We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Building in the Gainsborough Style takes one back comfortably in time”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Efficient check in and warm welcome. Spacious room with sitting area and four poster. Unobtrusive staff offering smart knowageable attentive service.
Comprehensive bar and restaurant menu great Dinner and individually prepared Breakfast.
Looking forward to next two day break deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellerplus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent two nights at Hintlesham Hall in August and had a wonderful time. We upgraded to a superior room on the ground floor and has a very large room with king bed, flat screen tv and two comfortable armchairs.

Setting of the entire hotel and grounds was excellent. Very pampering but not at all over the top.

Staff were absoultely excellent. We had a long chat to Grodon who is the head waiter and he always encourages the staff to say "hello" or "can I help you at all". A little courtesy goes a long way. Could not have asked for more.

Reception was extremely polite and helpful as well.

Take a walk around thwe 180 odd acres of grounds and you find all sorts of trees and wildlife. Just so relaxing.

Take tea on the terrace as well and watch the world go by.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for Tisane which has a small outside patio area with table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a two night Amazon Local deal which included a three course meal on the first night of our stay. In our view it proved to be exceptional value for money.

We loved the hotel, it was very grand but, happily, not at all stuffy. From the moment we arrived to the time we checked out all the staff we encountered, without exception, were helpful and attentive. A porter carried our cases to our second floor room for us. As there isn’t a lift this would be a bit of a stretch for those less able, to be honest we felt we’d had quite a work-out ourselves!

We were in Cordelia, which was a charming room. Up in the attic part of the hall, there were beams and sloping walls everywhere, including the bathroom. This did make moving around a little restrictive but that was a small price to pay for so much character. The room was split level with a step down to the bedroom area and the two windows, both overlooking the side gardens, were recessed and at floor level. The bed was large (6ft wide) and very comfortable with good quality bed linen. There was a large flat panel TV in the sitting area but this meant it was not possible to watch whilst in bed if that’s something you like to do.

The room was immaculately clean, as was everywhere else in the hotel that we saw.

The bathroom was a good size with a powerful over-the- bath shower. There were White Company toiletries provided and a couple of waffle bathrobes too. One minor niggle though was the absence of any shelving near the basin for toothbrushes etc. The only flat surface that could be utilised was around the side and back of the bath.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night and have only praise for the high quality of food and the service. The dining room décor is impressively opulent too!

After taking our coffee and petit fours in the lounge we trundled (very slowly!) up the stairs to our room and were so pleased to see that there had been a turn-down service. The roman blinds had been closed and, being a warm night, the fan had been switched on to cool the room down for us. I think little touches like this make a big difference to the overall experience.

After a quiet and peaceful night’s sleep and an enjoyable breakfast, we took the time to take a stroll around the grounds, which was very pleasant, with well-maintained lawns, flower beds and trees. There was also a tennis court in the grounds and, I believe, a nearby golf course for those feeling a little more energetic.

Our two days just flew by, with such first rate accommodation and service and lovely towns and villages to explore we had a marvellous time. The acid test – would we go back again? Most definitely yes, but maybe we’d ask for a room on a lower floor next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on 21st and 22nd of July to celebrate my birthday. The room allocated to us was Room 5, which I have to say was a great disappointment. The carpet was heavily stained, there were dents in the wall, the windows were decayed and two out of three table lamps did not work. The bathroom was the one redeeming feature. I believe the room was classified as a superior double, but it was anything but. We told the receptionist about the carpet and the lights but, although she made sympathetic noises, nothing was actually done.

Some of the public rooms were also disappointing, notably the ones in the right hand wing (looking at the front of the house) which were run down, musty and generally decrepit.

The two dinners we had were fine but the breakfast was very variable. For instance, on morning one the scrambled egg was excellent and plentiful and came with four rashes of bacon. On morning two the scrambled egg was poor and meagre and only two rashers of bacon. The dining room staff though were very good throughout.

It looked like some effort was being made to improve the hotel as the reception area was being decorated very attractively and other rooms looked in better shape than ours. Perhaps we were just very unlucky.

So all in all pretty much a letdown particularly as we had driven from Surrey, attracted by the past reputation of the hotel. The distant past it seems. Luckily we had a reduced rate through Secret Escapes. If we had paid the normal rate we would have been absolutely livid. To claim it is one of the loveliest hotels in the UK is just shocking and it should stop doing so. At best you would describe it as perhaps having past charms but has seen better days and now needs an awful lot of money spending on it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asurreytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

I am so sorry that the light bulbs were not replaced during your stay – this omission is certainly not up to our usual standard and I am sorry the marks on the carpet were not attended to.
As you are aware we are currently undertaking a major refurbishment programme of both the individually styled rooms and the public areas and this will of course include things like the window surround that you mention.
Thank you very much for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention. All feedback from our guests is welcome and I do hope this experience has not deterred you from returning to the Hall. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and being of service to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked this hotel to spend a couple of days away for our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The room was lovely, the service excellent and the food superb. Would not hesitate in recommending this to anyone.

Room Tip: We upgraded from a standard room and although we did not see a standard room to compare, we were ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Got off to a poor start with a pigeon in the room and dirty sheet but the staff were great and the dinner fantastic. The grounds and building are superb but could do with a good clean. Excellent link to the golf course.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hornet9547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our room was lovely and big and the bed was nice very. I thought the grounds of the hotel were nice and where we had a drink in the evening was also pleasent outside. Our evening meal was good however our used glasses were left on the table. In fact we we had quite a collection by the time they took them away. After dinner i felt the hotel lacked atmosphere. I do think they should play some kind of back ground music in the bar, it could get a bit boring if your staying for more than one night. Im pleased i had my rate via secert escapes, other wise i would think it was over priced. The set dinner menu was good value though and i enjoyed my breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,040 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,223 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Address: George Street | Nr Ipswich, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range: $131 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful grade 1 listed country house, that over the years has transformed in to the hotel that it is now. We have an interesting history, our guests are welcome to view the history on our website. Our new spa make us the perfect place to stay, offering a wide range of treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing