We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect short break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect short break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay at the hotel a few weeks ago. The hotel was an impressive building set in lovely grounds yet had a very homely feel. Our room (Ribbons) was in the main house, it was perfect and had everything we needed, the bathroom was large with a big walk in shower and huge bath. We ate in the restaurant on two nights and found the choice and service very good. The breakfasts were perfectly cooked and well presented. The dining room was impressive being beautifully styled and opulent.

The overall ambiance of the hotel was peaceful and relaxed and its location was ideal for seeing the area. We managed to fit in a number of National Trust visits including Ickworth House and Flatford Mill which was just short drive away from the hotel was well worth a visit.

Our only regret is that we were out and about so much we spent very little time in our lovely room. We have recommended the hotel to our friends and they have now booked and I am sure they won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ribbons overlooked the front of the hotel, perfect for nosey guests like myself!! The wifi though w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    215
    76
    36
    17
See reviews for
106
591
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wootton kings lynn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

For two years I have wanted to go to Hintlesham Hall,and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is refined. My chicken dinner delicious, my husband said his steak was tough, but it looked good and was served well, and to be fair my husband has Parkinson's, so unless food is easy to cut, it is always a problem. The hotel is beautifully furnished, our room was huge,(it is the first time I have walked up hill to bed, there is not an even floor in the place. As I was told it was origannally Elizabethan I am not surprised, the frontage is a beautiful Pink Georgian elegant Manor. The gardens are beautifully kept, and they have a huge apple crop in the orchard. Nearby Hadleigh was a real find, a lovely village, with independent shops( anti Tesco) Partridges (a real hardware shop is a gem) A lovely two day break

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Relaxed stay with very friendly, professional and helpful staff. I stayed there twice in a week and both rooms were large and comfortable albeit a bit basic. Breakfast (Continental or English) very tasty served in a beautiful room, The Parlour. My wife is very specific about her scrambled eggs and here they were perfect. Main restaurant very good and decently priced, with a set menu of £25 or £33 for 2 or 3 courses respectively.
The beautiful Queen Anne house with very attractive gardens has a homely yet luxurious feel to it.
We were delighted to start our honeymoon in such a marvellous setting, and touched to be offered champagne on the house.
Great White Company toiletries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our second visit within 3 months to this delightful hotel, this time with friends who wanted to experience what we had raved about. We booked a four day break - our friends stayed in "Maypole" where we were on our first visit and we were next door in "Meghan". Both rooms are well furnished and Meghan has a walk in shower as well as a bath. The downside to Meghan for us was that there was only one armchair whereas Maypole has two. This hotel has very comfy beds and a good night's sleep can be guaranteed.

We used the hotel as a base to visit Suffolk and were out every day. We did dine in the hotel each night starting and finishing our evening in the bar/lounge. On the whole the meals were good, albeit a little pricey. We ate from the table d'hote menu so had a limited choice and I think that the chef could improve on this menu. Some items are a "bit too cheffy" and there were too many courgettes about! Courgette soup, courgettes in the salmon chowder, courgettes as a vegetable accompaniment, etc, etc. I have to say that the hotel does a great sirloin steak.

I am sure we will be back as we were well looked after by the staff.

Room Tip: We like the courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The restaurant food and service can't be faulted in anyway. I especially like the fact that waiters don't try to top up our wine at every earliest opportunity and they also ask us first if it's okay to top up, which is an extremely rare experience when I visit most top-end restaurants in central London! We stayed two nights in the same room. There was no complimentary bottled water in our room on the first day when we arrived; I thought, okay; but there were 2 bottled water on the 2nd day after the room was tidied up. So obviously they forgot to give us water on the first day. It's no big deal, but it did show the service level wasn't quite as attentive. We complained about lack of heating around 7pm on 1st evening when temperature suddenly dropped a lot that day and the room felt cold. Another couple made the same complaint to the receptionist when we were there, saying they felt very cold too and would like the central switch to be turned on so that the heating panels in the room can work. The receptionist said she wasn't sure how to turn it on and said she would try. After 2 cold days, it still was not switched on at all. The hotel wifi also broke down after 1st night, and was only fixed when we were going to leave - took them one whole day and night to fix the wifi. Really frustrating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the moment you drive up the long drive and see Hintlesham Hall in all its glory, you know you are in for a good time. The bedrooms are magnificent - spacious and well equipped; the dining room is luxurious with high ornamental ceiling and with really comfortable seating. The food is superb with well chosen selections and very reasonable in price, as is the excellent wine list. The service is impeccable and would do justice to Downton Abbey. We stayed there for three days and enjoyed every moment. Its easy to get to from London via the A12. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Every room was good. We looked at several and were impressed by the attention which went into the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busy_harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This beautiful old manor house hotel oozes class and quality. The staff are all extremely courteous whilst being chatty and friendly, the food is of the highest order with a fine choice served in beautiful surroundings. The room we stayed in was huge as was the en-suite bathroom, both of which were faultlessly presented. The impression you get with this hotel is that nothing is too much trouble and they will happily provide food, or drinks for that matter 24 hours a day. I struggle to find any criticism of this establishment – perhaps some biscuits with the tea making arrangement in the rooms?

I positively relish the prospect of chilling out at this establishment again in the future and clearly would recommend.

Room Tip: I have seen three rooms, each was quiet and had it's own character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhmyGod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, LateRooms, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing