We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Relax”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Relaxed stay with very friendly, professional and helpful staff. I stayed there twice in a week and both rooms were large and comfortable albeit a bit basic. Breakfast (Continental or English) very tasty served in a beautiful room, The Parlour. My wife is very specific about her scrambled eggs and here they were perfect. Main restaurant very good and decently priced, with a set menu of £25 or £33 for 2 or 3 courses respectively.
The beautiful Queen Anne house with very attractive gardens has a homely yet luxurious feel to it.
We were delighted to start our honeymoon in such a marvellous setting, and touched to be offered champagne on the house.
Great White Company toiletries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    227
    80
    38
    19
See reviews for
114
619
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our second visit within 3 months to this delightful hotel, this time with friends who wanted to experience what we had raved about. We booked a four day break - our friends stayed in "Maypole" where we were on our first visit and we were next door in "Meghan". Both rooms are well furnished and Meghan has a walk in shower as well as a bath. The downside to Meghan for us was that there was only one armchair whereas Maypole has two. This hotel has very comfy beds and a good night's sleep can be guaranteed.

We used the hotel as a base to visit Suffolk and were out every day. We did dine in the hotel each night starting and finishing our evening in the bar/lounge. On the whole the meals were good, albeit a little pricey. We ate from the table d'hote menu so had a limited choice and I think that the chef could improve on this menu. Some items are a "bit too cheffy" and there were too many courgettes about! Courgette soup, courgettes in the salmon chowder, courgettes as a vegetable accompaniment, etc, etc. I have to say that the hotel does a great sirloin steak.

I am sure we will be back as we were well looked after by the staff.

Room Tip: We like the courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The restaurant food and service can't be faulted in anyway. I especially like the fact that waiters don't try to top up our wine at every earliest opportunity and they also ask us first if it's okay to top up, which is an extremely rare experience when I visit most top-end restaurants in central London! We stayed two nights in the same room. There was no complimentary bottled water in our room on the first day when we arrived; I thought, okay; but there were 2 bottled water on the 2nd day after the room was tidied up. So obviously they forgot to give us water on the first day. It's no big deal, but it did show the service level wasn't quite as attentive. We complained about lack of heating around 7pm on 1st evening when temperature suddenly dropped a lot that day and the room felt cold. Another couple made the same complaint to the receptionist when we were there, saying they felt very cold too and would like the central switch to be turned on so that the heating panels in the room can work. The receptionist said she wasn't sure how to turn it on and said she would try. After 2 cold days, it still was not switched on at all. The hotel wifi also broke down after 1st night, and was only fixed when we were going to leave - took them one whole day and night to fix the wifi. Really frustrating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the moment you drive up the long drive and see Hintlesham Hall in all its glory, you know you are in for a good time. The bedrooms are magnificent - spacious and well equipped; the dining room is luxurious with high ornamental ceiling and with really comfortable seating. The food is superb with well chosen selections and very reasonable in price, as is the excellent wine list. The service is impeccable and would do justice to Downton Abbey. We stayed there for three days and enjoyed every moment. Its easy to get to from London via the A12. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Every room was good. We looked at several and were impressed by the attention which went into the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busy_harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This beautiful old manor house hotel oozes class and quality. The staff are all extremely courteous whilst being chatty and friendly, the food is of the highest order with a fine choice served in beautiful surroundings. The room we stayed in was huge as was the en-suite bathroom, both of which were faultlessly presented. The impression you get with this hotel is that nothing is too much trouble and they will happily provide food, or drinks for that matter 24 hours a day. I struggle to find any criticism of this establishment – perhaps some biscuits with the tea making arrangement in the rooms?

I positively relish the prospect of chilling out at this establishment again in the future and clearly would recommend.

Room Tip: I have seen three rooms, each was quiet and had it's own character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhmyGod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This has got to be just about my favourite hotel anywhere and last night's stay confirmed all my memories.
Firstly, it is a wonderful setting. I think it was built in the mid 1700s so the buildings are of that period, but well maintained and set in acres of wonderfully tended gardens in the heart of the Suffolk countryside. The whole place just exudes old world charm and class, and SO quiet and peaceful.
The rooms are wonderful and the best ones are seriously so. All are tasteful, individual, well equipped and immaculately clean.
Check in and check out was a pleasure, efficient, friendly and with a minimum of fuss.
The food is just fabulous; afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast were all a delight. The wine list is extensive and varied with something for everyone.
The staff are just superb with exactly the right balance of friendly but not overly familiar, knowledgeable and helpful, efficient, polite and well presented. They willingly moved the garden furniture around so we could have afternoon tea on the lawn in the sun.
Now, this is not the cheapest place in the country to stay at and the extras can add up to quite a chunky bill. So it's not for "regular" stays, at least not for me, but save up the pennies and it is the most wonderful special treat - which is exactly how I use it.
I hope to be back again before too long!

Room Tip: They are all good, don't worry about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked a groupon offer for this hotel as we had never visited the area before and just wanted g ort break. The Hotel was far better than our expectations from the beautiful peaceful location to the stunning building. Check in was easy and we were invited to book for dinner. We were shown to our room which I believe was a Junior Suite and far exceeded our expectations. The room was in the eaves of the building with two windows facing back towards the lovely lawns and gardens. As well as a very comfortable queen size bed we had two armchairs with large flat TV, tea & coffee making facilities and a roll top bath facing out towards the grounds. In addition there was a double shower room with marble topped vanity unit and toilet. All were very clean and comfortable.
There is a small bar area where we had pre dinner drinks and were served with Canapes, the waiter announced when our table was available and escorted us and our drinks into the lovely restaurant. Dinner on the first night was included from the set menu and was excellent, the cost of the wine was a shock £27 was the cheapest bottle. Set menu for a 3 course menu was I think about £35, excellent value for what we were served. Tea & coffee were extra which we drank on the patio with petit fours.
The second night we paid for our meal and had a complementary bottle of wine, my husband advised the wine didn't appear on the wine list, it was pleasant enough.
Service was extremely attentive, helpful and professional. On the second night we decided to take our tea and coffee indoors but the bar area was full, we were advised there were 2 other lounges and escorted with our drinks to an extremely comfortable area where we were able to enjoy the pianist in relaxed comfort.
I cannot praise too highly the excellent service and accommodation and would not hesitate to recommend anyone looking for a break to try out this location. The location was ideal for visiting NT sites and Ipswich.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilaclorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
No photo provided
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,007 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,109 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HRS, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing