We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - would definitely recommend”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We arrived for afternoon tea on Friday and it was fab - a great selection of sandwiches, scones and pastries. I arranged a massage for my boyfriend and I and it was good value and really enjoyable, the lady was lovely - an excellent start to the weekend. We arranged to meet my colleagues at 7 for the drinks and canapés reception and then went through to the dining room to enjoy our three course meal, I had the mushroom soup, vegetable stack with winter veg and the chocolate mousse and all were really good. The DJ had a good set, a sense of humour and it was really well decorated for Christmas. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ribbons room which overlooks the front courtyard, very nice.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
There are newer reviews for Hintlesham Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

Upon arriving we were greeted by a member of staff who opened the door for us and after finding our reservation she escorted us to the lounge for champagne and canapés. The setting is wonderful with magnificent Christmas trees all around and a real feel of Christmas with log fires and twinkling lights. In a while we were taken to our seats in the dining room where we had a three course lunch. This was followed by mince pies and coffee in another lounge which was equally nice.
It was a lovely experience and we will certainly return sometime.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bromleybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just returned from an anniversary stay. Beautiful imposing building in lovely setting, and due to all the Christmas trees, lights and decorations - looked stunning. Welcome and porter excellent, shown to Regatta room (a large superior). Massive bed, huge room with fireplace overlooking gardens and pond, enormous windows, bathroom well equipped and bath cleverly installed into space available (it is a listed building of course). Furniture in keeping with period of building but with ricketty table top, stained carpet, discoloured grouting - generally just a little "tired". Off to sumptuous afternoon tea with the best homemade scones ever. Then a walk around the grounds which would be absolutely delightful on a Summer's day. On our return tried to sit in one of the big squishy sofas in the lounge areas but unfortunately they were all taken up by parties having afternoon tea or after lunch sit down maybe, including one lounge (garden room) which was signed as being for residents only but was in fact a private party that we inadvertently gatecrashed - sorry! This could have been avoided by a sign at the door perhaps? Didn't see any of the log fires lit but all of the hotel was lovely and warm anyway. Returned to room to find, of all things, quite a few ladybirds. Changed rooms with no problem and helped again by porter. Into "Zoffany" (superior room) which was upstairs in the courtyard building. Again a beautiful, spacious room with 2 sofas plus lobby into bathroom. Due to dark, dismal and wet weather obviously had to run outside across to main building for dinner. Was initially a little disappointed to find that the dining room wasn't open for Sunday evening dinner but instead we ate in the Parlour which in fact was a lovely, cosy, atmospheric room. Food quality and service absolutely excellent, couldn't fault it. We had booked on a "dinner included" price where, I understand, you are given a certain amount to spend but was a little perturbed to find for example, that even though my husband didn't have a dessert (cost of £9) but had just a coffee instead he was charged extra for it even though we hadn't gone over our "allowance". Special thank you to the staff who presented a "Happy Anniversary" edible treat to our table - very thoughtful. Our bed was extremely comfortable, unfortunately being in a room directly under the roof we were kept awake by the "wildlife" scampering around up above (it happens I know and is nothing to do with lack of cleanliness). This was mentioned to Reception on our departure and I have no doubt they will sort this out.

So overall just a very few minor nit-picky issues but then you have to bear in mind this is a 4* hotel not a 5* however I cannot stress enough that the service and food are definitely 5*!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biffo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Staff are mainly young, keen and very attentive and helpful. Standard of service was excellent.
We stayed two nights in the Clockroom, a good sized, quirky, room with a very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom with a large bath. Meals are of a high standard; we had a 3 course menu in the restaurant and a 'lounge' meal in the bar, both excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Enjoyed 3 nights at this lovely hotel. The meals were top class and the staff were all attentive and so helpful. We are booking to stay there again. Good walks in the area to walk off the delicious food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Taken by my daughter for my birthday and was treated to an afternoon cream tea, and a treat it was too, made extra special with a glass of champagne. Nice surroundings and a really pleasant situation. Would do it again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Booked through Secret Escapes. We had a lovely weekend. The hotel is beautiful, the staff lovely, welcoming and very attentive, the food in the restaurant was amazing! Our room 'Ribbons' was large and very comfortable with a good sized bathroom with shower and bath. The hotel is an old building so our room floor was a little uneven, but this I think added to the charm, it may however be not suitable for the unsteady on their feet (or those under the influence!) We had breakfast and morning papers delivered to our room. The most relaxing luxurious break we've had in a long time! Would thoroughly recommend a stay at Hintlesham.

Room Tip: Ribbons! Just a lovely room!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,029 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,147 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range: $120 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing