We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place for a weekend break”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Belchford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super place for a weekend break”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at Hintlesham Hall on a Sunday night in March through Secret Escapes. Lovely clean, spacious and well furnished room (Ian's Clock Room) - more like a mini-suite. Good food from well priced bar menu. Very friendly and attentive staff. Would like to return in the summer with a group of friends

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    227
    79
    38
    19
See reviews for
114
616
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a very good hotel, with charming staff. Our first impression of our room was very good as it was a very large, light and spacious room. All was well until I looked at the bath. The top layer of the bath's surface had flaked off in several places, and it felt very uncomfortable when I lightly ran my hand over the bottom of the bath. This room, 'Regatta', received a lot of praise in a recent Trip Advisor review - a bit baffling as the surface had peeled in several places and it did not appear to be new damage. I was not prepared to accept this room and asked to be shown another room before our luggage was even brought up..

Profuse apologies were offered when the receptionist was shown the problem, and we were offered 'Rosette'. This was another large room with a four-poster, and a great fireplace. It had a lovely view over the lawns towards the pond, and we were very pleased with this room and found the large bed really comfortable. The bathroom had a slipper bath and separate shower.

We had a meal in the main restaurant on our first night, and we were absolutely delighted with the quality of the food, its presentation and the service given by the Head Waiter, Gordon, and his staff. It was our anniversary and with our coffee in the Library, in front of a log fire, we were served a sweet pastry scroll with "Happy Anniversary" on it - a nice touch, which we appreciated. .

We had originally intended to go to another restaurant on our second night but we had enjoyed the Chef's cooking so much that we reserved a table in the hotel restaurant - again we were very happy with our meal. So after a slightly shaky start, I am glad to say we had a really enjoyable, and memorable, special break at this very comfortable country house hotel. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveroftravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I've just returned from a 2 night break through Secret Escapes, as a number of other reviewers seem to have done. Also, like one February review, we stayed in the Cordelia room. Looking through previous reviews, they seem to fall into one of 2 groups, either focusing solely on a few minor bad points or else ignoring them completely. This is what we thought of our stay.

The building looks very attractive when you arrive; the public areas look comfortable and well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Rooms on the second floor do entail climbing a number of stairs, so I would agree they are not suitable for people with any mobility issues. Also, the bath was deep with slightly difficult access. My wife said that in a couple of years she could easily have problems with that room, so it is probably worth telling the hotel about any problems you might have before arriving.

The bed was enormous and comfortable,and the bedding luxurious. I slept better in this bed than in most hotels I have visited.

The bathroom looked freshly decorated, with a good over-bath shower. The towels were thick and soft and there were dressing gowns to use.

However there were some issues with the room, which do need looking at. There were some (but not all) drawer handles missing from the chest of drawers. One of the windows had secondary glazing and the frames of both windows need a good clean. I didn't see any dead flies as referred to in last month's review though.

I would also have preferred more comfortable seating in the room, but there is plenty (and big log fires) in the public areas on the ground floor. I wonder if the rooms on the second floor are used more for special offers, but some Secret Escapes reviewers appear to have had better rooms.

There are also minor things that need doing in public areas. For example, the padded top on the surround round the log fire in the library looks like it should have been thrown on the fire a long time ago.

The table d'hote menu was included in the offer on our first night, but we chose to have it again on the second night and my wife said they were two of the best meals she had ever had. They were not enormous, but were expertly prepared, so quality rather than quantity.

The breakfasts were also good; it was nice to have a freshly cooked hot breakfast rather than a help yourself buffet with most parts warm rather than hot. The cold part, such as fruit, that were help yourself were only available in fairly small bowls, but they must have been replenished regularly, and when my wife found there was no yogurt more was made available immediately and brought to our table.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend the hotel,especially the food. I understand there have been various changes of ownership in the recent past and if the current management carry out some minor TLC it would be perfect.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roger42a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Wow! What a fantastic hotel. My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights after our wedding and couldn't have been more impressed. The house is beautiful, with lots of old old charm combined with mod-cons (tv in bathroom!). We stayed in a master suite, which was huge and tastefully decorated, with incredibly comfy bed and sofas. Food was fantastic. Above all the most impressive thing was the staff. Incredibly polite without being snooty, it was lovely to see the young waiting staff with such good manners. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend, and we will definitely be back for a future visit. Thank you all at hintlesham hall!

Room Tip: Braganza suite was fantastic, whole wing of the house, very comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 197CarrieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night break at Hintlesham Hall booked through Secret Escapes and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is a magnificent building with large rooms that are well appointed and individual. Ours was Regatta which had a sofa and table and chairs as well as a huge bed. The bathroom had a shower and separate bath. We were very comfortable and able to relax when we returned from our day out. We had dinner in the dining room on our first night and room service the second night. The food was very tasty and well presented in both settings. The dining room was formal and people dressed up which was nice, but there are also bar meals available if you want something less formal.

All of the staff members that we encountered were very friendly and helpful and we felt relaxed and 'at home'. There is a lot for tourists to see around this area - we went to Sutton Hoo and Lavenham, but we could easily have stayed a week and found somethng different to see each day. We would definitely recommend Hintlesham Hall as a base for exploring.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EKFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were there this past weekend and it defied expectation. the building is fantastic, rambling and interesting and beautifully maintained, a great old country house place. masses of places to sit with a book or coffee or whatever. the one double height room that some of stayed in was incredible, like no other hotel room we've seen. think it was the queen anne room? Just amazing, perfect for a special treat or occasion, would recommend it to anyone. Best of all though? The staff - whoever recruits or trains them is incredible. the service could not have been better or more charming. everyone we came across in the restaurant, bar etc was immaculate and utterly helpful and efficient. this place deserves to do so well - worth travelling a long way to experience.

Room Tip: I think they are all different - maybe ask at reception - for a special occasion the double height o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we stayed here in a superior double, the house dates back to the 15th century, it is so full of history and consequently must be very difficult to maintain, I think they have done a brilliant job - everywhere is very clean and comfortable while keeping the feel of a truly old house, the dining room is amazing, the staff are well trained and attentive and the food was excellent. Our room was large, clean, well furnished and comfortable, the only down side was no view, we looked onto another block of rooms which was a bit disappointing, but I have to repeat that was the only down side to our stay. Would go again and certainly would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
24.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
995 reviews
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing