoid dates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
24.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
988 reviews
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing