We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As it used to be!”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent hotel professionally run. The only reason I didn't rate it as excellent was that out spacious, well furnished bedroom was a little tired but it may be it was on the tail end of the refurbishment rota as there was evidence that the hotel is still being updated.
The staff were excellent throughout, and we were lucky enough to get this booked on a group on voucher so it was excellent value. Treat yourself!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimbosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
There are newer reviews for Hintlesham Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

My reason for staying at Hintlesham Hall is for business. I am lucky enough to be staying here for some time. The hotel itself is beautiful. The room in the courtyard was spacious and tastefully decorated. There is even a closedown service in the room each evening. The food is outstanding and the service to match. Definetly worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garry040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was truly excellent. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The food was well-cooked and of high quality. The grounds were well maintained and attractive. A great room which was well furnished and had its own patio which had the weather been better would have been a great place to sit and have a drink or read a book. A real find which is good for special occasions.

Room Tip: A large building so if you have walking difficulties try to get a room near to the dining room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peterj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a two night stay at Hintlesham Hall on a Secret Escapes deal.
The premises are located in open countryside and clearly a venue for weddings as one was due to take place the day we checked out.
The receptionist we saw at check-in was not particularly welcoming and seemed a bit miserable.
However the rest of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and provided a very good level of service.
We had a very large and spacious room with a big bathroom, it was unfortunate that we had no real view other than looking out into the side of another building which was only about 10 feet from our room. Also the room had an unfortunate stale smell and needed a good airing and the carpet cleaning or perhaps better replacing.
We had dinner in the restaurant and cannot fault the high standard of the food and service, breakfast was also very good.
Some of the public rooms furniture, sofas etc.. are looking very worn and could do with either replacing or re-upholstering.
They have previously had a spa and pool area which is located in a rather derelict building in the grounds, it is a shame that this area has not received renovation and been made active as it would greatly enhance the standard of the hotel.
Overall parts of the premises clearly are in need of some refurbishment which let it it down.

Room Tip: Check if you have a view as our room looked out onto the wall of a nearby accommodation block.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoilidayExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Having recently spent a weekend at Hintlesham Hall we feel relaxed & spoilt by the staff at this lovely Hall. The location is quiet yet convenient for visiting the unspoilt area. The Hall staff are friendly & have just the right balance of courtesy & effiecient service. Nothing was too much trouble to them. Even young personnel had been efficiently trained to this high standard.
The Hall has recently been refurbished & is full of sympathethic furniture & paintings. Our bedroom was irresistibly comfortable - huge snuggly bed & lashings of hot water & towels.
The food was excellent with good portion size.
The facilities at the Hall were limited to be honest - no gym or pool. But there was a tennis court & golf too. Though we didn't miss them as there was enough to do out & about.
I would definitely stay again, ( this is my second visit!) & would recommend it for any discerning visitor.

Room Tip: We had a newer room - would have liked a peek at a bedroom in the main old Hall.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie2013627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights 26th 27th of June. To celebrate our joint birthdays and 29th wedding anniversary.

Omg this place is so beautiful the grounds are immaculate. The drive crunches as you approach the hotel. The staff are first class. So efficient and helpful yet friendly and relaxed.
The food was delicious and always a stunning creation to behold.

We stayed in the Applestore away from the main house. I loved it so much I nearly cried.
The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The bath long and deep.
Such quality at an affordable price through secret escapes. A brilliant base to explore the local area. Lavenham is so pretty, Colchester zoo a great place for everyone.
Hintlesham Hall have a fun day in July which we are hoping to attend with our little granddaughter can't wait to return to Hintlesham Hall Hotel.

Brilliant

Denise and Steve

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppydrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We got a great deal on Secret Escapes including 2 nights B&B plus dinner on our first night. Hintlesham Hall stands in the most beautiful grounds which are a pleasure to stroll. Our room was spacious with a six foot bed. The bathroom was equally impressive. The restaurant is suitably grand, dinner was delightful, breakfast is part help yourself with hot food cooked to order and served at the table. All the staff were friendly and highly professional. Overall a memorable stay in a hotel that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,029 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,147 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range: $122 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing